We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Historic well located castle - a Mums perspective!”
other travellers have booked this property
Craufurdland castle in Glorious sunshine.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Craufurdland castle in Glorious sunshine.
Craufurdland castle in a moody Ayrshire sunset. The manicured Back Lawn, as seen from The Bard's Room.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
76 reviews
Craufurdland castle in Glorious sunshine.
Craufurdland castle in a moody Ayrshire sunset.
The manicured Back Lawn, as seen from The Bard's Room.
Carpets of Scottish Blue Bells in the woods around The Castle.
Beautiful ancient architecture with the moon peeking through.
Craufurdland's  
amazing daffodils.
The 14th Centuary Norman vauled entrance to the Towerhouse.
Kitchen with lots of work-surface , 2 dishwashers, 2 ovens & 2 fridges to accommodate upto 16.
Dinning for 16 in baronial luxury.
Table set for a King
Our beautiful Georgian Drawing Room looking on to the Back Lawn and The Lush Ayrshire Countryside.
Enjoy a roaring wood fire with your loved ones in the elegant drawing room.
Great room for an old fashioned family gathering of board games.
Wallace Suite upper floor - enjoy the view through the stunning stained glass baronial windows.
Relax in the spacious upper floor and while away the hours reading a book in peace and quiet.
Wallace suite upper floor - Up the lace spiral stairs to either Superking or Twin beds.
Enjoy the intricate workmen-ship and the space in this grand room.
The mesmerising Lace Spiral Stairs leading to the upper floor in the Wallace suite.
What a view !!
The stunning stain glass window in the Wallace suite looking out on to the front lawn.
Chair fit for a Queen.
Enjoy the 'living' area of the Wallace Suite, need more beds - turn the sofas into large single beds
Loving the Lace Spiral stairs.
Wallace En- Suite. Shower over bath.
The King James room in the Original 14th Century Tower of Craufurdland Castle.
A quirky room in the Tower with the hidden toilet & sink and a fabulous “Sash window” dressing table
Relax in the bath & enjoy the beauty and tranquillity of our Countryside.
Enjoy the bath in the Bay Window and soak up the tranquillity that the estate has to offer.
The beds in the King James Superking or Twin.
The lantern lighting the passage way from the King James Room.
The Queen Mary Room with its beautiful antique double four poster bed.
Relax on the four poster with your favourite tipple and enjoy the views over the front lawn.
Enjoy the space and tranquility of this elegant room.
The en-suite with a walk in shower.
Bard's Room cements our relationship with 'The Bard', with the discovery the Epitaph 'Grizzle Grim.'
Enjoy the views of the back lawn and beyond, watching Craufurdland Water meander through the fields.
The beds for The Bards and his companion can be Superking or Twin.
Main Bathroom
Main Landing on the first floor.
The landing from Queen Mary room to the Drawing room.
Landing on the first floor heading down to the kitchen and dinning room.
The Knights Room in the original 14th Century Tower named after Sir Reginald & Sir William Craufurd.
Relax in Knights' Room and look out over the stunning Ayrshire countryside and enjoy the peace.
This room can be Superking for the Knight & his Lady or twin with large sofa bed for his companions.
The stone spiral stair case leading you up tp the the Garrtee within the Castelations of The Tower.
The Garrett - Make your way up the stone spiral staircase and enjoy the Castelations of the Tower.
This room is affectionately called  'The Harry Potter Room' by some of our guests.
The Garrett- Travel back in time and enjoy staying within the Castelations of the Tower.
The drive teasing you until you turn the corner to get a peak at the Castle.
The deer dancing and prancing on the front lawn.
The colourful flowers of spring and summer.
Be at one with Nature, explore the Woodlands on Craufurdland Estate.
Let the rivers energise you.
Craufurd Water one of the 2 rivers that borders the Estate
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Castle -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire, Ayrshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 76 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LucyGsMum...
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Historic well located castle - a Mums perspective!”
Reviewed 10 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed in the mezzanine suite in Craufurdland Castle. Our 19 month old daughter slept peacefully every night on the lower level whilst we enjoyed our views from the bed located on the upper level, located via a spiral staircase. With an ensure bathroom including a bath and overhead shower, we found our room quiet, spacious and comfortable. The cot for our daughter was loaned to us by the owners who couldn't have been more helpful. We borrowed a high chair, pushchair and cot with sheets. They had also left toys for her use. Very thoughtful and accommodating. As well as visiting many local towns and cities, we ventured to Edinburgh zoo which homes pandas amongst many species of animal. Again we borrowed the pushchair on loan and made all our travelling and packing so much easier without bringing these items from home. With a washing machine and dryer, any dirty clothes or bedding was turned around in the day so we didn't bring any dirty washing home.....quite amazing with a 19 month old! There were also child bowls and plates so everything was thought of.
Very quick communication with the owners via email prior to our trip which meant all our queries were answered regarding everything mentioned above. Being a coeliac, can also recommend the Cragie Inn as a place to dine.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wins0me
Peak District, Derbyshire
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Atmospheric, historic, authentic. The real deal.”
Reviewed 5 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012
5
people found this review helpful

We stayed here with ten family and friends (and a toddler) and enjoyed the experience very much. This is real castle with a long and fascinating history run by the Laird and his wife. The rental is called 'The Tower House' and is so called because it is the oldest bit of the Castle. The living accommodation is in the original tower with a stone spiral staircase and battlements. It is thought to date back to the 14th Century or even earlier. The Tower House is a work in progress and it is currently being improved sympathetically. The owners are working hard to showcase its history whilst updating its modern comforts. And this is real challenge with a building as old as this, so expect some of these improvements to be quirky. The Queen Mary room which has been recently finished to a high standard is very lovely with its vaulted ceiling, four poster bed and modern ensuite bathroom. The William Wallace mezzanine suite offers spectacular views through original stained glass windows over the lawn and beyond. Staying here felt like a privilege and we loved the richly decorated hallways and light and spacious drawing room. Paintings of Craufurdland's ancestors are on every wall and it would have been good to have a bit more information on who they were. We also enjoyed the grounds, with its tranquil fishing lake and pair of tombstones which lie mysteriously in the woods.One of the best things is that this wonderful castle is so well located that it is easy to get to places like Glasgow, Troon, Largs, The Burns museum and birthplace. We also went to the stunning isle of Arran via the ferry. There is lots to do both in and around the castle and in Ayrshire.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy B
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic place, wonderful people”
Reviewed 8 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012
22
people found this review helpful

The worst thing about our stay at Craufurdland Castle was that we only had one night there. We thoroughly enjoyed our time there. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the castle and all of the surroundings were fantastic, but the icing on the cake was the owners. They were so very accommodating and made us feel very welcome.
Breakfast was very good and plentiful.
I really hope we can make it back there one day

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Business
Travelling group: Business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna C
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fabulous castle...we loved our stay”
Reviewed 4 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012
14
people found this review helpful

We recently stayed 5 nights at the Craufurdland Castle as part of a wedding party. The accommodation and whole experience was fantastic. A true castle but with modern facilities and great accommodation. The kitchen is fantastic, equip with all the appliances and tools you could want. The owners and hosts have done an amazing job with recent renovations and they couldn't be more welcoming and happy to assist. We traveled with our 11 month old daughter and they were happy to lend a highchair and some of the daughters toys. My husband loved his try at fly fishing at the fishery on the estate. If you are looking for great value accommodation with character and history this is your place.

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertand...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful castle and great hosts”
Reviewed 29 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012
17
people found this review helpful

We stayed 5 nights at the castle with a group of family and friends, and it was also the venue of our wedding during this period. We are really happy we chose this venue and we had a wonderful time. The owners are really nice people and helped arrange catering and wedding furniture hire, and made sure everyone was well looked after. They did lots of extra little things like giving wedding guests a castle tour. The castle itself is really amazing and the grounds are just as beautiful. We had a go at flyfishing on the castle grounds which was also great value.

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard R
den bosch
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great place to stay with friends and family”
Reviewed 18 April 2012 for a stay in February 2012
12
people found this review helpful

One of the stops on our trip to Schotland in february 2012 was Craufurdland Castle. We experienced a warm welcome by the lord of the castle and his wife and had a great time celebrating a birthday with a group of friends.

If you want to experience a real scottish castle and all the things that go with that (history, atmosphere, all kinds of different rooms, family pictures) then this one is worth your visit.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMM1968
RIVERVIEW, FL
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“loved it--a real castle”
Reviewed 9 October 2011 for a stay in August 2011
13
people found this review helpful

Stayed 8/27/11. It was a little hard locating this castle! I had booked a tour with Serenity Scotland and Iain said this was really hard to find and he has a GPS! I was appreciative of its age--showed alot of charm! The front facade is newer but I truly enjoyed the experience. I had booked the mezzanine room but due to damage to the roof over that area, I stayed in the King's room which was lovely. The best room in the house to me was the library. Sandra, the innkeeper, lit the fire for me and I ate my dinner (brought something prepared from a grocery store) in front of the fire. The old books were fantasic though I wish they were in better shape as the oldest was from the 1500's! Just holding it and carefully leafing through it was great! There was no one else in the castle except me and SAndra so I spent the entire evening in the library and read and she was respective of my alone time. Remember that there wasn't insulation installed when the castle was built so indeed, it was quite chilly but I just enjoyed the ambiance. Thanks for making this experience a reality!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing