We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well done the Stables”
Review of The Stables

The Stables
Reserve with OpenTable
The Stables is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, View, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Embracing the rural charm of its tranquil, scenic setting, The Stables offers a modern twist on traditional country pub dining. As well as offering a beer garden for enjoying summertime dining, the cosy dining room is filled with rustic original features and toasty fires for warming winter dining. Championing favourite British recipes, guests can enjoy evenings devoted to the inn's freshly-baked pies, as well as gourmet roast dinners and seasonal cocktail mixes.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Well done the Stables”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We visited The Stables after the Tickled Trout as the are owned by the same Vintage group.

Once again we had a very good meal but with the restricted Steak Menu that we experienced at The Tickled Trout.

The Staff were very friendly and our meals were ready in a reasonable time.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    93
    64
    40
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kirkintilloch, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“for all who don't have life”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Visit stables once a month for meal with friends or just coffee every single time staff make me feel like is my second home and I agree sometimes is very busy and no enough hands to work but never I feel like they not give 100 % if there is any issues with meal is enough to just ask one off member and they will do everything to make you visit special. To the point fed up reading those reviews of people ho complain about everything not respect another human bean specially this one abought Nursing home one day you will be OLD as well. That is like they should band old people from the restaurant to make you feel better good advice stay in the house safe everyone your miserable life I could go on and on abought that all unreal comments but hope next time before anyone right any nasty comment will stop and GO GET A LIFE .
THANK YOU ALL STAFF IN STABLES FOR BEING FOR US AND DO WHAT THEY DO THE BEST

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This has been my 3rd time to The Stables and as always the staff were very helpful and the food was fantastic. Its a great place to enjoy a summers night by the canal. I'll definitely be back :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank anjamurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice pleasant evening”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Went for a meal with my wife and daughter and I must say I was
not disappointed. Although they were sold out of the wild boar burger which
I was looking forward to the gammon steak I got instead was delicious. Both my wife
and daughter enjoyed their meals and when finished we sat outside which was overlooking the
Forth and Clyde canal. It was really nice watching the ducks and the other wild life while having
a few beers.

On the whole a perfectly pleasant evening and the ever helpful staff made me have no doubts on
returning.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JimmyKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow Scotland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad menu”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

No seafood no good selection at all used to be a great menu now awful. Won't be back until menu is changed and they learn how to serve and collect dirty dishes and glasses !!!!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank audzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Stables also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire
 
Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire
Cumbernauld, North Lanarkshire
 

Been to The Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing