We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drinks only in the bar but it was ery nice. Lovely staff and decor.”
Review of Malmaison Dundee

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Malmaison Dundee
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Tayport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
292 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Drinks only in the bar but it was ery nice. Lovely staff and decor.”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We went for a celebration drink on my retiral day as everywhere else was so busy. Malmaison bar was an oasis of calm. Nice view, comfortable table, friendly and helpful staff. Will go back but only for occasions as the drinks are very expensive. It is pleasant to have a carafe of wine for £13.50 and just enjoyed the ambiance and people watch! The outside tables are close to the road but the decor is very plush and the music is soothing. Good for cocktails.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heather_suds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael N, Manager at Malmaison Dundee, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Heather_suds,

Thank you very much for your feedback about our little oasis of peace!! I'm glad that you enjoyed yourself and we look forward to having you back for many, many more special occasions in the future. With regards to our pricing, when you come back I would encourage you to speak to the bar staff and we offer a wide range of products at a wide range of prices to match all occasions.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    611
    383
    140
    63
    40
See reviews for
157
617
19
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed here for one night last week. The hotel is very central and easy to find, The hotel is of the standard you would expect from this chain .Everything was great well equipped bedroom with all the facilities that you need in a modern hotel. The only issue we had which did spoil our sleep was the room we were allocated .We were in room 318 which is a room of two just off the main third floor .The room was fine but the room next to us was in and out of their room through the night which woke us up a couple of times at 2 and 4am with the banging of the door. When we complained in the morning we were told that its a long term booking for night shift workers hence the movement. Its a shame as the hotel was great and the breakfast was superb just a bit unlucky with room choice. i would still recommend this hotel

Room Tip: avoid room 318
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael N, Manager at Malmaison Dundee, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Hello scotEdinburgh,

It is always great to hear that our guests have not been left wanting by our facilities. I am concerned, however, to hear that you had so much trouble sleeping. I would love the chance to speak to you to understand what happened and to find out how this was dealt with in the morning when you (quite rightly!!) brought this to our attention.

I would be so grateful if you could find the time to contact the hotel so that we can speak.

I look forward to speaking soon,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunblane, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Just wanted to highlight a recent cost issue we experienced with Malmaison, Dundee -
We had booked 4 rooms and, on arrival, enquired about the cost of breakfast and were advised £8 ( continental) / £10 (cooked).
As we were due to leave sharp the next morning we booked 7 x continental breakfasts @ £8 each.
On receipt of our invoice we noticed we were charged £13.95 per person for breakfast and highlighted this to the Hotel.
We received a response indicating we had been quoted costs incorrectly and the charges would still stand. We did point out the incorrect quote was not our error but following a ridiculous email chain we have not received the refund of our overcharge and, considering the business we did give the Malmaison with our original room booking, the 'battle of wills' in pursuing this has been very disappointing.
SO.....the message is double check any verbal costs quoted.
This issue spoilt what was otherwise a very nice stay in Dundee and the poor rating is simply to highlight our overcharge in light of an unsatisfactory resolution to our complaint.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed here with three other couples to celebrate my husbands 50th birthday. It was our first visit to Dundee and we were all delighted with surprised at how much we could do. The hotel was excellent and the staff especially that we spoke to where all meant to be in hospitality. The reception team were very welcoming, informative and helpful. The building has been beautifully restored well done to malmaison for working there magic. The rooms are amazing, beds comfortable, great quirky malmaison goodies in the room.. Breakfast very relaxed and great choice of food. Ate in the restaurant on one night and it was a relaxed service which we enjoyed as we were there for the evening and in no rush. Food was cooked to perfection and very well presented. I wouldn't hesitate in returning as would the other couples we all highly recommend malmasion Dundee.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandMch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael N, Manager at Malmaison Dundee, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Hi ScotlandMch,

Thank you so much for review and your kind words and I am delighted that you chose to celebrate this special occasion with us. We are working very hard to make sure this hotel is a real destination in the city and beyond and it is always great to hear that this hard work is being converted into great stays for you and your friends.

We look forward to seeing you again for some more special occasions,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The Malmaison Dundee was one of the best hotels I have stayed in. I stayed there for 4 nights and was upgraded to a suite on the 3rd floor. The room was tastefully decorated with romantic furnishings and modern amentities. The service was fabulous and the front desk staff extremely helpful. The hotel is located basically across the street from the Dundee ScotRail station so it was very easy to hop on a train to Edinburgh, Aberdeen and even Inverness. The continental breakfast was good. Homemade granola was excellent!!! My onlly complaints about this hotel is the darkness. Because it is decorated in a very romantic feel, there were times were it felt very dark. Although the bathroom was beautiful with a clawfoot tub and double shower, the lighting was terrible and there was not an electrical outlet for anything other than a shaver. My inlaws have also stayed at the hotel and there room was very small but clean. All in all, I would definitely stay at the Malmaison Dundee again. Wonderful choice!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael N, Manager at Malmaison Dundee, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Hello Amber R,

Thank you so much for your feedback and kind words. I am really pleased to hear that you were so well looked after. Our brand is built on style, quality and exceptional service and I am delighted your experience has fully reflected that.

We look forward to having you back very soon!

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

A second visit, with high ( but I thought reasonable) expectations. Sadly the booking was botched, the room was tiny, the meal was late and the bill was wrong ( and not in my favour). Still, I slept well and the air con was a godsend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JCScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael N, Manager at Malmaison Dundee, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Hello JCScotland,

I am wholeheartedly sorry to hear that you have not enjoyed yourself at our hotel. I would love the opportunity to speak to you and gain as much feedback as possible regarding your stay.

If you are able to call the hotel and arrange a time for us to speak, it would be very much appreciated.

Many thanks


Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

The wonderfully refurbished Malmaison was superb. We met friends for drinks. The atmosphere, decoration and friendliness and helpfulness of staff made for a great night. Great selection of wines and spirits in the Mai Bar.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael N, Manager at Malmaison Dundee, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Hello Jonathon B,

Thank you very much for your kind words. I am delighted that you have had such a good time with us. We pride ourselves on our people, so we always like to be able to feedback kind words from our guests to our staff.

We hope to see you propping up the Malbar sometime soon!


Thanks,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dundee hotels
0.3 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
3.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Dundee City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
0.3 mi away
Best Western Queens Hotel
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Dundee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Dundee

Property: Malmaison Dundee
Address: 44 Whitehall Crescent, Dundee DD1 4AY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Dundee 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Malmaison Dundee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Dundee Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing