We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, service and presentation could do with improvement” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Compass Leith

The Compass Leith
Ranked #360 of 2,437 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$22
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good food, service and presentation could do with improvement”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

I was here for brunch in a group of 4 on a Saturday around midday.When we arrived it was pretty empty however there were a few tables that had been reserved. After choosing our table we had to ask for our drinks order to be taken - same with food - we were constantly trying to get the waitress' attention. It wasn't her fault - she seemed to be the only one on the floor for the first half hour or more and was struggling with the number of tables she had to manage. The food took quite a while to come and the dishes arrived at different times - the bread for the soup didn't arrive until the soup was nearly finished! The food itself was pretty good but the presentation could be improved - the eggs benedict could have done with more bacon and a salad dressing or a few leaves on top. Seemed to be good for families with young children

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HonestReview86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    86
    36
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Level Contributor
149 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Decent enough food and nice staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

My wife and i ate here yesterday, we have been in a few times in the past so thought we would try it again. I was hungover badly so needed some decent food to help me. I was a little disappointed as the chips were not fully cooked properly, still edible enough but could have done with a bit more time cooking them, did not say anything as i was rough and needed food so just got on with it. My wife got the fish cakes which she said was lovely.

I have to say every time we have been in here it the staff and service has always been faultless, friendly staff is always a bonus anywhere.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank McPherson9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
1 review
“Always pleased”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Go to compass often

The meals are always good quality And fresh tasting. The steak pie is my favourite as is the fish cakes. You can tell they are home mAde

The kitchen is so small the chefs must work so hard

Service is friendly and fast. Never rush you out after your meal either.

Helpful?
Thank Caroline2244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestonpans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Awkward service and disappointing lunch”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Here for a quick lunch with a few colleagues from the office. For menus we were handed pieces of crumpled paper! First impressions do count these days! The menu was rather limited and I settled for the safe choice of fish and chips.

i did feel that service was slow and almost unfriendly, our waiter and waitress were both quiet (in a negative way) and awkward. Anyway we got a nice bowl of bread. Our food came about 20 mins after ordering. My dish was very, very greasy. I understand fish and chips are deep friend but this was ridiculous and I only could stomach 1/3 of my meal. I will not be rushing back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Busy night handled well”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Went in mid week for a bite to eat with my partner.

Place was busy for a Wednesday night with only one member of staff on although you would not realise. Service was fast and good was great.

Not our first visit here and definitely not our last.

The good is of big portions and always tasty and fresh. If you like good home cooked food at a good price and service with a smile head down to compass!

Helpful?
1 Thank trixypoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Compass Leith also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Compass Leith? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing