We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Highly recomend this for any special occasions or...”
other travellers have booked this property
Craufurdland castle in a moody Ayrshire sunset.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Craufurdland castle in a moody Ayrshire sunset.
Craufurdland castle in Glorious sunshine. The manicured Back Lawn, as seen from The Bard's Room.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
Craufurdland castle in a moody Ayrshire sunset.
Craufurdland castle in Glorious sunshine.
The manicured Back Lawn, as seen from The Bard's Room.
Carpets of Scottish Blue Bells in the woods around The Castle.
Beautiful ancient architecture with the moon peeking through.
Craufurdland's  
amazing daffodils.
The 14th Centuary Norman vauled entrance to the Towerhouse.
Kitchen with lots of work-surface , 2 dishwashers, 2 ovens & 2 fridges to accommodate upto 16.
Dinning for 16 in baronial luxury.
Table set for a King
Our beautiful Georgian Drawing Room looking on to the Back Lawn and The Lush Ayrshire Countryside.
Enjoy a roaring wood fire with your loved ones in the elegant drawing room.
Great room for an old fashioned family gathering of board games.
Wallace Suite upper floor - enjoy the view through the stunning stained glass baronial windows.
Relax in the spacious upper floor and while away the hours reading a book in peace and quiet.
Wallace suite upper floor - Up the lace spiral stairs to either Superking or Twin beds.
Enjoy the intricate workmen-ship and the space in this grand room.
The mesmerising Lace Spiral Stairs leading to the upper floor in the Wallace suite.
What a view !!
The stunning stain glass window in the Wallace suite looking out on to the front lawn.
Chair fit for a Queen.
Enjoy the "living" area of the Wallace Suite, need more beds - turn the sofas into large single beds
Loving the Lace Spiral stairs.
Wallace En- Suite. Shower over bath.
The King James room in the Original 14th Century Tower of Craufurdland Castle.
A quirky room in the Tower with the hidden toilet & sink and a fabulous “Sash window” dressing table
Relax in the bath & enjoy the beauty and tranquillity of our Countryside.
Enjoy the bath in the Bay Window and soak up the tranquillity that the estate has to offer.
The beds in the King James Superking or Twin.
The lantern lighting the passage way from the King James Room.
The Queen Mary Room with its beautiful antique double four poster bed.
Relax on the four poster with your favourite tipple and enjoy the views over the front lawn.
Enjoy the space and tranquility of this elegant room.
The en-suite with a walk in shower.
Bard's Room cements our relationship with "The Bard", with the discovery the Epitaph "Grizzle Grim."
Enjoy the views of the back lawn and beyond, watching Craufurdland Water meander through the fields.
The beds for The Bards and his companion can be Superking or Twin.
Main Bathroom
Main Landing on the first floor.
The landing from Queen Mary room to the Drawing room.
Landing on the first floor heading down to the kitchen and dinning room.
The Knights Room in the original 14th Century Tower named after Sir Reginald & Sir William Craufurd.
Relax in Knights' Room and look out over the stunning Ayrshire countryside and enjoy the peace.
This room can be Superking for the Knight & his Lady or twin with large sofa bed for his companions.
The stone spiral stair case leading you up tp the the Garrtee within the Castelations of The Tower.
The Garrett - Make your way up the stone spiral staircase and enjoy the Castelations of the Tower.
This room is affectionately called  "The Harry Potter Room" by some of our guests.
The Garrett- Travel back in time and enjoy staying within the Castelations of the Tower.
The drive teasing you until you turn the corner to get a peak at the Castle.
The deer dancing and prancing on the front lawn.
The colourful flowers of spring and summer.
Be at one with Nature, explore the Woodlands on Craufurdland Estate.
Let the rivers energise you.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Castle -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire, Ayrshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crissie O
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recomend this for any special occasions or just a getaway hol.”
Reviewed 22 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We have just reuturned from Craufurdland Castle having spent a week there with friends (16 of us aged 8 to 50). Simon, Adity and their children were brilliant. Simons tour of the castle, including part of their own quarters, brought the place to life and made us appreciate that not only were we in a beautiful setting but also we were sharing the Craufurds home and history. We played sardines, absolutely brilliant, lit the fire and relaxed. There are plenty of places to eat near the castle if you dont want to cook, the chinese delivers! and the Ayreshire Outside Caterers did us proud for our celebration night. The castle was very easy to find, travelling in the area was good and there are lots of places to visit. We hope to return in the future. Thank you SImon Adity and girls.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcome from the family and castle
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike D
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 16 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Celebrating a good friend's 50 th...can't imagine a better place to do it. Space, scenery and incredible history. A welcoming feel with genuine credentials. I even had a go at fly fishing!
Thank you Adity, Simon and Alex.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia L
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Magical Family Retreat”
Reviewed 31 January 2014 for a stay in September 2013
4
people found this review helpful

A truly remarkable part of the world in a scenic location straight out of 'The Hound of The Baskervilles'.

The family that owned the castle were always at hand when ever needed and were fantastic with our son who was a couple of months old. Nothing was a problem for them, they even gave us a guided tour of the house, extensive grounds and the depths of the family history, as well as letting us borrow their buggy as we couldn't get our up to Scotland from Cardiff.

The kitchen facilities were impeccable.

The grounds themselves managed to be remote yet also close enough to shop like Tesco and even Kilmarnock centre to walk to.

We took a day out to both Glasgow and Edinburgh which were easily reachable from Kilmarnock station.

Wellies and umbrellas are provided in all shapes and sizes, amongst many other things such as torches to explore or night time strolls. It's these little touches that gave our stay a truly homely feel, and made us feel like 'The Laird of the Manor' so to speak.

Fully recommended. Why leave Britain?

Julia, Rhys & Lloyd

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin R
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Best Christmas Ever!”
Reviewed 31 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
7
people found this review helpful

We had anticipated this trip for nearly a year and our expectations were not only met but exceeded. From Adity's warm welcome at the beginning of the holiday and Simon's historic tour of the castle at the end, our hosts could not have been more welcoming and helpful.
When I say warm welcome I mean warm. We had envisaged a cold windy castle but not a bit of it. It was so warm, in fact, that we had to turn the heating down. There was an unlimited amount of logs to place of the beautiful fire in the drawing room which made for an atmospheric Christmas morning opening presents.
Each bedroom was beautifully appointed with everything you could wish for.
There were 12 of us in our party from 2 years to 83 years, there was so much space that we were not triping over each other.
Simon and Adity have only been running this for two years so any negative reviews here are either before they took over or another place entirely and the reviewer is mistaken.
A great place and FANTASTIC value.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Libbz44
Stornoway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Incredible setting for pre-Christmas get together”
Reviewed 29 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

Booking the Castle through Scots Castles Holidays was easy, clear and very cost effective for a large group. When we arrived at the castle it exceeded our expectations. It mixed history and grandeur with a warm welcome and comfort that made a special weekend despite the weather! The owners put themselves out to make us more than comfortable and warm. A magical place, set in beautiful grounds.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The drwaing room & grounds
Liked least: The WIFI was not reliable. But this was not a major issue for us.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs_Doyle...
East Renfrewshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Castle Weekend”
Reviewed 17 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We have just spent a fantastic 2 days at this gorgeous Castle. A workmates r&r break and a few surprises too! The accommodation is very comfortable and each room is individual. They all have their own story to tell. The facilities were top class and the Laird and family made us very welcome. Everything you could want for a fun filled weekend. Ideal venue for family gathering or small intimate wedding. We will definitely be back and highly recommend Craufurland Castle.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley M
1 review
“Fabulous venue for a special occasion”
Reviewed 10 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Last weekend I stayed at Craufurdland Castle with my family and close friends to celebrate my 50th birthday (there were16 of us in the 6 bedroom Tower House). It was fabulous. From arrival to departure everything was perfect. The house was equipped to cater to all our needs. The kitchen equipment accommodated 16+ which was great for our overnight guests, and not having to bring towels etc. was a bonus. Tea bags, coffee and complimentary wine and chocolates were gratefully received after a long journey. The castle bedrooms were all different and were carefully chosen to accommodate our guests individual needs. Having extra guests join us on the Saturday night also caused no problem as cupboards in the dining room provided us with more than enough crockery and glassware. The drawing room provided a place for everyone to gather over a roaring fire and 35 of us had the most wonderful night ever catching up over wine and coffee.
Our weekend created memories in such a wonderful historical castle with great hosts. Adity and Simon were on hand at all times and the castle tour that Simon gave us on the Friday was a delight for all who took it. Everyone including Max the dog can honestly say it was wonderful...fantastic venue, fantastic hosts, fantastic memories......

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2013
Thanks for your review. It was a real pleasure and honour to help you celebrate you birthday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$362
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing