We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very enjoyable.”
Review of The Jam House

The Jam House
Ranked #63 of 213 Nightlife in Edinburgh
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Jam House is your one stop destination for food, drink, and live music.Dusky purple lights cast romantic shadows on the walls of this funky, jazz-centric venue. Guests dine on the balcony above the main stage where soulful musicians entertain throughout the evening. This is one venue where you can eat, drink and dance to your heart's content
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We went here & enjoyed the live band and dancing. BUT £8 entry I thought was a little steep.The drinks also I found very expensive.

1  Thank Hugh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamHouseEdinburgh, Front Office Manager at The Jam House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2015

Hi there

We are happy to hear you had such a positive experience, and we hope to host you again soon!

Concerned
The Jam House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 69 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2014

We went there only last week for dinner for 2 and entertainment? Both were BELOW ACCEPTABLE MODERN DAY STANDARDS !!! To start with the meal,the staff were totally uninterested in attempting to make us welcome. The starter arrived and was deposited onto our table without niceties,or even "enjoy your meal" comment. Within 10 minutes,our main course arrived BEFORE we finished our starter! and was deposited onto our table,even without an apology! When we started the main course(which was a very small portion,by the way) we immediately discovered that the frozen kind of mini chips given,we absoilutely overlaced with salt.Whilw we were eating this throughout our time in the restaurant,the duo on stage providing entertainment were blasting out their music,not allowing any diners to have a conversation,taking away any intimate atmosphere,in addition,the sound was totally distorted with excess base! Anyway,after meal,we went downstair,a disco started up with the same levels of distortion,also the dj did NOT say anything to the patrons by way of intros to the music etc. etc.. Then it was time to visit your bar,and purchased your OVERPRICED DRINKS. OVER FIVE POUNDS FOR A PINT OF GUINESS !! COME ON !!! This is a BAD PLACE to visit,will tell Jools Holland/all our friends to avoid this disgrace! Thankyou very much,Edinburgh Jam House.

3  Thank I4508KZrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamHouseEdinburgh, Front Office Manager at The Jam House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2015

Hi there

Sorry to hear your experience, we would love to host you again. If you copy and paste this into an email we can get you booked in.

Concerned
The Jam House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

First visit and what a nice place. The food was great and the duo that were on stage were very good. We only stayed for a few hours as we ad one thing else booked but would definitely go back for a further visit and stay longer his time.

Thank sapper102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamHouseEdinburgh, Front Office Manager at The Jam House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2015

Hi there

Many thanks for your positive response and we hope we get the chance to host you again!

Concerned
The Jam House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

after having a meal here i was left disappointed, the food is over priced for what you get, i would not have called it fine dinning, for a tumbler of water downed draft coke £2.10 and a pint £4.95 talk about daylight robbery, make sure you have plenty money on you if you plan to stay long, the venue itself i would image buzzing with atmosphere when bands are playing, but at these prices, i cant see it staying busy for long, much better places to go and cheaper, prices lets down this place, if they matched surrounding venues on price, it could be a grt night out, will i go back, no
i guess the over charge is to perhaps pay for the bands, but nothing on when we were in, and venue is cold, i had to sit with my jacket on, fine if the place is packed, the air con would be appreciated then to cool the place down, with only a handful in, not good, we left after an hour, and moved on and had a grt night elsewhere with better prices, oh and after the meal, we were all still hungry,

1  Thank StephenS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamHouseEdinburgh, Front Office Manager at The Jam House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2015

Hi there

Sorry to hear your experience, we would love to host you again. If you copy and paste this into an email we can get you booked in.

Concerned
The Jam House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I went to Edinburgh for the weekend for a friends birthday, my friend looked up somewhere to go out in the evening, she checked the website, it looked like a great venue which played live music. We arrived around 11.30pm on Saturday night, we paid £8 to get in, something we were not expecting, however thought this might be a sign of a good venue. However when we walked in we realised its nothing more than a dance hall playing music for old people, we were severly disappointed and decided that it was too tragic to stay for a drink. I'm sure if you are in your 50s this might be a good night, however the website (or the websites gallary photos) gave us no warning what its target audience were.

3  Thank Zoe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamHouseEdinburgh, Front Office Manager at The Jam House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2015

Hi there

Sorry to hear your experience, we would love to host you again. If you copy and paste this into an email we can get you booked in.

Concerned
The Jam House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Jam House also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Jam House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing