We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant”
Review of Wellgate Library

Wellgate Library
Ranked #31 of 81 things to do in Dundee
Attraction details
Elgin Scotland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“brilliant”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I know this place very well. The staff are probably amongst the friendliest librarians anywhere and the library is well organised, efficient and stocks a vast selection of local and international books, plus films and has top quality reference material.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 321malcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    13
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Didim, Turkey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Brilliant library”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I'm ashamed to say I've not used the library for quite a long time but was forced into using it due to a few "internet free" weeks at home. I was able to access the internet at the library for up to two hours, could sit and read the daily papers, study in a designated area if I wanted to, find out about local classes, groups and volunteering - all for free! It's easy to spend an entire day in here as there is a lovely little cafe too. All the staff are helpful, friendly and knowledgeable and the place is spotlessly clean - including the toilets!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank DundeeDaytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Books,music and computers a-plenty”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The architecture is a typical example of brutalism - concrete and glass. There is a very good selection of reading material and comfy seating to relax while you browse. The Reference Library has plenty of desk surfaces for study. There is an audio library and a bank of computers. The staff are very friendly and knowledgeable.
The best area is the separate Children's Library with story telling sessions. On a wet,cold day this is where to hang out with little ones . It's warm and friendly. A small café is close by but the shopping mall food hall is one floor down. There are ample toilets.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brackens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Local History Library”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

A fantastic resource if you're interested in any aspect of local history. I love this library - the books are great and the staff even better!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank KarenMcAulay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
523 reviews
121 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Highly prized asset to City of Dundee”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Spacious area to select books or use computers, staff most helpful, extensive range of titles to choose from.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank menubuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wellgate Library also viewed

 

Been to Wellgate Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing