We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only average, a bit overpriced. Plenty of choice.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rama Thai

Rama Thai
Ranked #66 of 371 Restaurants in Dundee
Price range: US$0 - US$39
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: excellent food Rama Thai
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Only average, a bit overpriced. Plenty of choice.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

Went to Rama Thai for a group meal just over a week ago. Very busy atmosphere was a bonus initially, sadly this was not the case when we realised the service would be very slow.
Staff were polite but seemed a bit flustered and unable to cope with a busy night, our drinks/dessert order was incorrect which took a long time to rectify.
The choice of food on order was wide but the dishes were not thrilling. As far as value for money goes, the quantities were very slim for the high prices.
This was the second time I have been to Rama, having been there just over a year ago. Sadly this time though I think I shall try elsewhere as it didn't do anything exceptional to win me back, so to speak.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrAngry2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    120
    44
    29
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“worest meal ever!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

well to start of we got in their at 2:00pm and by 2:25 we had already eaten our starter and main, they like to rush you outt.. then in the spring roll starter we found a big bit of plastic we told the waitor and he just laughed, then in the noodles main meal their was a masive black hair, and also in the jucie there was washing up liquid.. never going back!! had to pay the full meal and i asked if i was to be paying for the starter the watriose laughed!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank holly h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Yummy food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

i would recommend, nice restaurant, small portions but food is really nice and would visit again, excellet location if you are coming out of the train station in dundee as it is just across the road,

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Glitz1981Sparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“First Thai Restaurant for Years”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

We hadn't been to a Thai restaurant for years. My first two experiences in Edinburgh many years ago had tasted like Fairy Liquid.
This was recommended so thought we'd give it a try.
Very very good. Staff very friendly and the food was excellent, fragrant and very tasty.
Not a hint of washing up liquid in sight.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant! The Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

me and my family come here any time that we get an excuse to! We keep coming back because the food is absolotely amazing for vegetarians as well as not. the staff are really nice and efficient and there is a great atmosphere to the resteraunt.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rama Thai also viewed

 
Dundee, Scotland
 

Been to Rama Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing