We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Stables

The Stables
Reserve with OpenTable
The Stables is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, View, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Embracing the rural charm of its tranquil, scenic setting, The Stables offers a modern twist on traditional country pub dining. As well as offering a beer garden for enjoying summertime dining, the cosy dining room is filled with rustic original features and toasty fires for warming winter dining. Championing favourite British recipes, guests can enjoy evenings devoted to the inn's freshly-baked pies, as well as gourmet roast dinners and seasonal cocktail mixes.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

This has been my 3rd time to The Stables and as always the staff were very helpful and the food was fantastic. Its a great place to enjoy a summers night by the canal. I'll definitely be back :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank anjamurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    91
    62
    39
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice pleasant evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Went for a meal with my wife and daughter and I must say I was
not disappointed. Although they were sold out of the wild boar burger which
I was looking forward to the gammon steak I got instead was delicious. Both my wife
and daughter enjoyed their meals and when finished we sat outside which was overlooking the
Forth and Clyde canal. It was really nice watching the ducks and the other wild life while having
a few beers.

On the whole a perfectly pleasant evening and the ever helpful staff made me have no doubts on
returning.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JimmyKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow Scotland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad menu”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

No seafood no good selection at all used to be a great menu now awful. Won't be back until menu is changed and they learn how to serve and collect dirty dishes and glasses !!!!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank audzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“The only positive is the location. ”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Saturday night out and we were looking for a fair meal at a sensible price...nothing special.
The Stables takes nothing special to the limit. The restaurant is as one reviewer said...like the interior of a nursing home, which is a bit unfair on nursing homes because they are normally cleaner.
The food is overpriced, probably pre-prepared and overcooked. My calamari was almost inedible and tasted like a collection of rubber bands in a burnt batter. The main was lamb served on the bone. Bone being the main part of the dish. Perhaps they are trying to attract a clientèle of dog owners.
The accompanying mashed potato did however look fresh and was the highlight of the meal.
My partners fish and chips were fresh out of the freezer and could not be described as "catch of the day" or perhaps it was several months ago, and the mushy peas would be better described as runny peas.
I genuinely feel sorry for the staff who have to work in this place.
As part of a major restaurant chain it's sad to see that there has been no response to any of the negative comments left on Trip Adviser. This should tell you that Vintage Inn's don't care what their customers think and only want your money.
Will we return...never.

Helpful?
1 Thank scotmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,118 reviews
508 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,402 helpful votes
“On the canal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Nice location on the Clyde canal. If weather good, nice outdoor seating looking over canal. Good sized car park. Inside, there is lots of dining tables in various separate sections. Nice friendly service and quite a varied menu. Children friendly and suitable for those with accessibity issues.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Stables also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire
 
Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire
Cumbernauld, North Lanarkshire
 
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to The Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing