We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly”
Review of The Abbotsford

The Abbotsford
Ranked #239 of 2,505 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: New Town
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Very friendly”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We always frequent this bar/restaurant when we are in Edinburgh because we have always found the staff very friendly and polite. It is a bar full of character with a central four sided bar. The décor is olde world which helps with the reason we keep returning. The meals are of exceptional quality and quantity.
It has an extensive whisky list at very reasonable prices.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hubert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chasgas, General Manager at The Abbotsford, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thanks for the review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    233
    39
    17
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
311 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Everything I expected...”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

...from this heritage pub. Beautiful Edwardian decor with the mahagony island bar the highlight, a fine range of Scottish real ales and malt whiskies and an appetising menu of good pub food all served with a smile by the cheerful and obliging staff.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Swetrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chasgas, General Manager at The Abbotsford, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thanks for the review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Loved the haggis and turnips! Exceptionally friendly service!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

6 of us showed up and had the haggis and turnips and the 'silly' thing is, it was the tastiest haggis and 'neeps we had while in Scotland (according to the two of us in the group).

Got extremely friendly service there too. Wanted to find time to go back but could not.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suprgrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chasgas, General Manager at The Abbotsford, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thanks for the review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fab restaurant”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We ate a lot of fantastic seafood during our week in Scotland, but the mussels in whisky cream sauce at the Above Restaurant at The Abbotsford were the best meal I had on the whole trip. Both of our meals were delicious, including the Scotch eggs starter. Our waitress was also lovely.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chasgas, General Manager at The Abbotsford, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thanks for the review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver canada
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Full of Atmosphere”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We sat in the pub one night listening to the bar keeper on the history of the naming of the pub and eavesdropped on his expertise of different whiskies. Food was very good

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chasgas, General Manager at The Abbotsford, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thanks for the review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Abbotsford also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Abbotsford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing