We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good overall”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Abbotsford Guest House
Ranked #92 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014

A good, convenient spot within walking distance of the city centre and with ample on-street parking. A large, clean and comfortable room in a quiet location so we got a really good sleep! Some attention to detail was lacking, e.g. A torn curtain and stained carpet.
A very small bathroom in our room. No real cause for complaint and the owner is a very pleasant lady.

Room Tip: A quiet area so room choice should not matter.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
There are newer reviews for Abbotsford Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Cosy room (single with shared bathroom). Very clean, pretty. Beautiful breakfast room, good breakfast. Good location on bus route or 15 min walk to Royal Mile. Modern shower facility. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juliaUK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Just returned from a girls weekend in Edinburgh and stayed 2 nights at The Abbotsford - everything was excellent xxx
Room - beautiful and clean
Breakfast - excellent and very tasty
Owner - lovely lady who works very hard to accommodate guests
Thank you Sarah Sue and Kerri from Manchester

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drinky1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Just come back from Edinburgh and had a lovely stay at the Abbotsford,us ladies of a certain age was celebrating a big birthday.The host was lovely very friendly and helpful and cooked you an awesome breakfast,rooms very clean with plenty of tea and coffee in your room.Lovely stay and would certainly stay there again.(Very good bus service near by as well).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mojomamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed here for four nights. The hotel is really well-located for the centre of town (walking distance about 15mins, but there are a number of direct buses). Our host was very welcoming, and the hotel had the right balance of being personal, but not so much that you feel like you're staying in someone else's home. The rooms and bathroom were very clean and the breakfast was good, hot and tasty. All in all, we would definitely stay here again when next up in Edinburgh. An excellent choice for a good value and convenient stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevenbembridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I'm a frequent visitor to my home town of Edinburgh, but usually in company with Bev, but as this was a 'Rugby weekend', I went with my friend Andy. We booked about five months ago, as I know that on special weekends in Edinburgh, B and B and Hotel prices tend to rise. We were not disappointed. A lovely welcome from the Owner. The building lovely and warm, and a cosy twin bed room, on the second floor. Clean and tidy. The double glazing had no problem with any traffic noise and the new flat screen tv kept us entertained when we returned from the Rugby.
A lovely cooked breakfast, along with plenty of cereal choices, all served up by the lovely daughter of the Owners. Good breakfast conversations with other Guests, (French), then back to the room to make use of the lovely shower. Plenty of clean towels had been laid out on the beds at the time of our arrival, and most importantly those beds were super comfortable. All in all we both thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay, and so we are sure to return. (Fraser and Andy).

Room Tip: As I said our room was to the front of the building, overlooking the road, but high enough not to ca...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bevandfras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my sister for four nights, and we booked a double room (since we didn't mind sharing). We were up in Edinburgh to watch the rugby, go to a gig, sightsee, shop and more. We packed a lot into the time we had so it was great to come back to this cosy comfortable B&B after the long days and nights to relax. The room (we had room 1) was lovely, the most comfortable bed and bedding ever, and my sister who normally has trouble sleeping said it was some of the best nights sleep she'd had. The brilliant breakfast more than set us up for the day ahead. Paola was really wonderful and made us feel at home - gave us plenty of local travel tips (even convinced my bus-phobic sister to get on one) and really looked after us whilst we were there. It was a nice stretch of the legs walking into the city - about ten minutes - or a short hop on the bus so nicely located, and we found parking right outside no problem when we arrived. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to family and friends, and I'd certainly return myself. We really loved it!! Thumbs up to Paola (and ps our tatts are looking good!!!)

Stayed: February 2014
Thank GlawsFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Leith
Hanover House Hotel
Hanover House Hotel
#149 of 393 in Edinburgh
77 reviews
Balmoral Guesthouse
#82 of 393 in Edinburgh
127 reviews
Glendevon Bed & Breakfast
#29 of 393 in Edinburgh
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Acer Lodge Guest House
#77 of 393 in Edinburgh
128 reviews
Garlands Guest House
#74 of 393 in Edinburgh
118 reviews
Pillars House
#99 of 393 in Edinburgh
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbotsford Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbotsford Guest House

Address: 36 Pilrig Street, Edinburgh EH6 5AL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £52 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbotsford Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Abbotsford Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbotsford Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing