We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An other good lunch”

Cafe Rouge - Edinburgh
Ranked #844 of 2,449 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: US$0 - US$68
Cuisines: French, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: New Town
Description: Located on the historic cobblestone Frederick Street, the restaurant offers a stunning interior and outside dining terrace, we have the perfect setting in which to meet friends or just unwind over a glass of your favourite. With a fantastic menu filled with delicious innovative takes on the classics and dishes inspired by different regions of France, there's something to suit everyone.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An other good lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

Back with friends again and whole experience was good as usual, they are very consistant.very good ambiance, fresh food display on their bar, staff is very friendly, toilets very clean, Well done

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elcampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    243
    157
    101
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stopped here because we had walked past a few times, and with the weather being unusally nice it had seating outside which i wanted to take advantage of.
Unfortunately thats about it! The service was really poor, we ordered from the lunch menu. We had a starter each, a salad with no dressing and what i can only describle as a slice of bread? I dont actually know what it was?! We then waited 45 minutes for our main to come out because the waiter spend at least 30 minutes chatting up the teenage girls on the table next to us asking them for their numbers!!!!! I wouldnt mind usually but come on!!! After eventually catching his eye i asked him where our food was?? 15 minutes later (yes a whole hour later) we recieved our mains! To be honest i wish we had just left. I had chicken and olive mash and it just looked as though it had been scraped out of a ready meal dish and onto my plate. No flavour and not in the slightest filling. My partner ordered the tuna steak salad, it should have read tinned tuna salad bathed in oil. Not nice. By the time we had finished i requested that our desserts be brought out straight away, we were on our way out and our "pop out for lunch" had turned into nearly 3 hours by now! As a sorry they offered us coffee on the house, which actually turned out to be on the bill!! By this point i just couldnt be bothered. So paid and left. Very unorganised, food not very good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KittenFluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Unusually mediocre”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

We went for a meal here on our last evening in Edinburgh. We chose Cafe Rouge because we all like the place and - having eaten in several over the country - thought it could be relied on. Don't get me wrong the food wasn't bad but it wasn't great either. The service was "ok" but up against others that we have been too (The Mall, Cribbs Causeway, Harrogate and Birmingham) it was poor. The Caesar salad was disappointing (how can you mess one of those up I ask) and there wasn't any loo paper in the ladies. When my wife let the waitress know she simply suggested using the disabled facility! We didn't have desert and left rather hastily! Whilst not a detriment to our overall experience of Cafe Rouge we probably won't make the effort to go to this particular one again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank familyivory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Horrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

I went with a friend to eatthere and I certainly can cook better.If the people in the kitchen thinks they r cookers,I am the Pope.Change the staff.The people in Scotland deserve better food.Wake up.............

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mari0s_G_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“a bit of a french feel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

food was good and service also good. good menu and nice french feel to the place. not over priced and a favourite for lunch with my friends

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ann c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Rouge - Edinburgh also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Cafe Rouge - Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing