We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!”
Review of Malmaison Dundee

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Malmaison Dundee
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Really nice hotel, luxurious rooms as you'd expect and great restaurant. They were raving about the Josper grill and the meat we had cooked in it really was gorgeous. Definitely worth a visit, especially if you get a decent deal!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bestie70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa C, Front Office Manager at Malmaison Dundee, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Dear Bestie70,

I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and especially enjoyed our Josper Grill Menu. I certainly do hope you have the opportunity to stay and dine with us again at some point in the near future, if you are looking for some fantastic deals please visit us at www.malmaison.com.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Many Thanks
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,340)
There are newer reviews for Malmaison Dundee
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,062 - 1,068 of 1,340 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

Booked here for our anniversary and overall quite liked the room despite a couple of little niggles.

We were on the 6th floor and as per previous reviews the ceilings there are very low, (I banged my hand putting on my top) but it gave the room a cosy feel. The shower was fab but the bathroom lighting was awful - dangerous when shaving!
Bed was big and comfy.

My deduction in score was for customer service.

Despite being advised at check in we could drink in the Mal bar or Malchemy (the cocktail bar), we were denied access to the latter due to not booking dinner in the hotel. Disappointing attitude when you've paid for one of the nice Mal Club rooms yet want to spend a little time out of the hotel experiencing the city too. Apparently this is not their usual practice (as we mentioned our experience on checking out) but I definitely read someone else on here receiving the same lack of customer service.

My advice would be for Malmaison staff to advise guests of the rule on check in or they need to train all their staff to say the same thing.

So can't comment on the cocktails at the Malmaison as we had to go to the DCA instead (which was actually pretty fab sitting outside on such a lovely evening!)

Would recommend hotel to friends as it's in a very convenient location and is all newly decorated but didn't get five stars from me.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank SchumieFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my boyfriend after a night out. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful and booked us a taxi to a bar. The door man was also really polite. All round good customer service. The rooms were modern and clean.

If you're thinking of eating here, make sure you book a table in advance as it's really busy up until the late evening. Food is expensive as you'd expect but it was really tasty. Will be back soon!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank BeeS_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa C, Front Office Manager at Malmaison Dundee, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Dear BeeS_x

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, Im pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and dining experience with us. If you are looking to stay with us again, please visit us at www.malmaison.com where we have some fantastic overnight offers, inlcuding food and beverage for you to take advantage of.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Many Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as part of an itison deal on the 30 aug 2014! First impressions were the hotel was stunning inside and outside! Staff were helpful and pleasant ! We stayed on the 4th floor room was also gorgeus very trendy and up market ! Bed was huge and very comfy! We had booked dinner for eight oclock , we chose to use the two courses each menu i had soup and steak frites! Food was out of this world! Also got two cocktails included could pick from any on the menu which was great normally there is a few not included! Atmosphere in the brasserie was great staff very attentive! The celtic Team were also staying in the hotel managed to catch a glimpse of them and shared the lift with the manager ! Amazing night been had ! Xx

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank bankiebabe22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Waited at the Mal Bar for table service after being told to sit down when we went to the bar. Very rude, harassed staff. Waited 50 minutes for a drink and it never came. Great hotel, great location, a brilliant addition to Dundee but not nearly there on the service!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Cez14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel rooms stylish and well equipped as was our bathroom

We found the service too slow in the bar on Saturday evening, we waited approx 1/2 for our drinks to come, ( we were a party of 6) and again in the restraunt. Plenty of staff just working at a very slow pace. All staff polite and helpful

Breakfast this morning was much better. Staff more switched on and thorough. Good choice on the menu for hot breakfast and a tastefully selected continental

Free wifi throughout the hotel

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We booked this hotel for our wedding evening reception whilst it was being renovated, we got married abroad so this was the celebration for our family and friends at home, we didn't even see this hotel before we booked as we knew the reputation of the malmaison hotels and it certainly didn't disappoint. The service we received from Hannah and Gary was exceptional, they go above and beyond their job roles and the customers clearly come first in this hotel.

The function room was decorated in our colour scheme, this room is beautiful and we were so pleased with everything in this room, it has its own bar and Gary the Deputy General Manager was on duty all that night and in touch with us to make sure everything was going accordingly.

We were given the Superior Suite, room 602 in the turrett of the hotel which had views of the discovery. This room is stunning! It's more of an apartment, we requested to stay in this room another night however it was booked. It was a lovely surprise to walk in the room and find champagne, chocolates and a card.

The New York buffet and breakfast the next morning was brilliant.

We would recommend anyone thinking of having a wedding here to seriously consider this hotel as in our opinion it is the best hotel in Dundee.

Thanks to Hannah, Gary and all the other staff who made this a celebration to remember.

Much love

Andy & Kara

Room Tip: 6th floor, views over Dundee.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Glitz1981Sparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dundee hotels
0.3 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Dundee City Center
3.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
0.3 mi away
Best Western Queens Hotel
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Dundee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Dundee

Address: 44 Whitehall Crescent, Dundee DD1 4AY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Dundee
Price Range: £53 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Dundee 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Malmaison Dundee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Dundee Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing