We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bit off the beaten path, but worth it”

Dragonfly Cocktail Bar
Ranked #19 of 211 Nightlife in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
1 review
“Bit off the beaten path, but worth it”
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

Took a minute to find, but once we did it was lovely. Showed up round 10p and the bar was pretty quiet. Had a round of their specialty cocktails, they were delicious.
The bartenders are very obviously not slingers or flare bartenders. It took nearly 12 minutes to make 3 drinks, with no entertainment value. I just stood at the bar awkwardly watching the bartender fastidiously chop, measure, sprinkle or shake every ingrediant with care. The speed of the bar staff and the fact that there aren't waiters to take drink orders from the tables is the reason I gave this otherwise fantastic place a 4/5.
Once we got our drinks, we cosied up to a table and had a really great evening.
Quick tip: The bar really got going around 11p, and it doesn't have a lot of seating so it's worth it to get there early.

Helpful?
Thank Adrienne G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    45
    17
    4
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maynooth, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great cocktails and great atmosphere”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We visited this cocktail bar after dinner and it went down a treat. It had a relaxed and cool vibe; great service; excellent cocktails. A wonderful alternative to the loud and packed pubs.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TonyWIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cool cocktails.. Don't tell everyone.”
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

Found this place by chance wandering the Grassmarket. It doesn't look much from the outside but the decor is cool, quirky and eclectic. The Kung foo wallpaper and antique crystal chandeliers says it all!!
The cocktail menu is extent and if you get there before all the menus are stolen you'll find them bound with old viynal.
The passion fruit Patna Martini is divine while the hundreds and thousands dipped glasses of the raspberry ripple is always a talking point!!
The staff are warm and welcoming and happy to advise and help if you can't make your mind up!!
A great diamond of a place... But... Don't tell everyone!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank KMG1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“great place for a classy drink”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Such a cool vibe in this place, and delicious cocktails (and i don't usually even drink cocktails!) Somewhere like this in Brighton would make any absolute killing.

Hope to visit again!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Notters_the_Seagull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome cocktails and atmosphere”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

For an after dinner cocktail you have to come here and relax. Enjoy the service and choice of great twists on classic cocktails

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Noljm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dragonfly Cocktail Bar also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Dragonfly Cocktail Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing