We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Taychreggan Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Reviewed 7 May 2012

The hotel is well appointed and the rooms with the views are nice, with high standards of cleanliness. The bathrooms are good, but I agree that the decor and finish of the bedrooms is slightly dated. The bar downstairs is excellent, I don't like whisky but if you do you will love the array of whiskies here! We haven't eaten here, but the breakfast is good and made from quality products. The breakfast room however, is also in need of updating and central heating. However, in spite of the dated look I would highly recommend the hotel and the staff are good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieAnneD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2012

Located in a quiet residential area close to Broughty Ferry, this elegant mansion has been converted tastely into a small very comfortable hotel. Especially suited to those travelling by car large private car park,free, is a bonus. Easy access to Dundee. Warm welcome from friendly staff. Attractive comfortable cocktail bar with great selection of malt whiskys. Bedrooms roomy clean and well equipted with TV tea making hairdryer and good wardrobe space. Did not eat in Hotel Restaurant, as visiting friends in area but breakfast in morning was more than adequate. Now under new management,obvious they are trying very hard to improve facilities. Would definetly stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed at Taychreggan Hotel on Saturday night. Unfortunately for us, we didn't have long enough to enjoy & appreciate our surroundings. The hotel is very impressive set in nice grounds. We had a clean, comfortable room, though maybe a wee bit dated. This did not detract from our stay in any way. The bed was very comfy & the room warm. The breakfast on Sunday was excellent & served by a very pleasant young guy who, when we checking out, told us he'd only started work at the Taychreggan the previous Monday. Staff like him & the guy who booked us in would certainly make you want to return, which we're hoping to do as our friends are moving back to Dundee area to stay. We only wished we could have sampled the food........next time, definitely! All in all, thoroughly enjoyable stay. Thanks Taychreggan.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matelg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Used to be regulars at the restaurant but will not be returning. Four of us visited restaurant for a family birthday lunch last week. Only five tables in use on a Friday lunchtime which used to be very busy. Out of our four orders two were wrong and one had been forgotten altogether resulting in a rather embarrassing delay while three of us ate and one waited. No one came to ask how our meal was, or if we wanted steak knives (one did), desserts, coffee etc. and we felt the staff and owners (who were in the hallway when we left, and made no effort to speak to us) were not interested in the customers. We even had to go to the bar to ask for the bill, which we paid and left, (though no amendments (or apologies) had been made for the errors), as, by then, we had decided we would not be returning. Very disappointed as, when we lived in the area, this was our regular restaurant for family meals out - sometimes 10 of us, all very well behaved!. Perhaps the new owners need to re-think their vocation as their diffident attitude seemed to have passed down to the staff, making this a less than welcoming experience.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrewfairley, Owner at Taychreggan Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. We do welcome all feedback at the Taychreggan, both the postive and not so postive at times!.

I am very sorry to note that you had a less than perfect lunch with ourselves.

On the day of your visit our till had been re programmed which un known to the staff meant that information sent to the kitchen i.e food orders never arrived, and arrived with the wrong information, meaning there were errors with your table.

We do ongoing staff training and great customer care is always what we strive to deliver.

I can assure you that the managment team are very interested in all or our customers, and always aim to deliver 1st class customer service.

Regards
A. Fairley.




Used to be regulars at the restaurant but will not be returning. Four of us visited restaurant for a family birthday lunch last week. Only five tables in use on a Friday lunchtime which used to be very busy. Out of our four orders two were wrong and one had been forgotten altogether resulting in a rather embarrassing delay while three of us ate and one waited. No one came to ask how our meal was, or if we wanted steak knives (one did), desserts, coffee etc. and we felt the staff and owners (who were in the hallway when we left, and made no effort to speak to us) were not interested in the customers. We even had to go to the bar to ask for the bill, which we paid and left, (though no amendments (or apologies) had been made for the errors), as, by then, we had decided we would not be returning. Very disappointed as, when we lived in the area, this was our regular restaurant for family meals out - sometimes 10 of us, all very well behaved!. Perhaps the new owners need to re-think their vocation as their diffident attitude seemed to have passed down to the staff, making this a less than welcoming experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I attended a Murder, Mystery Evening at this hotel on Friday 30th March 2012. The evening had been organised as a charity fundraising event by my brother. I wasn't too sure what to expect as I had never been in this hotel before. I attended along with my daughter and a friend of mine, and we had a fantastic evening!! Although in older style, the hotel has real character and all the areas that we were in were very clean, well decorated, and presentable. The staff were lovely and joined in well with the theme of the evening. The service was excellent and the food served was of very good quality. The menu provided a varied choice of dishes, and there was something suitable for all. Worth a mention is the absolutely amazing selection of malt whiskies available in the bar - hundereds of them!! As a whisky drinker, I was disappointed that I couldn't sample any of them as I was driving, but I'll definitely be back!!!! I was impressed enough on this first visit to definitely consider returning and probably booking in overnight to allow me to enjoy a whisky, or two, or three, or......!!! Thank you to all concerned for a memorable evening. I couldn't fault the hotel or its staff.

Room Tip: We didn't stay overnight, so unfortunately are not in a position to comment on the "Sleep Q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrewfairley, Owner at Taychreggan Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

Many thanks for posting a review. We do welcome all feedback at the Taychreggan both the good and sometimes the not so good.

The event ran very well and all the staff very much enjoyed, the evening. The themed night was a great success and we very much look forward to hosting another event in due course.

I shall pass on your kind comments to the staff.

We look forward to your next visit.

Regards
A.Fairley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Hadnt been for a while and we were looking forward to a nice lunch ,but it just wasnt as good as it used to be.We got off to a fairly bad start,when we arrived we found that lunch was being served in what they were calling the dining room but this was not the pleasant airy room where meals are usually served. We had a booking but there seemed to be a bit of a problem as to whether the table was ready. When we were taken through there were three empty tables and no one had left!We were shown to our table and almost before we had sat down the waiter was asking what we wanted to drink. When we did sit down two of the chairs had broken springs in the cushions and were very uncomfortable, however the waiter did bring two different chairs.The menu was a bit disappointing it was basically pub food not much imagination or anything a bit different. When the food came the young waiter did not have much idea of etiquette eg ladies served before gents and asking if it was ok almost as soon as we had started. The actual food was not too bad but no wow factor.Overall we left with the feeling that we didnt think we would rush back. Perhaps some staff training wouldnt go amiss.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank tommo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We ate here during the week and for the price the meal is reasonable value. However on this occassion and previously we feel there is a great lack of staff training and no one to oversee the running of the dining room. Staff were pleasant but just a lack of efficiency in the service.

Room Tip: We only ate in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brodgarDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dundee hotels
0.7 mi away
The Fort Hotel
The Fort Hotel
#22 of 28 in Dundee
110 reviews
3.3 mi away
Dunlaw House Hotel
Dunlaw House Hotel
#21 of 28 in Dundee
59 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fisherman's Tavern Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
6.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
3.1 mi away
Malmaison Dundee
Malmaison Dundee
#3 of 28 in Dundee
1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taychreggan Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taychreggan Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 4 Ellieslea Road | Broughty Ferry, Dundee DD5 1JG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Dundee
Price Range: £55 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Taychreggan Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Taychreggan Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taychreggan Hotel And Restaurant
Taychreggan Hotel Dundee
Taychreggan Hotel & Restaurant Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing