We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas night out”
Review of The Jam House

The Jam House
Ranked #65 of 214 Nightlife in Edinburgh
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Jam House is your one stop destination for food, drink, and live music.Dusky purple lights cast romantic shadows on the walls of this funky, jazz-centric venue. Guests dine on the balcony above the main stage where soulful musicians entertain throughout the evening. This is one venue where you can eat, drink and dance to your heart's content
glenrothes
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Christmas night out”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

would like to thank Dave the Manager and Les the barman for their great hospitality at our xmas day/ night out. The xmas lunch was amazing and the music at night was great! we can't wait till next year! Kelly,Jo and Jackie

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jackir31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    23
    17
    13
    30
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dundee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Poor live entertainment”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Have visited previously and resident band were excellent. Was in Edinburgh and what a disappointment ! Live entertainment was dull! Not a good advertisement for a 'Wedding Band'. Would opt for somewhere else next time.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Holiday223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worst evening of live entertainment”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I visited the Jam House on a living social deal and the food was lovely! However we were very disappointed with the entertainment and ambience of the venue, which was the main reason for visiting. I travelled all the way from London to have a night out with my boyfriend who lives near Edinburgh and had heard good things about it and the website said live entertainment started at 7.30pm and live band at 9.30pm. But when we went nothing started until 8pm and then between 9-10.15pm there was no live entertainment. Just recorded CD music playing which wasn't very good! We were told there was only a 7pm avialable, so was surprised and frustrated to see several tables available for the whole time we were there. Eating at 8 or 8.30pm would have been much better especially as we ended up sitting there for an hour with no entertainment. When the live band did start, it sounded terrible as they were doing sound checks and playing at the same time as the recorded music. When we left about 11pm the place was still very empty so not much of a live enterainment venue!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsten_Sluggett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good night out”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

First time here and really enjoyed it. The food was very nice, wine started at £15 a bottle and the place had a good atmosphere. Wishbone Ash were playing, not my kind of music although I did enjoy the support act. Would definitely come again. If there was a band I wanted to see I'd book a table for a meal rather than just buy the concert ticket as it could work out better value.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunfermline
Level Contributor
78 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good time”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Went to the jam house after watching the lion king,pretty quiet the DJ made up for this by playing some fantastic tunes. Everyone in the place seemed to be up for a good time which made the lack of numbers seem not to be a problem.Bar staff their usual 1st class job always polite & always a smile & a thankyou. Goodnight will deffo return on my next visit to Edinburgh.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank paulDunfermline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Jam House also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Jam House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing