We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Most magical stay!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Craufurdland castle in Glorious sunshine.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Craufurdland castle in Glorious sunshine.
Craufurdland castle in a moody Ayrshire sunset. The manicured Back Lawn, as seen from The Bard's Room.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
76 reviews
Craufurdland castle in Glorious sunshine.
Craufurdland castle in a moody Ayrshire sunset.
The manicured Back Lawn, as seen from The Bard's Room.
Carpets of Scottish Blue Bells in the woods around The Castle.
Beautiful ancient architecture with the moon peeking through.
Craufurdland's  
amazing daffodils.
The 14th Centuary Norman vauled entrance to the Towerhouse.
Kitchen with lots of work-surface , 2 dishwashers, 2 ovens & 2 fridges to accommodate upto 16.
Dinning for 16 in baronial luxury.
Table set for a King
Our beautiful Georgian Drawing Room looking on to the Back Lawn and The Lush Ayrshire Countryside.
Enjoy a roaring wood fire with your loved ones in the elegant drawing room.
Great room for an old fashioned family gathering of board games.
Wallace Suite upper floor - enjoy the view through the stunning stained glass baronial windows.
Relax in the spacious upper floor and while away the hours reading a book in peace and quiet.
Wallace suite upper floor - Up the lace spiral stairs to either Superking or Twin beds.
Enjoy the intricate workmen-ship and the space in this grand room.
The mesmerising Lace Spiral Stairs leading to the upper floor in the Wallace suite.
What a view !!
The stunning stain glass window in the Wallace suite looking out on to the front lawn.
Chair fit for a Queen.
Enjoy the 'living' area of the Wallace Suite, need more beds - turn the sofas into large single beds
Loving the Lace Spiral stairs.
Wallace En- Suite. Shower over bath.
The King James room in the Original 14th Century Tower of Craufurdland Castle.
A quirky room in the Tower with the hidden toilet & sink and a fabulous “Sash window” dressing table
Relax in the bath & enjoy the beauty and tranquillity of our Countryside.
Enjoy the bath in the Bay Window and soak up the tranquillity that the estate has to offer.
The beds in the King James Superking or Twin.
The lantern lighting the passage way from the King James Room.
The Queen Mary Room with its beautiful antique double four poster bed.
Relax on the four poster with your favourite tipple and enjoy the views over the front lawn.
Enjoy the space and tranquility of this elegant room.
The en-suite with a walk in shower.
Bard's Room cements our relationship with 'The Bard', with the discovery the Epitaph 'Grizzle Grim.'
Enjoy the views of the back lawn and beyond, watching Craufurdland Water meander through the fields.
The beds for The Bards and his companion can be Superking or Twin.
Main Bathroom
Main Landing on the first floor.
The landing from Queen Mary room to the Drawing room.
Landing on the first floor heading down to the kitchen and dinning room.
The Knights Room in the original 14th Century Tower named after Sir Reginald & Sir William Craufurd.
Relax in Knights' Room and look out over the stunning Ayrshire countryside and enjoy the peace.
This room can be Superking for the Knight & his Lady or twin with large sofa bed for his companions.
The stone spiral stair case leading you up tp the the Garrtee within the Castelations of The Tower.
The Garrett - Make your way up the stone spiral staircase and enjoy the Castelations of the Tower.
This room is affectionately called  'The Harry Potter Room' by some of our guests.
The Garrett- Travel back in time and enjoy staying within the Castelations of the Tower.
The drive teasing you until you turn the corner to get a peak at the Castle.
The deer dancing and prancing on the front lawn.
The colourful flowers of spring and summer.
Be at one with Nature, explore the Woodlands on Craufurdland Estate.
Let the rivers energise you.
Craufurd Water one of the 2 rivers that borders the Estate
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Castle -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire, Ayrshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 76 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lena S
1 review
“Most magical stay!!”
Reviewed 19 August 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We spent a week at this wonderful location to get married in Scotland. We flew in with family and friends and could not have asked for more. Craufurdland Castle is a magical place to spend some time with a group of people.
During the booking process, Adity had always been very helpful and had responded very fast to our Emails. Whenever we had a special request she tried making it possible!
The place itself was fully equipped to host 16 people. There was enough of everything, starting with 2 coffee machines to provide everybody with coffee in the morning to enough pots and pans to make dinner. There was absolutely nothing missing.
The drawing room was the most precious room with comfortable couches, a huge fireplace and a great atmosphere, just as if you were taken back in time. The bedrooms each had their own unique furniture and they all had a different look and were all wonderful. Even the roof could be accessed to have a fantastic view over the grounds. The castle is big enough to have time for yourself and has many great spots where you can hang out with others.
So if you are looking for a unique and magical week to spend with loved ones, this is the place!
Our guest have already requested we make it an annual trip :)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Dec 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We try as much as possible to make your stay an easy and memorable one.We are really pleased you had such a good time, (though the roof is officially out of bounds).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Aug 2017
Really pleased you guys had a great stay. We try our best to help our guests make everlasting memories.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ZRhodes
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Indescribably wonderful”
Reviewed 7 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Far too hard to do Craufurdland justice in a short review. Amazing, characterful, comfortable rooms, personal access to fascinating family history and artefacts, charmingly beautiful castle and grounds that feel like they really belong to you, unbelievably welcoming interesting hosts. You won't regret booking a stay here. We will definitely be back. Thank you so much to Simon, Adity, Indra and Manisha from Zaila, John, Freddie & Arthur x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2017
Thanks for the lovely review, really pleased you had a lovely stay. WE try our best to ensure that the Castle is your home for your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gh0sted
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay”
Reviewed 6 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Craufurdland Castle has a rich and unbroken family history stretching back centuries and is hosted by the current Crawfords: Simon and Adity. They were always on hand but never intrusive and made us feel very welcome during our short stay. We were made to feel genuinely welcome and that the castle was our home for the few days we were there.

The castle is close to a few sights; Culzean Castle being a highlight, but there are miles of walks to be had on your immediate doorstop.

We would definitely recommend Craufurdland and make sure you get the tour from Simon and Adity as they know a huge amount about the castle's history, which is fascinating.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2017
So pleased you had a great stay. We loved having you as our neighbours.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donaldped...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“An amazing weekend for our family party of 14 - Wonderful memories to treasure.”
Reviewed 19 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We needed a special venue to celebrate my wife's 70th birthday. over a long weekend (three nights). Our immediate family attended - 3 daughters & spouses plus 6 grandchildren, aged 16 to 6, plus Dougal, the dog. The accommodation was excellent, just what we needed, and the children were thrilled with the historical setting, to say nothing for the parents. We had long walks in the grounds, walked on Troon beach for hours in sunshine. We ate out on the Saturday night in Stewarton (the Mill House, which I would recommend). Everything about the weekend was just right, and Adity's tour of the house was an added and unexpected bonus. I could have spent all weekend in the Library.

An added personal bonus arose quite out of the blue - Adity's father and I were colleagues in the same business 40 years ago. what a small world.

I have nothing but praise for Simon & Adity in their commitment to restoration and development of Craufurdland. Our family with them well.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2017
Dear Donald.
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am so pleased our home helped to make lasting memories for the whole family. This is exactly what we aim for- a place of family gathering and making everlasting memories.
My dad was really disappointed that he missed you.
Life is full of surprises maybe another chance meeting.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottieCa...
Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“WHAT A JOY”
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Can't say enough about the fun we had at this place.
I had family come and stay, some just came for dinner. This place is fantastic and is on a hundred acres. I regret not fishing in the wonderful trout pond that was available. I have a niece who has five kids, the fourteen year old said to me that was the first time he's had a bedroom to himself. This place has six bedrooms' seats sixteen for dinner, has two ovens, two dishwashers, two coffee makers, two toasters and tons of beautiful cutlery. We went for a walk in the woods and got lost, the youngest who was twelve, suddenly said this a great adventure, and you know what, it was an adventure.
I just got an E-mail from the family asking me when I am staying here again. This might happen, but I hate flying.
I will say, it brought us all closer together.
I almost rented two suites at the Glasgow Hilton, what a mistake that would have been. Nobody would have remembered a hotel room, but they will all remember CRAUFURLAND CASTLE

THANK YOU ADITY AND SYMON

By the way loved your dogs

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Nov 2016
Thank you so much for this lovely review. I am so glad we are part of bringing your family closer together and creating such wonderful memories and adventures. I have to say you were all wonderful guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shauno67
Leyland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Simply amazing”
Reviewed 24 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed here for a week with 8 adults and 6 children. When you first come up the drive and see the castle you just say WOW. The bedrooms where all very spacious as was the living room and kitchen. Everything you need is provided just bring some food and drink and you are sorted . The local pub the Kings Arms is a short drive away and serves really good pub grub,we ate there twice and it was really nice. We also found Tikkaway on Just Eat which delivers to the castle for an extra £1.50 which we couldn't fault either. Some lovely walks around the grounds spotting wild deer is a must.Troon has a really nice beach for the kids and in all a really enjoyable stay and would highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2016
Thanks for your lovely review, I am really glad you had a good time whilst you were here, we like to think we are a hidden but accessible gem in Ayrshire 5 minutes away from the Motorway making the likes of Troon and Glasgow very accesssible.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing