We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does what it says on the tin.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2014

As usual, PI delivers a very good standard of accommodation at a very fair price. Lovely lady at reception (Susan) very welcoming and helped us to a better room than booked. The room was clean and tidy and all you would expect. The establishment doesn't look the most up to date on first appearances but is perfectly fine inside.
As mentioned by previous reviewers though, the adjoining bar/restaurant doesn't do any favours to the PI. I understand that the place is not a PI property but PI must be disappointed to be associated with this dismal joint. We " dined " on our first night but went elsewhere the next. What was described as a Deluxe Combo Platter" was a selection of everything that is bad about Scottish "cuisine". If it can be deep fried, they'll do it.
Although this is a review of the PI, the management must be all too aware that their good name is damaged by this abomination of a restaurant next door.
As a fan of PIs , I will continue to use them , though maybe this one will be given a miss for another in the area due to the catering situation.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stormborn53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie O, Manager at Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Brian M,

Thank you for taking the time to review Dundee North.

I’ll be sure to pass on your kind word on to Susan. You are correct in saying we are not the most up to date PI but I’m glad you found everything in order.

The Weavers Mill as stated is not one of our own brands but I again I will pass on your feedback so they can improve their offering.

Kind regards,
Jamie Oliphant
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (590)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 590 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stay in this hotel on a regular basis and have always found the rooms to be clean, beds are very comfortable and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Plenty to entertain the family, with the ice rink , cinema and park all within walking distance, and after all that, there are reasonable price restaurant close by. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who visits Dundee.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie O, Manager at Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Rachel T,

Thank you for taking the time to review Dundee North.

Its great to read you that you enjoy your visits with us and we always look forward to your return visits!

Thank again,
Jamie Oliphant
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed in room 204 facing the car park for three nights over a weekend and can honestly say we didn't hear any noise after 11 outside Weavers mill restaurant was reasonable especially two meals price of one and it was busy every night we stayed Will be coming back later in year to stay as wee one had a ball at the country park and the zoo just a short walk from hotel

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevinnkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie O, Manager at Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Kevin & Kate,

Thank you for taking the time to review Dundee North.

Its fantastic to hear you all had a great time in Dundee and we will look forward to your return.

Kind regards,
Jamie Oliphant
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

On the approach of the hotel we thought the hotel was run down, however as we checked in and went to our room we found the rooms were the usual Premiere Inn standard. Very good for the price, clean room and staff friendly / helpfull. However the restaurant next to the hotel was dreadful. After we checked in we went into the restaurant for a quick pint while waiting for a taxi, the tables we dirty and as my husband was waiting to be served, a member of staff, with a queue building up behind my husband decided to ask the customer he was serving if they had a loyalty card. Answer being "No" he then wasted another 5 mins in filling the form for the customer, this is a classic example of corporate stupidity over customer service.

We then returned after our trip into the city about 9pm, ordered 2 sambucca, and despite paying for a measure, we recieved a thimble measure each ( the measures you get when the supermarkets offer you a sample in a small plastic shot thing) further proof that this place should be avoided. The place resembled a grotty gotto, I normally book breakfast when I book on line with priemere inn but on this occasion I did'nt, I was so so please we did not have to eat here.

The hotel was a little bit out of town than I expected costing about £9 each way by taxi. We did try to get the bus into town but the bus driver said it would take about 50 mins into town and no change was given, we only had £10, the fare was about £5 so we thought a taxi would be better.

I understand the hotel has no control over the resurant but they are associated with it. They need to have a serious think! Dirty place, short measures and poor customer service????

The ratings are for the hotel only, if rating the restaurant I would give it below terrible.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrsvark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie O, Manager at Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear Mrs Vark,

Thank you for taking the time to review Dundee North.

Its great to read your first impressions of the hotel were not as first thought.

I can only apologize on behalf of our affiliated restaurant; I have passed on your feedback to the management team of the Weavers Mill to look into.

Thank you again,
Jamie Oliphant
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Enjoyed the one night stay, usual clean rooms with friendy service from reception, also when staying at premier inn, you get a discount at cinema next door plus 20% off at Indian restaurant opposite. only downside was no wi-fi even though it said connected I could not connect to any website

Room Tip: dont stay facing front of hotel...24 hour Mcdonalds opposite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carnage300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie O, Manager at Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Carnage 300,

Thank you for taking the time to review Dundee North.

Its great to read you found your room and service in order during your recent stay with us, but disappointing to read about the WIFI issue.

Can you please contact me directly so that I can look into your WIFI issue on the details below?

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Jamie Oliphant

Operationsmanager.dundeenorth@whitbread.com
01382 489229

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was of the usual premier inn standard. Basic hotel accommodation, but spotless and clean. Had been advised it would be noisy due to nearby road, but other than general background noise at a low level it did not bother us and we had the window open all night. Would stay again. The surroundings are not exactly picturesque- but that is not their fault! Nearby park for a walk. The restaurant next door is basic and cheap and could do with a good clean. But breakfast was good.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie O, Manager at Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Sarah L,

Thank you for taking the time to review Dundee North.

Its great to read you found the hotel upto standard and I’ll be sure to pass on your words to the team.

Thank you gain and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Jamie Oliphant
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Typical Premier Inn - basic, clean and with friendly staff.

Had a second floor front room this time which was not good news. There was a party outside one evening at the restaurant next door - we either kept the window shut to keep out the noise but cooked in or vice versa. A poor first night's sleep. The second night was fine and we all slept well.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheclanEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie O, Manager at Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

TheClanEngland,

Thank you for taking the time to review Dundee North.

Its disappointing to read you had a poor nights sleep with us, can you please contact me directly on the below details:

Operationsmanager.dundeenorth@whitbread.com
01382 489229

Kind regards,
Jamie Oliphant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dundee hotels
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Dundee Strathmore Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
6.4 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee East Hotel
2.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Dundee City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel

Address: 1 Dayton Drive | Camperdown Leisure Park, Kingsway, Dundee DD2 3SQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
#11 Family Hotel in Dundee
Price Range: £43 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park the stress and dive into all the fun of a twenty-first century leisure park, with a stay at Premier Inn Hotel Dundee North. With a cinema and ice rink just round the corner, not to mention the beautiful Camperdown Park, this is the perfect place to relax and unwind. Explore the five glens of Angus, or play a short nine holes at St Andrews. See over fifty classic planes at Leuchars Airshow, or see countless blooms at the Dundee Flower & Food Festival. Then it's back to the hotel to enjoy our spacious rooms with extra-cosy beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel Dundee
Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing