We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, drinks and music”

Whighams Wine Cellars
Reserve with OpenTable
Whighams Wine Cellars is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #335 of 2,460 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$28
Cuisines: Bar, British, Wine Bar, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: West End
Description: Oldest wine cellar in Scotland. Steeped in history, stone caves, an oval bar and separate dining area. Seafood, steak, Scottish fare. Remarkable wine list and warm Scottish hospitality a speciality!
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great food, drinks and music”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We ended up here because is was downstairs from our hotel and it was raining, but we have fabulous evening with great food, music etc in a stunning location.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JoeJTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whighams-Manager, Manager at Whighams Wine Cellars, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for the great review. I hope you get another chance to joins us the next time you are in Edinburgh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    123
    39
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great dinner and service”
Reviewed 21 May 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Ate here with a friend and we both had a fantastic meal. The service was super and food came out in adequate time. Their wine list is wonderful and we shared a bottle during the meal. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a relaxed meal in the West End.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank msmandam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whighams-Manager, Manager at Whighams Wine Cellars, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. So glad you enjoyed your visit and we hope you can come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“My Favourite Edinburgh Bar/Restaurant”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

A great bar. There is something for everyone. They serve excellent wine and a good choice of decent beer. The food is always top class. The menu isn't huge for there is a good variety including lots of delicious seafood dishes. The raspberry vinaigrette served with the oysters is really tasty. The staff are always friendly and efficient. I thoroughly recommend Whighams.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whighams-Manager, Manager at Whighams Wine Cellars, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
What a lovely review thank you so much. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“50th celebration in Edinburgh”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

What a great find. We had searched George Street on Saturday last week only to find the place booked - mostly hen do's.
Whighams was superb. A lovely location, great food and wine, and the service was attentive without being too much.
I would not hesitate to go back and sample more of the delicious sea food on offer.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whighams-Manager, Manager at Whighams Wine Cellars, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank You so much for your lovely review. So glad you managed to find us as we can be hard to locate being tucked away downstairs. Happy Birthday from all at Whighams and we hope you can celebrate many more occasions with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moffat, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Tapas treat”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My husband and I enjoyed tapas , desserts and cheese and biscuits. what a treat. The tapas was lovely. We had a mixture of prawns, chorizo and patatas. it was mouth watering served with gorgeous bread.
the staff were attentive and cheery and the whole experience makes us want to go back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Weeji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whighams-Manager, Manager at Whighams Wine Cellars, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Great to see such great feedback on our tapas. This is a reasonably new addition to the Whighams offering so it is extra nice to hear that it is being enjoyed. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Whighams Wine Cellars also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Whighams Wine Cellars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing