We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tatty & Terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dundee Carlton Hotel
Ranked #28 of 30 Hotels in Dundee
Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tatty & Terrible”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

List of faults:- Reception desk sticky/unclean; stairs had uneven, dangerous treads;room had paper thin walls; large stain on carpet; decor tatty & dirty, both bedside lamps not working, damaged blackout blind; sticky bedside table; the provided teabags were not individually wrapped; extractor fan in tiniest en-suite did not work; no hooks/shelves to put anything, when getting washed; toilet seat aged/unhygienic & 25 years overdue for replacing; the pump assisted flushing system noisier than rocket shelling in the Gaza Strip; 2 inch gap between shower tray &skirting; after being told to choose breakfast items the night before, had to reorder the next morning.. when it arrived it was cold & as vegetarians were treated to less than half a plateful, with meat items simply excluded & not substituted with more beans/mushrooms/tomatoes which is the norm ; had to ask if we help ourselves to cereal & toast (from a faulty toaster)
STAY HERE AT YOUR PERIL!!

Room Tip: A tip for a good room is to use a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jimcG8735SV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    14
    11
    14
    29
See reviews for
21
46
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I have been staying at a rather run down allegedly 3 star hotel in Dundee. It is the first in my travelling life I was asked to choose breakfast items the night before! But to day the I went down to breakfast at 8.50am to be told that breakfast finishes at 8.45am (last order). In there brochure it list breakfast as 7.00am - 9.00am. Do yourself a favour and give this place a miss!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Don't choose the Dundee Carlton
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JABBTRAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dundee hotels

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

we booked this hotel for the 24/03/14 as we were in Dundee for a day course at the University , it looked fantastic on the website,& value for money, also close to the city centre and the University. When we arrived, nobody was there to great us till 4pm, but states on the website we can have access to rooms at 2pm. There was a note left at reception to say somebody would'nt be back until 4pm. I found this very unprofessional & disappointing to say the least, but i gave the hotel the benefit of the doubt. At 3.50pm, an Asian man came to reception, & we explained we had a room booked, so he must have contacted sandra, (the owner) and said she had guests. The owner Sandra then turned up & said she went home to walk her dog. Sandra then stated, she was retired, but had to return to the buisness, as her husband had passed away, & had to return to the buisness for financial reasons. She also said she would be selling up to the owners of the Indian restraunt next door & retire by june/july, We felt we had her life story within 5 minutes of arriving. I did feel sorry for her as i have a heart, but she still has to to be professional & meet guest standards & requirements. We had to go in to city centre. in a hurry as i wanted to treat my partner to a nice romantic evening meal. So we did not have time to go over the room. When we arrived back to the hotel around 6pm, we had to get ready for going out for a meal , so i started running a bath, which was a struggle to get the tap on, and off, thats when we discovered things were wrong with the room. There was mould around the shower door, windows not opening,cobwebs on widows, the blinds were filthy, and not working. Drafts coming in the room. No heating in the room after 9pm. The super king size upgraded (superior room) turned out to be 2 single beds put together , so i went down to complain to the owner sandra at 9pm, but no one was there AGAIN! I then went up to room to connect to the internet,on my laptop, but could not connect as the password was incorrect, i am very up to date with computers, so i knew there was something not right. I then called laterooms.com, and expressed my issues & concerns. Even the lady from laterooms.com could not contact the owner. So the lady from laterooms.com said she would accept my concerns & horrible experience not to pay for the room , and cancelled it there and then. I am really angry and upset as i couldn't get connected to the internet to look for any other hotels,so we decided to stay in as we did not know dundee & had no where else to go. We just wanted home. In the morning after a long night with hardly any sleep, i dropped my partner off at the university , and returned to the hotel to discuss my concerns with the owner,who was not present AGAIN! As i had to be signed out by 11am , i told the cleaner who was there. i was not paying for the room my partner and i, had so much issues, and that laterooms was dealing with the matter.The cleaner claire then called Sandra (the owner). I accepted the call , i told sandra all my concerns & issues , she called me and my partner liars, and said laterooms never called her , she also said she was going to the police and get me done for fraud, which i cant see why as i gave laterooms all my correct details, & they cancelled my details & accepted our concerns that evening. I left the hotel with good bye your hotel is, falling apart, & stop ripping people off. & false adverising, we would of had a better sleep in my car. I never paid a penny for the room. I have since noticed the owner sandra kept trying to take money out my account, & finally suceeded from my bank on the 28th march, which is fraud as i never gave her permission to do so. I will have this hotel investigated, i have now saught legal advice, & will be compensated for our deplorable experience!! This woman should be ashamed of herself. Also the Indian resteraunt service, & standards are disgusting, i would rather have a chipper supper. Only my opinion, but you can tell its a very run down, joined buisness. Its due to the fact of embezzling con artists. enter at your own risks folks. The Indian resteraunt is a rip off too, we paid £1.50 for extra prawns, & recieved shell peeled prawns, that was meant to be king prawns. Do your research correctly, before booking with these scumbags. HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE, RIPPED OFF.COM. Also dont book through laterooms.com. They dnt care, as long as their making ££££

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chris k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I booked this hotel through booking.com for £55 per night when I got there I was told this was a mistake and the cost was £60 but on check out the invoice was for £55.......seemed like a fiddle going on to me.

My room was dirty and in desperate need of a refurb. The bathroom was dirty and had a very unpleasant smell.

The hotel restaurant only serves Indian food so I had to go out to eat as I cannot eat spicey food. The breakfast was terrible. I stayed at The Carlton Hotel in Prestwick while on this trip and they did charge £55 and was 100 times bet than this dump.

Room Tip: DONT book a room here
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrsb007Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stalybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

There is no fitness centre or swimming pool, but if your looking for a comfortable sleep in a clean, friendly environment then this is perfect, me and my partner stayed here as he was working near by. It's ideal for business persons as well as couples looking for a break.

The staff were lovely, very helpful and accommodating, breakfast was brilliant after reading several reviews I thought to my self where on earth had my partner booked us in! However soon as we arrived the lady was fantastic, so kind and helpful. The room was clean, comfortable warm and the shower in our room was lovely.

The views from the front are lovely too you can see the river from the breakfast room and main entrance and some bedrooms on the front, there was no traffic and the hotel was very tranquil.

I would defiantly stay here again and recommend this hotel to others looking for affordable, comfortable, relaxing, stay, with fantastic internet access!

Room Tip: The views from the front are lovely, you can see the river from the breakfast room and main entrance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banff, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Stayed here last week. Wasn't looking forward to it as my partner booked it & never checked trip advisor beforehand. Quite glad he never as I found it an okay stay. Owner at the desk was lovely, room was cosy & warm & there was nothing wrong with the breakfast. It is a tired hotel but I've seen a lot worse & for the price you are paying you really can't complain. It had everything we needed for a one night stay.

Must recommend the restaurant next door. I had a curry, my partner had a pizza, both lovely & staff great. Would probably go back.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ainsley_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Booked Hotel on line as my friend was staying the night, asked for card details to reserve the room. When I arrived checked in asked if I should pay, and was told to pay in the morning. Room was nice, large room with Sofa, but dated, tv had limited channels and bathroom cold, owner showed mw to room, got her life story about her selling next year, and who was taking over. Ate out that night as I do not like spicy food, was asked to leave list for breakfast, which I did. In the morning it was still lying there, no staff on duty, my friend who was on a different floor said the place was very noisey and you could here everyhting through the walls!!.
At breakfast we were asked what we wanted, again. We had to aske for milk, butter, and options were limited, the hot breakfast came and there was one only of the items asked for even although we did not want other options, the bacon tasted deep fried. I went to check out, and to raise my concerns and it was the same person who served/made/delivered the food, explained all the staff had not turned up, so I would need to call later to make my payment. When I did I was informed my payment had already been taken, even although I wanted to pay with a different card, I explained and felt I was being scalded for complaining ( Sandra ) said the food was nothing to do with her and she ws pass on my comments, never received a call or expalnation from anyone, shocking customer service. A week later still not had any receipt, had to call, one again got a long winded explanation. Needs shake up.

Room Tip: Room 4, or first floor only
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenP443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dundee hotels
0.5 mi away
Craigtay Hotel
Craigtay Hotel
#29 of 30 in Dundee
129 reviews
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Panmure Hotel
Panmure Hotel
#26 of 30 in Dundee
207 reviews
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
1.6 mi away
Dunlaw House Hotel
Dunlaw House Hotel
#21 of 30 in Dundee
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dundee Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dundee Carlton Hotel

Property: Dundee Carlton Hotel
Address: 2 Dalgleish Road, Dundee DD4 7JR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 30 Hotels in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dundee Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This refurbished hotel offers en suite rooms, some of which have picturesque views of the River Tay and Broughty Ferry Castle. The New Dundee Carlton Hotel is home to Mercury Maia fine-dining restaurant and cocktail bar. All rooms are en suite and offer luxurious soft furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dundee Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dundee Carlton Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing