We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food”

Manchurian Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #22 of 440 Restaurants in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: An exciting new addition to the Manchurian family, this family-run restaurant will give you the ultimate dining experience. The 1st dim sum restaurant in Tayside and over 30years experience in many successful restaurants, we bring both modern and traditional Chinese cuisines to our Menu. Enjoy a fusion of cultural and contemporary surroundings in our timeless decor whether it's for a casual lunch/dinner or a private event in one of our function rooms equipped with latest karaoke and sound technology. We cater for all special occasions from birthdays to traditional Chinese weddings.
Reviewed 15 November 2018 via mobile

Excellent food, the rice was simply amazing and their wings were awesome! Will definitely visit again and recommend to anyone.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Segun A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (534)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 534 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2018 via mobile

Having traveled China extensively, and having always been deeply frustrated with the food that Chinese restaurants are conditioned to serving us white folks, The Manchurian Restaurant in Dundee is a really refreshing break from anglicised Chinese food... Walking in you immediately know you’re in for an authentic treat as you find the restaurant to be full of the native people of its cuisine. Fantastic! Sitting in there it took me right back to Hong Kong, Beijing and Shanghai all in one-fell-swoop! It’s very clean and the service was with a great big smile. We’ll be back for sure - I just wish I’d known what it was like years ago!

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank darluthier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2018 via mobile

Nice Chinese curry but convinced it is made from the curry paste sold in the supermarket below. Food the other diners had looked good.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Neebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2018

We have been regulars at the Manchurian for some years now. However, since the management changed it has gone downhill all the way. We were there for a light Lunch today. Ordered 3 different Dim sums. One was not available. The prawn dim sum was greasy and undercooked. The so called beef with spring onion dumpling tasted like undercooked sausage meat. The roast pork and duck rice was almost a joke. The duck was full of bones and fat and the sweet pork was fatty with hardly any meat. The waitress could hardly communicate in English. The girls who used to serve us were a joy and ever so pleasant. Oh how I miss the old Manchurian! The only saving grace was the Tiger beer! Never going back!!

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank UmaF2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

Its possible that I am comparing apples to oranges and not being familiar with the food prices in Scotland it may not be a fair judgement. Having travelled extensively around Asia, Hong Kong, Singapore and obviously Australia the standard of food here was fairly average and expensive. Portions were small, prices on high side for what it was. It advertises itself as ' only dim sum restaurant ' in dundee. Maybe that is its main selling point

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Selina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Manchurian Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 
 

Been to Manchurian Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing