We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scotlands Number One B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Balmuirfield House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 22 Dundee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
East Linton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Scotlands Number One B&B”
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Stayed here frequently over last few months while working in Dundee.The house is excellent in every way. Location is ideal for the city,but is quiet at the same time. it is furnished to very high and comfortable standards. Fantastic bedrooms and comfortable beds. It has excellent breakfasts that are made to your requirements.
At evening times there is a cosy lounge with an open fire to sit and read.
Stuart and Morag are fantastic hosts nothing being a problem.

Highly recommend in every way.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    13
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
106
15
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burton on Ttrent
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We looked for accommodation for a relatives wedding and were delighted to have chosen this warm and welcoming, beautifully restored country house. On our arrival we were introduced to the lounge with a log fire and a lovely pot of tea after our long journey!! Our bedroom was large immaculate with a spotless en-suite and plenty of room to relax. The views of the gardens, pond and wildlife were stunning. Deer wandering passed the dining room window each morning made the breakfast a treat. Each morning we enjoyed a wide selection of choices for breakfast with fruit, cereals, selection of cooked options with toast, yoghurts and even more on offer. Stuart and Morag gave loads of helpful local information of their town and country. We enjoyed a fabulous stay at Balmuirfield House and can't wait to return!! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamKate1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterlooville, Hampshire
Level Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Stayed at the Balmuirfield House for one night on a business trip and to say it was the best place I slept in during a week of travelling was an major understatement. Not only was the room lovely and the hosts quite charming, the breakfast was delicious.

I will go back there gladly anytime for business or pleasure and would recommend it to anyone who has a requirement in the Dundee area. It is out of the way, in woods, yet only a few miles from Dundee and easily accessible from the major roads. Just don't be put off as you turn down a small driveway into some woods!

Room Tip: They all are!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrewDenmead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2012

I have stayed in quite a few B&Bs and hotels in this area and Balmuirfield House is by far the best, which is why I returned about 4 times! Location is great, close to the dual carriageway that leads out of the city, but you wouldn't even know you were in the city once you get onto the grounds as they are wooded, lush and beautiful. Owners are top notch, rooms and decor are amazing for the price, everything is spotless, breakfast is excellent. Really can't fault it at all!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CristinaNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakeland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Balmuirfield house and its lovely owners is a real find, beautiful period house thats been tenderly renovated, beautifully furnished, comfortable and conveinient. Good variety of breakfasts, Arbroath smokies, fresh fruit, yogurts, cereal, and of course a tasty cooked breakfast well cooked and well presented.
Its a 5 min drive in to Dundee's city centre, 10 mins to fab beaches, and a easy 20 min drive to Glamis castle....well worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cannygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2012

My family and I stayed at Stuart, Morag and wee Josephine's Balmuirfield House for 2 nights. The room we had was flawless; decor, comfort, snacks - everything was perfect. This was the family room I believe. The grounds are neat to explore and Stuart cooks a mean breakfast. The wit and charm of our hosts was well appreciated too. It took us a few tries to find the place, but we didn't use GPS and were driving at night. I highly recommend making your stay in this great house with a wonderful family.

Room Tip: Our room was 'family room' and had its own bathroom - most rooms have their own bathrooms, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We both lived in Dundee area few years ago but moved abroad. We came back to visit some friends and wanted to stay somewhere nearby. Made a perfect choice.The stay was fantastic and the house beautiful! Lovely family who made us feel very welcome. Stayed there 3 nights but wanted more. We loved the area too, quiet and peaceful but close to the center at the same time. Would definately go back! I would recommend anybody!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justyna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dundee hotels
2.5 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
3.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
3.1 mi away
Best Western Dundee Invercarse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
2.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Dundee City Center
2.5 mi away
Malmaison Dundee
Malmaison Dundee
#3 of 28 in Dundee
1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmuirfield House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmuirfield House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Balmuirfield House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Balmuirfield House Harestane Road, Dundee DD3 0NU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balmuirfield House is a Bed and Breakfast offering Four Star luxury accommodation on the outskirts of Dundee. This beautiful B&B in Dundee has one foot in the city and the other in the country, it is a peaceful haven to rest and relax whilst either visiting the city of many discoveries or venturing further afield to explore Angus and beyond. This historically listed country house boasts elegant, spacious rooms with an emphasis on service, luxury and comfort. Many original features combine with modern facilities to provide an excellent choice of accommodation for those on holiday or business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Balmuirfield House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmuirfield House Bed And Breakfast Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing