We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Service and Good Food”
Review of Avery & Co

Avery & Co
Ranked #29 of 380 Restaurants in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Open seven days and serving delicious, seasonal breakfast, lunch, dinner and drinks, Avery & Co is the perfect destination for any occasion.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
600 reviews
331 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 373 helpful votes
“Very Good Service and Good Food”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We decided to eat here on a recent visit to Dundee. The actual restaurant is quite pleasant, it has a liited menu which is a good sign that the meals served will be up to standard. This was true on our visit, no complaints about the food, but the portion size does not reflect the price. Both starters and desserts are overpriced for what you get.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AUKTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    46
    20
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sackville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The food was good - I had the Scottish salmon -, although I would have liked a few more vegetables on the plate. Reasonable prices and good service. The restaurant is also close to the university so is a convenient as well as pleasant choice.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank KirstyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fresh, Delicious, Innovative Food.”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

If you are in Dundee then you have to visit this excellent little restaurant. The food is brilliant. There is an excellent array of options to choose from. It is really refreshing that you can get clean, fresh, delicious food at a very reasonable price. The staff are amazing, very polite and attentive.

Trust me you don’t want to miss out on this little gem!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Taffboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lunchtime visit!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Lovely and friendly, reasonably priced! Only criticism was I asked for a sandwich but got a wrap! Filling delish though!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank DeezyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Sunday breakfast”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I have only ever ate from the breakfast menu (served all day on a Sunday) so I can only judge food from this menu...
The restaurant itself is lovely. Bright and spacious, fantastic wall art but minimalist enough as to not feel cluttered like some other cafes in Dundee.
I have previously sampled the salmon and scrambled eggs on toast (2 weeks ago, or thereabouts) and today the chorizo omlette. Delicious. I am really eager to come back here for lunch or dinner as we've always seen the most tasty-looking food being brought to other people's tables (+ huge portions too).
Really good coffee too. I've had lattes from almost every cafe in Dundee + this is one of the best.
The staff are very welcoming: 2 of your male staff in particular - I think one may be management and the other seemed to know his stuff when it came to cocktails.
I really hope more people in Dundee learn about this little gem. Can't wait to come back + sample more of your yummy grub and am more than happy to sample any new cocktails you think up.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 20SEB13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Avery & Co also viewed

Dundee, Scotland
Dundee, Scotland
 
Dundee, Scotland
 

Been to Avery & Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing