We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but does the job”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Dundee East Hotel
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We stayed here for one night early Autumn 2011 whilst on our trip around Scotland. We chose to stay here due to the location and it was getting late so needed somewhere to stay. Reasonable prices, booked online just before we arrived, as you save a few pounds. Rooms are basic but clean and just what you need for a quick stop over en-route to your next destination. When we went they only had disabled access rooms left, but this wasn't a problem, maybe gives you more room! It was not noisy and had a good sleep. Would recommend if you are travelling though and need somewhere to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J2012UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (334)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Dundee East Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2012

Stayed at this premier in on Saturday 8th September. Arrived at 14:35 and was told at reception rooms were not ready. Th receptionist did her best, spoke with cleaning staff, advised room would be ready in 10 mins. Waited for this time and went up to room which was still being cleaned. I was told by cleaning staff the delay in rooms was down to an audit because they are "nos1 in the ratings" Surely an audit should not delay customers. I was then told by the cleaner she did not understand why we waited beause 2 rooms had been available for some time. The room was the usual Premier inn quality, however very stuffy. The room was to the back of the hotel overlooking the pub next door beer garden. Around 18:00 what appeared to be some locals arrived, kids going round the bloke on their bikes,shouting and screaming, then having races egged on noisely by the drinking adults. This went on until 21:00, the noise was so bad we had to shut the window and still hear it. No attempt appeared to be made to quieten this crowd. In the morning the outside tables were still littered with cider bottles and empty glasses, lovely sight!

Apart from check in we never seen anyone on reception, even when leaving there was no one there to give feedback to.

Apart from breakfast this stay was not particularly enjoyable, so fail to see how this inn is nos 1? Normally stay at the Monifeith inn where I have been in rooms over the car park and back of hotel and had a lovely quiet stay with friendly, helpful staff.

Will not return to Dundee east

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lanzarote2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Not one of the best Premier inns, felt ill at ease with the location, adults moaning at each other in their rooms which could be heard, kids on bikes riding around the building and looking in the windows. The receptionist was great though.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank easingtonhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Stopped over for 4 nights here. Excellent location for touring the Dundee area and excellent facilities adjacent to property. Very friendly/helpful staff on site also made for a very relaxing break. Would certainly recommend this as a location to visit Dundee and surrounding areas.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ards25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We stayed here for 1 night having traveleld from Stirling to visit friends. The room was clean and spacious but we were kept awake at night by people in other rooms. We tried calling reception and it took a good 20 minutes to reach someone. When we did they apologised and said they would deal with it which they did but later on the noise started up again. We paid £40 but I would of easily paid more ensuring thata I got a agood nights sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alex p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitbread-77, Laura Gibbins-Social Media at Premier Inn Dundee East Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel.

At Premier Inn we always strive to provide customers with a comfortable stay, and I apologise that on this occasion your stay was less than relaxing. It is a shame that your stay was tainted by actions of other guests; please be assured that the hotel staff will do all they can to prevent disturbances like this in the future.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We stopped here 1 night for £29!! great value for a family of 3, located by a dominos takeaway, chemist and co op.
The fan / heated towel rail did not work in our room when any of us had a shower the bathroom steamed up.This was reported twice the second time when we were leaving in the morning.
The receptionist did not seem that interested.
It must have been dustbin collection day on the morning we were leaving. I fully understand this has to happen but the banging rattles and bottles and cans vehicles reversing beep beep chatting about the football outside my window at 7:45 in the morning
This was a great start to our day........

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed on Saturday night - 2 adults for only £29!! Excellent value. We were at a wedding and running late so the receptionist was really efficient.

Bed were comfy and in a great location - next to a dominos, alladins takeaway, chemist, coop etc!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma1233x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dundee hotels
7.9 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
4.5 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
6.4 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee (Monifieth) Hotel
5.2 mi away
Travelodge Dundee Strathmore Avenue
0.7 mi away
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Dundee East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Dundee East Hotel

Address: 115-117 Lawers Drive | Panmurefield Village, Dundee DD5 3UP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
#7 Business Hotel in Dundee
#10 Family Hotel in Dundee
Price Range: £43 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Dundee East Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the outskirts of Dundee at the border with Angus, conveniently located for visiting the city centre as well as the local towns of Broughty Ferry, Carnoustie, Monifieth, Arbroath & Forfar. Local attractions include sandy beaches, championship golf courses, award winning visitor attractions and country parks. The hotel is in a new village, next door to the Bell Tree restaurant and across the road from a small row of shops which includes a pharmacy, hairdressers & bakers. Double, twin and family rooms are available, with our family rooms suitable for a maximum of two adults and two children, a limited number of cots are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Premier Inn Dundee East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Dundee East Hotel Dundee
Premier Inn Dundee East Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing