We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Reccomend the Restaurant!”
Review of Foxbar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Foxbar Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kilmarnock
CumnockEastAyrshireScotland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Highly Reccomend the Restaurant!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Had our first carvery dinner on Sunday (for Father's day), I went along with my daughter, husband and father in law.
To say the food was plenty was an understatement, all you could eat for a fiver and boy was it very tasty. The staff were very friendly and attendful and nothing was too much trouble for them. My husband and father in law had the 3 courses where as my daughter and myself had only two courses, the mains and the pudding, (what a fab selection of puddings), complete with drinks, I was amazed at the bill when I got it, I will definite be making reservations for future visits, I just want to thank all of the staff for their lovely welcome and to wish the new owners the very best of luck for their future,

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieKennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    34
    22
    15
    21
See reviews for
31
31
9
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We are four ladies in kilmarnock who love to dine out, we tried the foxbar today and it was a treat, great service,great food,and a cheeky chef with good banter we will be back. We were quite surprised that it hasnt been advertised locally or we would have been there sooner. Well done to the new owners what a transformation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Senga M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Visited a couple of Sundays ago for evening meal . Due to new owner we thought we would give the food a try . We were the only food customers for a while and service was fine . My seafood gratin was good and everybody else enjoyed their mains after an initial hic-up . Desserts were good as well .
Nothing was outstanding but due to the recent change I will give it another try . It is now a Carvery on a Sunday and a great deal so may visit this week and update !!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank baggiokfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Always out and about looking for a good bite to eat after a hard weeks work! And through word of mouth heard there has been a new chef at the foxbar!! So decided to take the plunge!! To sum up foodwas fantastic ! A must try! Well done! A good change!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Craig8597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

I arrived on a quiet sunny and warm Sunday afternoon. No other cars in the car park adjacent to the front of the hotel bar. Bit concerning when I found the reception locked, but this was only because the staff were busy & security conscious.
Very friendly and quickly booked in.
Bedroom was surprisingly large , big kingsize bed and heating had been switched on for me prior to my arrival. Room clean. There was no bath, just a shower but that suits me fine.
Had evening mesl in the bistro. Staff again were very pleasant, particularly Jill the barmaid who didn't fuss but was attentive. I had home made lentil soup (delicious) and a tasty chicken curry with the best hand cut chips I have tasted for years. Just like my auntie's!! Couldn't find room for a sweet. Must go back!
Feeling that if I lived in Kilmarnock, this would be my local.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

The reviews I had read worried me slightly, but It was close to where I wanted to be, so I thought I would give it a go.

SURPRISE!!!!

The check in was very quick and easy with a friendly receptionist. (The reception is open 24 hours) Up to my room, and again SURPRISE, a nice large double room, en-suite, newly decorated, new carpet, modern bathroom, with extremely large shower, tea and coffee making facilities. Everything about my room was new, including the telephone.

On, my first morning, down for breakfast, a very friendly waitress to serve me, cereal, juice, coffee, toast and my full Scottish breakfast was there in a flash. No waiting. No complaints.

The whole of the hotel that I saw had been refurbished to a excellent standard.

The bar and bistro was all newly refurbed and clean, maybe the bar was just a bit too modern, it had a cafe feel to it, but having said that it was called a bistro and not a bar.

Old reviews mention loud music, the bar of old must have gone, I'm basically above the bar, and I cannot hear anything, maybe because they DON'T have music.

Kilmarnock, is a bit cold at the moment, but inside, my room is nice and warm.

I don't think people should take note of old reviews, as in my eyes, this is a value for money hotel, and personally I would stay here again.

Of course there has to be one gripe, the wifi, it's certainly is poor, and I was told my room was, the best room to get a siginal, glad I brought my dongle. Phone signal is is a full 5 on o2.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DaveHTAFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turnberry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I booked a night as a bit of stress relief for myself and my partner. The fact the room had no window only added to the cosiness. We chose to eat in the hotel and the food was fresh, well presented, great sized portions and tasty too (not often you find all that in the one meal!). Staff were friendly and polite and happy to help with any request we had. Breakfast took a wee while to be served but was definitely worth the wait. Great food, great value for money and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caity_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilmarnock
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Kilmarnock
Travelodge Kilmarnock
#3 of 4 in Kilmarnock
121 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kilmarnock
314 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Fenwick Hotel
The Fenwick Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fenwick
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
8.4 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,057 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Fairburn Hotel
The Fairburn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mauchline
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foxbar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foxbar Hotel

Property: Foxbar Hotel
Address: 62 London Road, Kilmarnock KA3 7DD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > East Ayrshire > Kilmarnock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kilmarnock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Foxbar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Foxbar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foxbar Hotel Kilmarnock, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing