We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of The West House

The West House
Ranked #55 of 382 Restaurants in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$30
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Bar, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: At The West House, we strive to create an environment that everyone can enjoy. We're dedicated to being the finest establishment around, we aren't a restaurant, we simply serve excellent food, washed down by stunning cocktails and beautiful wines.
Rosehearty, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We arrived at 7.30 for table booked for 5, by 8.45 main course had not arrived we had had a starter to share but were getting pretty hungry . 2 people had to put main course back as bottoms of pizzas burnt black. Give them their due they did not charge for these and gave replacements pretty quickly. Large party of lads came in for a drink music loud, lads party loud. Is it a pub or is it a restaurant ?
Service was very poor would not recommend this as a place to eat although the actual food was good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lizzyriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    47
    21
    17
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Was at the West House with some friends for tea. Great service and great food.
We had a some starters to share which were fab. Then went on to have pizzas and pasta. The pasta was good but still couldn't beat the Duck pizza. Will certainly be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nutella11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice place for a meal or a cocktail”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Went here with a colleague for a post work dinner and drink and found it very pleasant. Food was nice and fresh and it has a nice menu. Cocktails are rather strong! Nice staff and I'll come back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorrs_McD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I was pleasently surprised at the menu at West house as I was expecting pub grub. The menu was definately Bistro with the choices of fillinf for paninis etc. You can have smaller portions of pizza with potato wedges, sandwiches nachos and lots more. I was very impressed

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sabees_57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quick bite”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Me and my friend always choose to come to here for a quick bite when in Dundee. It's out place to go. So this time is was again: good service, tasty affordable food and good atmosphere.
Will be back soon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julija D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The West House also viewed

 
Dundee, Scotland
Dundee, Scotland
 
Dundee, Scotland
 

Been to The West House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing