We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average”
Review of Barioja Tapas Bar - CLOSED

Barioja Tapas Bar
Price range: US$0 - US$51
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Old Town
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Th food was good if on the smallish side, for tapas. Atmosphere was good and service ok. As is the way the bill was more than the food seemed to merit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank rachelg_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    32
    22
    23
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wouldn't bother”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We love tapas and have been to some great places and thought we'd give this a try, wish we hadn't bothered. We ordered the meat platter and I've never seen such a small amount of meat sliced so thinly, it was almost translucent and definitely not worth the price, the 4 cherry tomatoes that came with it were more appealing! The service wasn't great with staff not seeming to know what had been ordered. Beware of the seating as it's cramped and the only way we could get out was for the people at the next table to actually get up and move out of the way.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rcat710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Haven eaten (well) in Iggs we thought we'd try the tapas bar. Whilst it is good value, the food could be better. The atmosphere is good, and it's convenient, so hopefully it was just an off day in the kitchen. I'll give them the benefit of the doubt and go back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlantheTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
175 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“where is the food?”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The food tasted good but the portions were sooooooooooooo small, I wish the waiter would have told us that we didn't order enough for 5 people. I know tapas are small but you often get a small size that you can share with others. Anyway, it took FOREVER to be served, we were starving and we got almost nothing so we didn't bother order more, we'd still be there. And it was expensive. Thank God we ordered 2 servings of olives, that's what made us feel full.
Don't waste your time and money unless you just want a little something, not an actual dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goworldmtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fawlty towers!! Not going back!”
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

Lots of confusion with our drinks orders.

Food not being served together meaning some of our group had nothing while others were tucking in.

Our waiter was very clueless about wine and clearly there were issues with his food orders.

We ordered paella along with our other dishes only to be told after a very long wait we couldn't have it, we weren't offered anything else on the house to make up for our long disappointing wait.

Stupidly overpriced Sangria at £17.50 for a tiny jug. Wished we'd seen the price before ordering 3 jugs!

In their defence they did reduce our bill and remove the 10% service charge.

However as a group it was an extremely disappointing way to celebrate our friends engagement.

Helpful?
Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barioja Tapas Bar also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing