We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small but clean”
Review of West Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
West Park
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Perth, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“small but clean”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Booked this accommodation at the last minute - paid £35 for the night room only. It is about a 25minute walk into the centre of Dundee but there's a bus stop at the entrance which is very handy. The room itself was quite small but very clean and for £35 per night, the bathroom was a wet room which was fine, and again very clean. We were in Dundee for the Blues Festival and accommodation was quite scarce! We got a taxi back to West Park in the evening which cost us about £6.00. All in all we agreed would would probably stay here again, only for one night - too cramped for a couple to stay any longer than that.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morriseystalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at West Park, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your short stay with us and look forward to your visit again. Hope you enjoyed the Blues Festival!

Kind regards
Christine M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    31
    28
    18
    12
See reviews for
12
35
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed at West Park for 3 days. I didn't know that I was booking Student Digs. When we got there we saw it was a university we were confused. The reception staff were welcoming and we found our 'digs'. The room was basic but no less so than a Travel Lodge. It was clean and fine for the price. We were very mislead when the advert wrote 'the rooms have tea/coffee, TV and full Scottish breakfast' but the breakfast was at an extra cost. I confronted the manager and told him that the advert was misleading. He then said we could have bacon roll and coffee but the receptionist said we couldn't. It had to be a full Scottish or nothing. There was no excuse for getting this info so wrong. The bed was uncomfortable. Would I stay there again? Probably not.

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa 2 which faced away from the conference/dining building to it was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane13982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at West Park, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.
We are advertised as Campus accommodation and I apologise if you felt you were not aware of this. I also apologise for the confusion over breakfast. We offer a “room only” rate at all times online. Guests can then chose to add breakfast if they wish. As our double room only rate is from £17.50per person per night, to include a full Scottish breakfast in this price would be above expectations. Thank you again for taking the time to place a review, your feedback is very important for us.


Kind regards
Christine M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This hotel is located within reasonable distance (25-30 minutes walk) from the city center. The rooms are clean and tidy. The shower/bathroom is spartan, with only a shower separating between the two. This is a budget hotel, so we were not expecting luxury, however the rooms are too small by any standard, and felt like a small, dimly-lit cage. I would not recommend this hotel for anyone other than single students or budget travelers.

Room Tip: Front (Perth road) facing rooms can expect significant noise from the road and from the hotel's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at West Park, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. The accommodation we offer is campus accommodation and is advertised as so. The bedrooms are slightly smaller than an average budget hotel and our price fairly reflects this. From £17.50 per person for a double room we offer good, clean, value for money accommodation at a very acceptable price. I am sorry to hear it was not what you were expecting. Thank you again for taking the time to place a review, your feedback is very important for us.

Kind regards
Christine M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dundee hotels

Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

I work all over the country, I've stoped on some strange places, but this.......something else!

Our booking service got us in here at the last minuet due to graduation week- our normal hotel was double booked. On arrival, I informed the young man on reception i was only staying for 4 nights, this was fine and my bill was altered accordingly because we had to pay up front - then suddenly, my company credit card was declined - even with funds on it. However, it then came to light that there were multiple invoices for all our group, all with different prices.....and all in my name? Nobody in reception seemed to have a grasp on what was going on! I had to ask for a copy of my decline slip from the card machine because it was quickly whisked away and shredded along with my adjusted invoice - apparently 'that's what we do'.

I had to get someone from head office to pay my bill and they were charged for 5 nights - when I raised this on check out, I was kurtly told that I was wrong, there was no record of me informing anyone I was only staying 4 nights (it had probably been shredded) and I had already paid, so there was nothing that I could do about it.

I can't really fault the rooms, they were what anyone would expect from a university campus. However, the housekeeping staff must knock off early because on more than one occasion, our groups rooms were not serviced at all! One room had a broken shower head, so this was mentioned to reception - on return to our rooms, the leaky shower had been fixed in room A, but now room B had.....a leaky shower. This went on all week. We actually laughed about this - it was so ridiculous you couldn't make it up

I see someone else on here has commented on the air con/extractor unit that whined away like concord taking off all night - this was joined in its late night symphony by the bar staff, adding pucussion by throwing bottles into a big steel bin (one at a time) until the small hours!

In fairness, the staff were all very pleasant and polite (other than the mentioned ones who came across as rude or lost). They smiled
when we raised any problems and did try to sort them out.

The only food we had here was breakfast, and this was reasonable. You could request anything you liked and it would eventually arrive at your table. The scrambled egg I suspect may come from a packet rather than an egg!

I have read the other reviews and I aknowlage that others have had a better experience than my team and I have had. But having a great wealth of experience in staying in hotels, this outfit is far from slick and has some questionable practices. They are charging people to stay in this establishment, and even though they don't charge the earth, they need to get their house in order!

If the keystone cops ran a hotel, this would be it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NurseNomadic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at West Park, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. I am sorry you were so disappointed with your stay at West Park. We did discuss your issues at the time of your stay and understood the matter to have been resolved. We rely on information passed to us via booking agents. I apologise that the information we received was not correct. Thank you again for taking the time to place a review, your feedback is very important for us.

Kind regards
Christine M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angouleme, France
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

I stayed 3 nights at the West Park as the hotels where I usually stay were all booked this week. Its location is not very convenient if you do not have a car. Count £6 for the taxi from the train, maybe slightly less from the airport.
The "hotel" is more like a seminar complex that happens to fill its rooms as a hotel when it needs to. The rooms are small and very basic. I ended up sleeping all 3 nights with the window opened as the heater could not be stopped. However, the hotel is in a quiet area so it did not bother me.
The breakfast is over-priced at £8 but if you choose to get your own breakfast, the nearest supermarket is 10 minutes walk away.
Very annoying: There is no wi-fi in the rooms, just a LAN cable that does not work and I was told it's £4.50 to get the wi-fi in the pub.
Overall, I think £52 a night without breakfast for such amenities was a bit over-priced. However, I did not have a bad stay and would not mind staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PKazimir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at West Park, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.
“West Park” is Tayside’s largest Conference and Events Centre. Situated within the grounds is West Park Campus. During the summer months this 3 star Campus accommodation is available to the general public and offers excellent value for money and is an ideal choice for those seeking clean, comfortable, en-suite accommodation. Residents can make use of the excellent breakfasts served within the Victorian Mansion House on site.
The LAN cable in the bedrooms you mention is for term time students only. Wifi is currently being installed in the bedrooms and will be available for use within a few weeks.
Our prices at the time of your stay reflected the accommodation availability in Dundee. Generally our prices are £35 per room per night and offer excellent value for money. I am glad you did enjoy your stay and will happily return again.

Kind regards
Christine M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We stayed here for two nights when attending a wedding (also held at West Park). The rooms are student halls, with a basic wet-room bathroom and simple furnishings. Our room was perfectly adequate for a cheap place to sleep and get ready. Breakfast was a standard buffet with a few hot items, priced perhaps a little high at £8 per person. Staff were helpful and we got a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mogwai84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at West Park, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your short stay with us, what a great wedding!

Kind regards
Christine M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed as part of a conference held in Dundee. The rooms are basic but were clean and tidy. Food was provided as part of the stay and was surprisingly good. Fantastic value for money for a short visit.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at West Park, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. I am glad you enjoyed your stay during the conference. West Park is known for its great food! Everything is handmade by our team of chefs (including the conference cookies you will have had). We use natural, ingredients from local suppliers. Visit us again if you are staying on vacation in Dundee!

Kind regards
Christine M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dundee hotels
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Dundee Strathmore Avenue
3.0 mi away
Dundee Carlton Hotel
Dundee Carlton Hotel
#27 of 28 in Dundee
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Panmure Hotel
Panmure Hotel
#26 of 28 in Dundee
216 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Queens Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Dundee City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Park

Property: West Park
Address: 4 West Park Villas 319 Perth Road, Dundee DD2 1NN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — West Park 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your West Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Park Hotel Dundee
West Park Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing