We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Abbotsford

The Abbotsford
Ranked #227 of 2,449 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: New Town
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fab restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We ate a lot of fantastic seafood during our week in Scotland, but the mussels in whisky cream sauce at the Above Restaurant at The Abbotsford were the best meal I had on the whole trip. Both of our meals were delicious, including the Scotch eggs starter. Our waitress was also lovely.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chasgas, General Manager at The Abbotsford, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thanks for the review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    219
    38
    14
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver canada
Level Contributor
252 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Full of Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We sat in the pub one night listening to the bar keeper on the history of the naming of the pub and eavesdropped on his expertise of different whiskies. Food was very good

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chasgas, General Manager at The Abbotsford, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thanks for the review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
185 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Excellent location, atmosphere, service and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

This was in the ground floor public bar and I was dashing in before taking a train to Aberdeen. The waiting staff were extremely friendly, attentive and served me a lovely pint of ale while I waited on a platter of humus, olives, tomatoes, bread and dips. All fresh and delicious and I saw them serve other locals and tourists to the same high standards. Very traditional with a great selection of beers and wines and a fantastic selection of whiskies.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kennyaberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chasgas, General Manager at The Abbotsford, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thanks for the review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ash Vale
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Mind the steak!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Every time we visit Edinburgh we always visit the Abbotsford and have a meal in the upstairs restaurant. The food is good and the wine/beer/whisky gets the thumbs up! The only comment I would make is that when I ordered a steak, it arrived on a wooden chopping board complete with a metal tin (hot) full of chips. This might have looked very fancy to some, but was completely impractical. Not only did I burn my hands on the tin, but the peppercorn sauce was running about all over the board.
Bring back the plates!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JoJo230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chasgas, General Manager at The Abbotsford, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thanks for the review. Your comments have been passed on to the manager and chef. Plates are now the order of the day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangor
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“birthday break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

I was in Edinburgh for my wifes birthday and initially called here for a pint of real ale and to admire the heritage pubs architecture. after an excellent pint of highland beer from a varied choice my wife enquired about their restaurant. we were immediately shown to the restaurant upstairs and given a menu to browse.
the restaurant looked inviting and the menu most acceptable, we had a delightful meal and were attended to by a very friendly waitress . I opted for the pie which was home made and generously filled and my wife had the lamb. we enjoyed our meal so much we returned again during or holiday.
recommended for a meal and real ale. we shall return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BangorBeertaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chasgas, General Manager at The Abbotsford, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Abbotsford also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Abbotsford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing