We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home sweet home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilmarnock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Etruria Townhouse B&B
Ranked #1 of 8 Kilmarnock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Myself & my partner stayed at Etruria house for 3 nights last week & had fantastic stay.
The place is very clean, spacious, quiet & well-decorated with a personal touch. The owners Liz & Alan were very friendly, welcoming & made us feel at home. We had some dietary requests for breakfast that were served with plenty fresh fruits & Gluten free options. Everything we experienced was perfect - we thoroughly enjoyed it. We would recommend anyone staying in Glasgow or Kilmarnock area. The station is easy walk & there is a parking. We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pukki2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtruriaTownhouse, Owner at Etruria Townhouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Hello Pukki 2014. The dietary needs you mentioned is the very thing to keep me lively and breakfast interesting. We enjoyed having you stay and hope that when visiting your family next year you will return . We want to thank you for a wonderful review. Feel very honoured. Liz and Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

My partner and I stayed for four nights when visiting his family. This guest house is beautifully decorated, very unique with breath taking art deco. The whole house is stunning and Liz and Alan are very friendly, approachable and helpful owners. They made us feel very comfortable and by the time we were leaving it felt like we stayed at our old friend’s house. Every room in the house has different character, and a lovely touch to have little messages from Liz now and again. Breakfasts are just something else, it was a two course breakfast, every morning we would have a beautifully served selection of fresh fruit followed by cooked full English. I am a fussy eater but I managed to find a lot that I could eat and enjoyed fully and because Liz made sure there was a variety I looked forward each morning to find out what she will be surprising us with next! Words can’t really describe how wonderful, brilliant, beautiful and different than any other B&B this house is. I highly recommend to anybody, trust me you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: All rooms are stunning!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kate Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtruriaTownhouse, Owner at Etruria Townhouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Hello Kate Z. Thanks to you and your partner for a great review. I am glad that you managed to get a lot from the breakfast menu. You say you were a fussy eater - not at all. We just found the right things for you to eat. I hope the next time you are visiting family you will return to Etruria. Liz and Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

A draw-droppingly brilliant stay, for several reasons: my hosts were friendly and helpful but respected my privacy; they made a fantastic recommendation for dinner; the accommodation was brilliant - gorgeous room, comfy bed and excellent en suite bathroom; they provided the tastiest breakfast I've had in living memory; the house is breathtaking and I left feeling inspired, with several interior decoration ideas!

Beyond all this, Liz and Alan are fantastic hosts. For example I'm a runner; Liz suggested a lovely running route timed perfectly to the slot I had available for my morning sprint; I mentioned how work-frazzled I was, looking forward to a soak in the tub on my return from a busy day - and returned to find that Liz had lit all the candles in the bathroom, so it was ready for the ultimate relaxation session; the Wifi is extremely powerful and speedy; the gardens are lovely; they were flexible with my arrival time and helped me with parking; I forgot my toothbrush and got in touch to post it back to me...It's actually surprising how many examples of hospitality they managed to pack in to my one night's stay!

I'll definitely return to Liz and Alan's lovely home - thank you for a wonderful, restful experience. I hope to return and have already recommended Etruria Townhouse far and wide

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtruriaTownhouse, Owner at Etruria Townhouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Hello Lorraine S. We want to thank you for a wonderful review. You were a most refreshing guest. Having a run early in the morning and keeping yourself fit actually had a very positive effect on me especially. No I am not running but taking some time after feeding our guests to have the fruit at least. Keep Well and thanks once again. Liz and Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We spent 3 wonderful days and nights at Liz and Alan's lovely home. By the time we left we felt like family! This was a Genealogy visit with my 3 adult children. Burn's Monument Center, a genealogy information place, is nearby. While I was there my children went golfing. The rooms are so comfortable. I wish we could have stayed longer. Lovely cotton sheets and duvets--all hand ironed. A beautiful old fashioned room with a modern bath. In the evening we visited with Liz and Alan and had our scotch. They should write a book on how to run a B&B! Breakfast is outstanding! A different one each day. Liz makes perfect poached eggs. Carol, Laura, Mark and Rick--Florida, Massachusetts, Arizona and California.

Room Tip: There is no pool. I couldn't erase my mistake. All rooms are lovely and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mzhoney2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtruriaTownhouse, Owner at Etruria Townhouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear mzhoney2014. Thank you so much but we feel we were like family. Getting involved with your family history at Burns Monument in Kilmarnock and then the beautiful Fenwick Church was a wonderful experience. Alan still talks about that visit. We enjoyed the time we had in getting to know you and your children (real grown ups). We hope that you keep well and enjoy the hot weather back home. Thank you once again for the wonderful review. Alan and Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We have stayed for two nights and were made to feel very at home. Liz and Alan couldn't do more to help. All our needs were catered for. The decanters of drinks left for us, shows the standard of service we have been tested to. The welcoming hall and decor gave us a warm and interesting stay. We would very much recommend you try out this outstanding hospitality experience. Be prepared to be amazed.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glade1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtruriaTownhouse, Owner at Etruria Townhouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Glade 1, We want to thank you for the kindest words. We would be delighted when next in Kilmarnock that you come back. Perhaps a few more days as a well deserved break, the vintage port awaits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Alan and Liz are the perfect couple to operate a B&B. They catered to your needs and nothing was a bother to them. The B&B is beautiful and the rooms very comfortable, the decor was beautiful with all the extras in the room to make you feel right at home. The breakfast was wonderfully prepared with fresh fruit and dishes prepared for each guest. The location was excellent for a walk into town for dinner and shopping. Thank you for making our honeymoon special with flowers and the champagne.

Room Tip: We viewed all the rooms on the website, and they are just as amazing when you get there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honeymooners5314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtruriaTownhouse, Owner at Etruria Townhouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Hello Honeymooners 53 To think that guests would like to share their honeymoon at our guest house was a truly wonderful experience Alan and I hope that you have a healthy and happy life and should you wish to share any other anniversary in Scotland you will be so welcome and the champagne will be on the chill. Thank you for sharing your special occasion with us. Alan and Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

If you're looking for a B&B in the Kilmarnock area then look no further. This is a beautiful B&B with a very warm and homely feeling. it's well located for the town centre but still quiet and peaceful. Our bedroom had everything we needed with lots more besides. Liz and Alan were very welcoming and treated us like friends rather than paying guests. A superb breakfast topped off our stay. We couldn't have asked for more. Debbie & Jim, Glasgow.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebR7573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtruriaTownhouse, Owner at Etruria Townhouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear DebR7573, We want to thank you so much for your kind words and great review. We get great pleasure in looking after our guests and so when it is appreciated it means everything to us. Remember if you are ever back in the area to look us up. Alan and Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilmarnock
1.0 mi away
Foxbar Hotel
Foxbar Hotel
#4 of 4 in Kilmarnock
135 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kilmarnock
339 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Kilmarnock
Travelodge Kilmarnock
#3 of 4 in Kilmarnock
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Fenwick Hotel
The Fenwick Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fenwick
438 reviews
8.3 mi away
Burnhouse Manor Hotel
Burnhouse Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burnhouse
368 reviews
4.0 mi away
Kidron House Hotel
Kidron House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Irvine
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Etruria Townhouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Etruria Townhouse B&B

Address: 41 Portland Road, Kilmarnock KA1 2DJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > East Ayrshire > Kilmarnock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Kilmarnock
Price Range: £50 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Etruria Townhouse is a boutique bed and breakfast perfectly located in the centre of Kilmarnock, Ayrshire. Etruria is a beautiful historically-protected Victorian building, featuring four unique en-suite bedrooms with all modern amenities. Guests can enjoy a full complimentary breakfast and have access to a private guest lounge and walled garden. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Etruria Townhouse B&B Kilmarnock, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing