We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Muriel, Ireland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Abbotsford Guest House
Ranked #90 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Monaghan, Ireland
1 review
“Muriel, Ireland”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

1st room great, bed really really comfortable, very clean. 2nd room also very comfortable and clean, plenty of room to sit and relax and unwind after a long day travelling. Ensuits lovely and always plenty of hot water. Great breakfast, anything we wanted to eat and whatever time we wanted to eat this was no trouble to the lovely friendly Landlady. This is a lovely comfortable well run house within walking distance of shops and sights.

Room Tip: The room on the 1st floor with the bay window is very spacious and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muriel w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    50
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
27
49
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

The land lady was a very approachable kind lady. Anything we needed she got for us and even lent out her umbrella on a rainy day!

Rooms were comfortable and clean. A good nights rest and the room has freeveiw!

Buses in Edinburgh are incredible. At least a bus to town every 5 mins. If not shorter. Only a 2 minute walk to the nearest bus stop and they drop right into town.

This guest house is situated on a strand of little shops and not even a 5 minute walk to the cinema, pubs, cafes, restaurants, a church and even a tesco express. VERY HANDY LOCATION.

I would recommend this little dainty guest house to any body who likes a friendly clean environment.

The Scottish breakfast is a plus also ;)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissamartine7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Room excellent, bathroom good, building lovely.

Was tired after early flight to Edinburgh and long day and unfortunately was woken up by staff entering room at 7pm (to see if towels needed changing). No apology was given.

Was then kept awake by sawing in next bedroom (a chap was doing some kind of maintenance).

Breakfast was fine.

Included wifi very welcome.

All in all, a good choice, but would prefer cleaning/maintenance to be completed in afternoon rather than evening, or at least to have some warning so I could have said I was planning to sleep early.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rik H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Somehow or other, our excellent PA and experienced tour booker, could not avoid booking a triple room for just two of us. We had to pay for three . . . she checked to see how that could have happened and it appeared to be unavoidable - we would just suggest that people take care. The offer of a small reduction would have been a kind gesture, but £110 for a double for one night in a B & B is not really reasonable.
We travel a lot. We know!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_Trainers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We spent 3 days in this hostel. We had room with 2 single beds in the top floor. The beds were pretty comfortable and the room was clean. It was really great that there was a hair drier and many bags of tea/coffee provided. The TV has many channels. There's a controllable radiator in the room. It was really useful to get shoes and clothes dried after walking in typical rainy Edinburgh. The location was pretty good. Just a few minutes walk from a supermarket and about 15 minutes walk from shopping centers and a street with many shops. There are many restaurants and fast food places around. I guess the only thing which I didn't like was that Wi-Fi didn't work at all in the top floor... I was only able to use it during breakfast for a few minutes... That was annoying cause one of the reasons why I chose this hotel was free Wi-Fi in rooms. The owner of this hostel is very friendly though.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristinap795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Our booked accommodation was double booked so we were directed here and feared the worse. We need not have worried as everthing was perfectly satisfactory. Most importantly at the coldest days of the year it was comfortably warm and clean. Lovely large sandstone townhouse with beautiful bay windows and ground floor rooms about 10 feet high.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inchcape44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

I stayed at the Abbotsford B & B on four occasions over the 3 months I was staying in the UK. Paolo the owner was always happy to provide me with a room at reasonably short notice, considering I didn't really know what I was doing from one week to the next. My room was on the top floor and for the first few days I struggled daily to get up the stairs, but after this I became fitter being used to the stairs in buildings in Edinburgh. The room was very nice and clean. The breakfast was filling, cooked by Paolo everyday. There was also an umbrella on standby for me to use when it rained. There was wifi which I didn't have a problem with using. And the heating was good. Bathroom was shared but clean. The odd creaks that were there are normal for homes that have wooden floors. Have been recommending this B & B to anyone who is looking for a place to hang there head. Its within mins to the corner where there are heaps of buses into town or walking to town is only about 15 mins. It was convenient for me. Thanks Paolo ;)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Balmoral Guesthouse
#100 of 393 in Edinburgh
119 reviews
Canadale Guest House
#133 of 393 in Edinburgh
357 reviews
Leith
Hanover House Hotel
Hanover House Hotel
#151 of 393 in Edinburgh
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Strathallan Guest House
#75 of 393 in Edinburgh
208 reviews
Glendevon Bed & Breakfast
#32 of 393 in Edinburgh
114 reviews
Garlands Guest House
#93 of 393 in Edinburgh
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbotsford Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbotsford Guest House

Property: Abbotsford Guest House
Address: 36 Pilrig Street, Edinburgh EH6 5AL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbotsford Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Abbotsford Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbotsford Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing