We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FOOD”

Collinsons Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 380 Restaurants in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$45
Cuisines: Contemporary, British
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“FOOD”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Food was very good but not a great varied choice. Portions were a bit small for prices. Good atmosphere and lovely decor, friendly staff, plenty parking close by.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    68
    26
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant!”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Warm and welcoming staff with excellent service and delicious food that was very well presented.
The restaurant was spacious and had a lovely, romantic ambience about it.
Highly recommend this restaurant for a couples meal out or a special occasion. Superb!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LeahDawns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We have dined here on a number of occasions and really enjoyed it. This time it was for a friend's birthday and it didn't fail to impress. The lunchtime menu is fantastic value and even with a few bottles of wine, it worked out very reasonably priced. The food was excellent - compliments to the chef - and the waitress service was second to none! Those who had never been before were very pleased and said they would definitely return. Can't wait to go back again. Well done Collinsons!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Puddle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Read the reviews of this restaurant and decided to treat myself and husband to some fine dining last weekend. We were really impressed with the service, menu and quality of food - everything was absolutely delicious! Wine list was extensive and overall very reasonable - just wish they did champagne by the glass! (Prosecco is available though). Lovely atmosphere, contemporary decor and we'll definitely be back! Will be keen to try the lunch time option too - sounds tempting!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janel22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very good but service a bit slow”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We enjoyed a fine dinner here last Saturday evening. The short menu proved to be a good sign. The starters were all excellent. We tried three of the four on offer in our group: asparagus; smoked haddock; and the salt beetroots. My beetroots were divine. The mains were also good. I had the cod loin, others enjoyed the lamb and the guinea fowl. All beautifully cooked and delicious. Good wine list, reasonably priced. Very pleasant restaurant, comfortable and relaxing.
Although the place was less than half full, the service was slow. We arrived just after eight and didn't finish our mains until nearly ten, by which time we didn't fancy any of the desserts or a coffee. Had the service been tighter then I'm sure that we would.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilBloomfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Collinsons Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Collinsons Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing