We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So good we stayed another night!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Malmaison Dundee

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Malmaison Dundee
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So good we stayed another night!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Booked for one night, easily found the hotel. Handy car park close to main door which was not too expensive and was free after 6pm. Check in was fast and very friendly. Room was lovely, I like it being dark. My only comments about the room was that there was no vanity mirror in the room and the rooms can get quite hot but there is a control in the room. Other than that it was excellent. Large comfortable bed, fluffy quilt and high quality linen. Cocktails in the Mal Bar were great and had been included in our price the first night and the second night they included 'Bubble Time' in our price (champagne and nibbles). Bar service was always quick and friendly. Prices were not too bad with cocktails being around £8.Great nights sleep and upgraded breakfast for £2 and had a cooked breakfast which was lovely. Left the hotel went to the car park and then decided that we had enjoyed the stay so much we would go back and stay another night. Lady on reception was lovely when we asked about another night, she upgraded our room and included the champagne cocktails for the same price as we had paid the previous night. Lovely gesture!
Gorgeous hotel, gives you the feeling of being in a different era when you use the amazing staircase. Rooms are spotless and sumptuous. Service is seamless and very friendly. You really do get a feeling of being looked after. One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in and we certainly will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael N, Manager at Malmaison Dundee, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Hi Alex J,

Thank you for all of your kind words. We are all about style and service at Malmaison and it is great to hear that it has come across in your experience.

I'm sure we will see you again for another night.....or 2!!!

Many thanks,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    576
    353
    134
    57
    40
See reviews for
142
584
14
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Had one night with an itison voucher which included an overnight stay, dinner and a cocktail each. Live in Broughty Ferry and thought why not?!!! Staff were exceptionally helpful, kind and caring.(I'd hurt my leg after a fall) . Enjoyed the food and Mal Plonk!! So drinkable and reasonably priced £17.50.
The room was more than adequate, big comfortable king sized bed in a reasonable sized room with a shower room that had a huge shower.
We had a view of the river as it was a corner room. A bit concerned when we opened the window as there were no safety features eg a rail?
Would definitely go back for a meal.
Highly recommend the whole experience.

Room Tip: Wouldn't pay extra for a room with a view of river at the moment as there is a lot of building w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matjDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael N, Manager at Malmaison Dundee, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Hi Matjdundee,

Thank you for your review. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience so much. We really pride ourselves on our people and I am so glad that it translates into a great experience for you!

Look forward to welcoming you back,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Upon our arrival, we were upgraded to a suite...it was lovely! Very chic and HUGE! The showers were brilliant and the room was well stocked with coffees, snacks and magazines. We enjoyed our cocktails in the malbar, although at first the service took ages, a friendly waitress seemed to be on hand with nibbles and drinks quickly afterwards! The meal in the brasserie was quite expensive but in saying that, faultless! With a good atmosphere.
We'd love to stay at this hotel again and thoroughly enjoyed our visit.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael N, Manager at Malmaison Dundee, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Hello Alex T

Thank you so much for your feedback. I'm glad you had a great time with us and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Many thanks,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed here twice: once with my husband (romantic requirements) and once with work (business requirements).
Rooms are lovely but very dark (good for couples, not so good for business travellers). Bathrooms have no decent mirror for either makeup (ladies) or shaving (for men). And a number of overseas business guests which we have booked in have all made the same comment. I am sure if their management were to stay in the room, they would easily see this.
Dining with my husband and the meal was good, and the sommelier was very good. Pre-dinner drinks at the bar upstair, however, took forever.
Breakfast starts with a continental buffet - a reasonable mix but in a small area which gets a bit crowded with more than 4 people. The cooked breakfast options are excellent. However their coffee is awful! Even although it came in a caffetiere, it poured like weak tea! They exchanged it for an Americano out of their machine which was fine. However on my second stay with 9 other business guests, everyone sent their coffee back for exactly the same reason. On check out when asked if I'd enjoyed my stay, I asked the Receptionist to note that their breakfast coffee had been awful on both stays and that they should review it (to which she informed me "well no-one has ever complained before"). Yes they had - me!
Staircase is very impressive.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda_fifeFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael N, Manager at Malmaison Dundee, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Hi Amanda_fifeFife,

Thank you very much for your feedback and I am delighted to hers that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay. I am very concerned, however, with the touches that could make us great! I would love the chance to speak to you to get as much feedback as possible to help us address these issues. As Tripadvisor is anonymous I am unable to get your details from our systems so would be grateful if you could give the hotel a buzz so we can have a chat.

Look forward to speaking to you,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tayport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
283 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We went for a celebration drink on my retiral day as everywhere else was so busy. Malmaison bar was an oasis of calm. Nice view, comfortable table, friendly and helpful staff. Will go back but only for occasions as the drinks are very expensive. It is pleasant to have a carafe of wine for £13.50 and just enjoyed the ambiance and people watch! The outside tables are close to the road but the decor is very plush and the music is soothing. Good for cocktails.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heather_suds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael N, Manager at Malmaison Dundee, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Heather_suds,

Thank you very much for your feedback about our little oasis of peace!! I'm glad that you enjoyed yourself and we look forward to having you back for many, many more special occasions in the future. With regards to our pricing, when you come back I would encourage you to speak to the bar staff and we offer a wide range of products at a wide range of prices to match all occasions.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed here for one night last week. The hotel is very central and easy to find, The hotel is of the standard you would expect from this chain .Everything was great well equipped bedroom with all the facilities that you need in a modern hotel. The only issue we had which did spoil our sleep was the room we were allocated .We were in room 318 which is a room of two just off the main third floor .The room was fine but the room next to us was in and out of their room through the night which woke us up a couple of times at 2 and 4am with the banging of the door. When we complained in the morning we were told that its a long term booking for night shift workers hence the movement. Its a shame as the hotel was great and the breakfast was superb just a bit unlucky with room choice. i would still recommend this hotel

Room Tip: avoid room 318
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael N, Manager at Malmaison Dundee, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Hello scotEdinburgh,

It is always great to hear that our guests have not been left wanting by our facilities. I am concerned, however, to hear that you had so much trouble sleeping. I would love the chance to speak to you to understand what happened and to find out how this was dealt with in the morning when you (quite rightly!!) brought this to our attention.

I would be so grateful if you could find the time to contact the hotel so that we can speak.

I look forward to speaking soon,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunblane, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Just wanted to highlight a recent cost issue we experienced with Malmaison, Dundee -
We had booked 4 rooms and, on arrival, enquired about the cost of breakfast and were advised £8 ( continental) / £10 (cooked).
As we were due to leave sharp the next morning we booked 7 x continental breakfasts @ £8 each.
On receipt of our invoice we noticed we were charged £13.95 per person for breakfast and highlighted this to the Hotel.
We received a response indicating we had been quoted costs incorrectly and the charges would still stand. We did point out the incorrect quote was not our error but following a ridiculous email chain we have not received the refund of our overcharge and, considering the business we did give the Malmaison with our original room booking, the 'battle of wills' in pursuing this has been very disappointing.
SO.....the message is double check any verbal costs quoted.
This issue spoilt what was otherwise a very nice stay in Dundee and the poor rating is simply to highlight our overcharge in light of an unsatisfactory resolution to our complaint.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dundee hotels
0.3 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
3.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Invercarse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Dundee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Dundee

Property: Malmaison Dundee
Address: 44 Whitehall Crescent, Dundee DD1 4AY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Dundee 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Malmaison Dundee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Dundee Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing