We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still good”

Dundee Contemporary Arts
Ranked #7 of 81 things to do in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Still good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Never had a bad meal here, but was a bit disappointed when the menu was revamped. Disappointment has all but evaporated as the food is of a very high standard and the staff brilliant.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank elvas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    77
    12
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great place to relax, watch and eat/ drink”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

If there is a particular film that you want to see then this is a good place to go - the cinema rooms are compact and very comfortable - sound and picture quality are usually very good - very relaxing place to visit with usually a mature adult audience.

Well worth a visit to see their exhibitions and shop/ café bar.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank BullThistleFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
117 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Popular art house”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

DCA is a little gem with something for all the family. A busy cinema, nice mix of artwork, some interesting bits and bobs in the shop, good food and a great place for a relaxing cocktail or three. We've been here a number of times - on most occasions we make the trip to Dundee.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Never fails”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

I go to DCA a lot, mostly to attend the Discovery Family Film workshops and film screenings. Often we also have a bite to eat and some Suki tea, my son's favourite. Our family has been going to DCA's workshops for years - my eldest son also did some great artistic stuff there. It never fails to be a great day - the range of films DCA has is just excellent, often films that you don't see at other cinemas. The workshops for children are imaginative and great fun - they get to try out some amazing arty stuff, and really explore their imaginations. The staff are friendly, helpful and DCA is definitely children-friendly. Food is good, and not at all over priced. If you're looking for a unique gift their shop has some gems (looking forward also to the July craft fair). Well worth a regular visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank pizzaswirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Unmissable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

World class art,
(Just check out the list of Turner Prize nominees and winners who have previously shown there to understand its influence.) Busy cinema showing a good mix of art house and popular movies. Good range of craft and gifts in the shop and fabulous print studio. Grear food and a busy bar that's very much the heart and soul of Dundee.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dee122345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dundee Contemporary Arts also viewed

 

Been to Dundee Contemporary Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing