We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond Excellent - Wonderful Place - Planning the Next Time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Balmuirfield House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 24 Dundee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This has to be the best guest house I've ever stayed at.
Lovely engaging hosts who care about your comfort.

Wonderful open log fires, welcoming rooms in a beautifully and thoughtfully decorated accommodation. There's nothing cheap or nasty here. From bedding to towels to quality of furnishings this place oozes class and quality.
Beautiful large light and airy bedroom, superb bathroom, good parking.
Can't imagine staying at any other guest house or hotel in the area. Why would you want to? Now I've disclosed Dundee's best secret I will probably have difficulty re-booking but these people deserve to have loads of guests. Just wish they had a chain of guesthouses like this it would make my life more pleasant.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sparky-parrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

Booked through booking.com for 3 nights stay in March.
Stayed alone, which was amazing in the green 4 poster room, felt very luxurious.
Room was beautifully decorated and finished, all details thought of. The room is as good as the photos indicate.
I sometimes have difficulties with mattresses due to back problems, but slept very comfortably here.
The host and his family were lovely, very friendly and helpful. Upon arrival I was shown around, and given a key allowing me to come and go as i pleased.
Fresh towels and turndown service provided each morning which was great.
B&B is well located on peaceful area of land, not far at all to nearest supermarkets, retail park or Dundee.
Breakfast was lovely, lots of options cooked fresh to order. Be aware breakfast is only offered until 9am even at weekends, which was a downside as I couldn't enjoy it fully. Would be good if cereals, yoghurts and drinks could still be accessed on serve yourself basis until later as a minimum.
Room had TV with freeview channels as well as DVD player which is added bonus. Wifi cant be relied upon as it is very unstable and not really accessible from rooms.
I received a single occupier discount. This made what was already an excellent value B&B move into the bargin for what you get category.
Would definitely recommend to others, cant wait to return again.

Room Tip: The green 4 Poster room was luxurious with a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Lovely house, with good sized rooms and excellent bathrooms. Stuart is a wonderful host who did all he could to make our stay in Dundee as good as possible. Delicious breakfasts with all you could eat! Surely the only place to stay in Dundee!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I had a brilliant 3-night stay at this beautiful B&B.It is luxurious throughout& the breakfasts were delicious.The hosts were very friendly& gave great advice for visiting places of interest.This delightful building is set in its own grounds just 3 miles away from Dundee city centre.A lifetime's ambition was achieved when i got to sleep in the grand king- sized 4- poster bed ! It was very comfortable.The room& bathroom were large& spotlessly clean.There was a mattress protector on the bed& pillow protectors also.The kettle in my room was empty on my arrival which just goes to highlight the attention to detail.Balmuirfield is also only about 5 miles from Dundee Botanical Gardens& about 13 miles from St Andrews.My relaxing stay could not have been made any better.It was perfection& i look forward to an early return.

Room Tip: All rooms are luxurious,but go on,treat yourself& opt for a 4- poster bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We were on a family holiday and this accommodation was selected by my dad. The location is a little 'off the road', but with the help of a sat-nav, it was no problem locating this beautiful house away from the hustle and bustle of the city.
This big beautiful house has several rooms, and Stuart did a good job getting to know our names as we arrived and then allocated the rooms accordingly. Every room had a charming character of it's own - it's so difficult to say which was the best! Big, spacious rooms and bathrooms beautifully decorated.
There was a common lounge downstairs for guests to use and Stuart even started the fire ready for us after dinner.
We bought dinner back to the house the two nights we were there and Stuart went out of his way and allowed us to use the dining area which is usually reserved only for breakfast.
Speaking of breakfast, every morning there is a selection available - eggs, salmon, cereal, bacon, etc - all cooked fresh upon order.
Our two night stay at Balmuirfield House was probably the best out of our 6 days in Scotland.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mimimiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We made a last minute reservation, and were so happy with our choice. The room was large, comfortable and well appointed. Stuart was a great host who made himself very available for anything we needed and cooked a wonderful breakfast. He and Morag have done a great job of refurbishing and decorating the house. The lounge is comfortable and cozy, there was a fire laid and ready for us to strike a match when we returned from dinner. It was a great place for an after dinner whiskey, and we were fortunate to be joined by the two resident german shepherds, which for us was a real bonus as we needed a dog fix. Wish we had scheduled more than one night in Dundee just so we could spend more time there!

Room Tip: room 2 (green and gold) was lovely, great view into the yard, very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trippingmrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Working in Scotland for a couple of days and needed somewhere to stay with my wife - and my van! Its was like home from home being welcomed by an old friend. very warm and friendly people with a lovely tastefully decorated period property. very clean, very comfortable and welcoming. breakfast was perfect and set us up for the day. I have recommend to friends and I would not hesitate to visit again. excellent value too

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan_Kirkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dundee hotels
2.5 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Dundee City Center
3.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
3 mi away
Taypark House
Taypark House
#2 of 24 in Dundee
128 reviews
2.7 mi away
Shaftesbury Lodge
Shaftesbury Lodge
#3 of 24 in Dundee
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmuirfield House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmuirfield House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Balmuirfield House Harestane Road, Dundee DD3 0NU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Dundee
Price Range: £61 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balmuirfield House is a Bed and Breakfast offering Four Star luxury accommodation on the outskirts of Dundee. This beautiful B&B in Dundee has one foot in the city and the other in the country, it is a peaceful haven to rest and relax whilst either visiting the city of many discoveries or venturing further afield to explore Angus and beyond. This historically listed country house boasts elegant, spacious rooms with an emphasis on service, luxury and comfort. Many original features combine with modern facilities to provide an excellent choice of accommodation for those on holiday or business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Balmuirfield House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmuirfield House Bed And Breakfast Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing