We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Customer Service & Value for Money with Groupon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Taychreggan Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I was fairly chuffed when my mum decided to treat us to an Afternoon Tea at the newly opened Taychreggan. You know you have arrived at a treat destination as this Hotel and restaurant is a beautiful property! Our waitress was delightful and we were very impressed with the service provided. The Afternoon Tea is served on a slate cake stand which creates a lovely affect showing off the dainty sandwiches on different flavoured breads and lots of little cakes.The waitress & chef made sure my allergy was catered for without a fuss. My only criticism would be to have home baked products and have pots of jam as I am not a lover of the plastic portions but never the less we enjoyed our selection. The menu for Spice looks tasty as does the main restaurant menu, need to plan another treat soon. Just wish we had of left a tip as we totally forgot due to us already handing over the groupon voucher when we arrived. Thank you we will definitely be back- so double tip next time!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sass333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

Used a groupon voucher to stay here for the weekend recently, very nice large room with large en suite. Very clean, staff very friendly and helpful. Lovely bar area and beer garden, food in restaurant spice very nice!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirsty_1990xo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Visited the Taychreggan with my wife for afternoon tea using a Groupon Voucher. Have to say it was excellent value. Very tasty selection of fresh sandwiches cakes and scones, all washed down with a glass of Proscetto and a pot of tea. Weather was decent so we sat outside in the secluded patio area which was very nice. Staff were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble. Will be back again to try the food in the restaurant some time soon.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Scotbust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Glad to see Taychreggan reopened with a lovely fresh look. Enjoyed a lovely lamb bhuna and good old fish and chips tonight. Beautiful setting in Broughty Ferry, good friendly service and all reasonably priced. Think this could be a regular haunt!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank anna186518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Have just returned from enjoying a lovely afternoon tea. The sandwiches were delicious and plentiful as were tthe scones and cakes. The waitress coiuldn't have been more helpful and she made sure that where she was seating us was to our liking. We were not rushed although we were aware that other folks were arriving for a meal from the main menu. If this standard is maintained the new Taychreggan will do well. We look forward to enjoying a meal one evening in the near future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth_SF7320SN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Went along for afternoon tea with a Groupon voucher to check out the newly re-opened Taychreggan.
On entering the completely empty dining room we were shown to a table with no outlook over the gardens, rejecting this we re-located and enjoyed the view of the gardens, another group of guests arrived and despite the dining room still being empty were seated more or less on top of us.
There was no choice of sandwiches given, nor of white or brown bread, the glass of sparkling wine was served promptly, but there was no sign of tea or cups etc until requested.

The wait staff were friendly but could perhaps benefit from some training in service skills.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank menubuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We went along without a reservation for dinner on the Friday night. We opted for Spice, which is situated in the dining room of the hotel. Plenty of cheerful and helpful staff on our arrival. We were shown to a table and our drinks order was taken after a few minutes. Food was excellent. There is nothing we could fault on any aspect of our visit. 2 drinks, 2 starters, 2 mains, rice and a naan - total bill was £44. We finished off our evening with a drink in the bar. We will definitely be back. Happy that our "local" has reopened.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank ArlieSMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dundee hotels
1.6 mi away
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
3.3 mi away
Dunlaw House Hotel
Dunlaw House Hotel
#21 of 28 in Dundee
59 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fisherman's Tavern Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Dundee Carlton Hotel
Dundee Carlton Hotel
#26 of 28 in Dundee
97 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
2.1 mi away
Craigtay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taychreggan Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taychreggan Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 4 Ellieslea Road | Broughty Ferry, Dundee DD5 1JG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Dundee
Price Range: £55 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Taychreggan Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Taychreggan Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taychreggan Hotel And Restaurant
Taychreggan Hotel Dundee
Taychreggan Hotel & Restaurant Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing