We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“City break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Dundee Central Hotel
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“City break”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Basic no frills comfortable hotel. The bed was very great. Great location. Expensive wifi. We did have a problem finding the hotel as there were no signs for the car park. Situated in a very good position for all amenities.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Bchimaira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    56
    37
    19
    23
See reviews for
52
63
19
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This hotel is clean, the rooms large and offers a confortable bed. However, if you can't skeep because of the noise outside, this is irrelevant. Situated in the city centre there are around 3 clubs within 3 mins walking distance from this hotel, there is also a casio just around the corner. I stayed at this hotel on a Thursday and Friday night, and both nights I heard people shouting and screaming, wh had just been chucked out of nearby clubs. The manhole cover in the road outside (mentioned by other reviers) has still not been fixed. Eventhough I took earplugs, some of the noise outside was still audible. On the Friday night a young drunk made made several attempts to get into my room. As a femaile staying alone in the hotel, this was unnerving. As there is no phone in your room to call reception I had to tell this man that it wasn't his room and hope he would leave me be, which luckily he did. If you stay at this hotel, make sure you get a room facing the car park out the back. There was also alot of litter outside in the entrance to the hotel which wasn't great for first impressions.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Jessica E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Dundee Central Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
We are truly sorry to learn you were disturbed by other guests and the noise outside of the hotel during your stay Jessica E. Due to the central location of the hotel regrettably some external noise may be heard however in an attempt to reduce noise we do provide double glazing. We also ask our customers to be courteous to other guests at all times and to respect reasonable noise levels around the hotel so we are sorry to learn you did not get a good nights sleep on this occasion. Please be assured that your security and safety is of utmost importance to us so we would expect our staff to patrol the hotel so that they can be aware of any guests who are being noisy and disturbing other customers. We would like to take this opportunity to investigate the concerns that you have raised, please use the contact us button on our website to provide us with more information which will allow us to offer a resolution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Have stayed here for convinience only as its so central but have payed between £50-£100 to stay here! Not good considering the staff are rude, the lift never works and the rooms are cold and bare. Having said that, i will more than likely stay here again because of its location and in hope that they become more welcoming.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissDaniellePaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Dundee Central Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
We are sorry to learn that you found our hotel to be unwelcoming MissDanniellePaton. Our staff are expected to provide a great service so it is regrettable to learn that you found them to be rude on this occasion. Our lifts should also be in full working order however we are aware that some issues can arise and we would expect them to be fixed in a timely manner. We do hope that all of our guests have a warm and cosy stay and all of our heaters should be working correctly so we are sorry to learn you found the room to be cold, we do provide extra blankets and duvets from reception should you need them. We will be sure to pass on your comments to our hotel staff so that they can be reminded of the importance of customer care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dundee hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Large room but sparse of furniture although the bed and bedding was excellent, an amazing improvement and great value if you can book well in advance. not exactly in Dundee centre as named and the car park is very difficult to find.
But all in all a large comfortable room, very quiet (At the back). The one thing that really lets down the new look is that they still provide plastic tumblers not exactly the best if you fancy a glass of wine of an evening.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank DaveDunlop007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed here for New Year and although the entrance to the hotel was absolutely filthy with many cigarette ends littering the area, the hotel itself was clean and easily found and near the city centre. However, there are not eating facilities and no bar. If you want breakfast in the hotel, you can have packaged food or you have to go out and find breakfast elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Mabel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

this hotel quite central,the town is only about 5 minutes walk away so could leave car at hotel,Thus didn't have to look for parking place or pay to park. Very comfortable & clean bed, very reasonable priced hotel, breakfast extra if wanted. Have stayed at this hotel before & will do again in future

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank sospanbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Pros are def location, room sizes and price. Cons are def noise, noise and more noise. Check in was quick, friendly and informative. The room was huge, very clean and obviously freshly decorated. Nice fluffy bath sheets plus good shower and clean bedding. Room overlooked busy main road which also had a loose manhole cover which thudded every time a car went over it, lots of noisy night time revellers going home too. These are not hotels problem but good double glazing would have perhaps given me a better nights sleep. Would go back but will request room to rear of property to see if this was any quieter.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to rear of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simplymo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dundee hotels
0.6 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
0.3 mi away
Best Western Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Dundee City Center
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee Centre Hotel
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Dundee Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Dundee Central Hotel

Property: Travelodge Dundee Central Hotel
Address: 152-158 West Marketgait, Dundee DD1 1NJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Dundee Central Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Dundee Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Dundee Central Hotel Dundee
Travel Lodge Dundee
Dundee Travelodge
Dundee Travel Lodge
Travelodge Dundee Central Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing