We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really good food, small issue with the service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nonna's Kitchen

Nonna's Kitchen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
46 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Really good food, small issue with the service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Popped in with the family as part of a group booking of 18 and found the restaurant to be very nice, clean and comfortable. The food very good and the set menu offers particularly good value - I had the sirloin which was cooked to perfection and the pasta dishes ordered by other in our party were freshly prepared and flavoursome. Good selection of drinks available too and generally the menu is reasonably priced. We had an issue with service was there was only one girl attending to our group and she perfomed valiantly (indeed the waiting staff are very polite and courteous) and service was improved with more staff helping out after the issue was mentioned to management. Facilities are clean and there is parking available locally too. The restaurant is child friendly and has a childrens menu which was varied and also offered good value. We will certainly return next time we are through in that part of the country next.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DuncanStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    106
    59
    29
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Customer service?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We went to Nonna's on the spur of the moment tonight ( Monday) we were shown to the table nearest the door to the terrace. This is the farthest away table and lacks atmosphere so we asked to move closer to the centre. "No" these tables are for people who have booked. ( we visited once before and were seated at that table even though we had booked, so that is not a plausible excuse.) A really terrible attitude. So we left and went across to Marianas where we have had excellent food, great service and no issues. Sorry "No" nnas- never again. I'm really unhappy and you get one star as I cannot leave a rating of zero

Helpful?
5 Thank DavidElizabeth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just What Kirkintilloch Needed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Kirkintilloch has for a long time needed an alternative restaurant to the (very good) Indian restaurants established here and the wait was well worth it. Nonna's Kitchen is not only perfectly situated on Cowgate / Forth & Clyde Canal, it has the perfect balance of menu and non-city centre prices, not to mention the decor to be expected of a quality establishment. The staff are excellent, friendly and good with kids. Family friendly and a great place for lunch / dinner any day of the week.

Helpful?
1 Thank JDF71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverkip
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great find !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

My husband and I had just walked from Bishopbriggs to Kirkintilloch, along the canal, and were looking for a snack lunch. Nonna's Kitchen caught our eye because of it's location on the canal. Ok, they didn't actually have a snack menu as such, but we both had the Tuna Nicoise salad which was absolutely delicious! The warm tuna steak was really lovely with the rest of the salad. We really enjoyed our visit to this lovely restaurant. Friendly staff, lovely position, beautiful toilets and delicious food!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Irene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yummy food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Food was amazing, I had the seabass & it just melted in my mouth. Service was good & never felt we had to rush out for the next table. Definately be back & definately recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank susan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nonna's Kitchen also viewed

Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire
Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire
 
Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire
Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire
 

Been to Nonna's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing