We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
Ranked #72 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 11 January 2013

We stayed over Hogmanay and had a great experience. The location is perfect to sight-see in Edinburgh. It's a five minute walk from Waverley rail station, and it is five to ten minutes walk from most of the major Edinburgh attractions. It's also very close to all the major bus routes in the city centre.

The staff were very friendly throughout our entire stay. The room was nice as well, however it would be cramped with more than two people. The free internet had good coverage, but was pretty slow. The bathroom was very clean with plenty of hot water for showers. The free breakfast was very good with lots of options to choose from, both hot and cold.

Overall, for the price and the location, this is an excellent hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Thanks you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I am glad you enjoyed Hogmanay in Edinburgh. Our free breakfast is a great way to start any day and I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

725 - 731 of 1,382 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2013

Hubby and I stayed 2 nights early January for a 'getaway' break. Location was great for access to all attractions - 10 minute walk for most - and very handy for good pubs & restaurants. (No. 35 bus 2 minutes round corner on Royal Mile gets you to Royal Yacht Britannia) Public areas very clean and well-kept. Room very comfy and spacious, clean comfortable bed and nice bathroom with plenty of hot water. Dining room comfortable and very good breakfasts - plenty of choice both hot and continental. Staff very friendly & helpful (Amy on reception particularly). Bar tariff very high - £7.40 for a beer and a half! Apart from that no complaints at all - to be recommended.

Room Tip: No problems with our room - high number room, away from front street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoobler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Thanks you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I am pleased you enjoyed our free breakfast. We are very lucky to be located so centrally, within close walking distance to all of Edinburgh’s main attractions. Our front desk team is on hand 24hours a day and are always happy to help with directions or recommendations. I hope you stay with us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Great service in this cosy gem of a hotel near Royal Mile, excellent location as well. The reception staff had everything ready for us, literally took two minutes for us to check in and be in our rooms. Very comfortable rooms where everthing worked, had a nice sleep; followed by good breakfast spread. This is a great place for a short stay in Edinburgh, close to Waverly station.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gidoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Thank you taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am pleased you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Edinburgh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We booked from the 7th to the 9th of december 2012 so we stayed for 2 nights.
In this Holiday Inn Express there is everything you need in a friendly and very clean place.
We had a perfect room,very clean, with quite big television,coffee and tea in the room, confortable beds.
They came to tidy the room and make the beds.
One morning we went down to have a breakfast and there was plenty of food.
Excellent location very close to the city centre,the old town.
I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Excellent location, excellent staff (especially Amy and the room cleaner), very clean rooms, good shower, small but comfortable bed, excellent breakfast (hot and cold). Location is perfect for Waverley station and for Royal Mile. The hotel is also extremely security conscious and safe, room key card operated internal doors and elevator, ll of this just helped us enjoy our Hogmany even more.

Only slight issue was temperature in the room (116), it never seemed to get warm (we did not ask for this to be fixed as we were out and about anyway)

Thank you.

Neil & Simone McCaskill

Room Tip: As i had joined the priority club, we had express check in and free tea and coffee (in and take out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C4SSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

This hotel is actually situated on the Royal Mile, but it is only a 3-4 minute walk away. The hotel is your standard holiday inn express, basic but clean and good value. For exploring the city it is in a great location, especially as it is only a short 5-10 minute walk from the train station.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SophieDanby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We booked through the 2012 promotion and stayed for 2 nights the weekend before Christmas.
The young lady who checked us in was very efficient and friendly. The hotel is compact but well planned from the small reception area, to the bedrooms and breakfast area. You need to use your room card to access the lifts, which is reassuring from a security point of view. Our room was well maintained and although the double bed was on the small side it was very comfortable. We had stayed at this hotel 2 years previous and I`m pleased to say that the standards have not fallen, it`s very clean and well decorated throughout.
Breakfast was so-so not a bad selection but the cooked items are not great.
You can order in take away food, and a selection of menus are in the reception area . There are good restaurants and bars in the immediate area .

Room Tip: 5 minute walk from the railway station, if you are travelling light. Take the Market St. exit from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honestman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#46 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,602 reviews
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#88 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Old Town
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
#70 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile

Address: 300 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1NA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £69 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edinburgh city centre budget hotels don't come any better than the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh-Royal Mile hotel, Edinburgh's only Express hotel with air conditioned guestrooms. There's FREE Wi-Fi internet access in the public areas and cabled access in the guestrooms plus an extensive complimentary hot breakfast buffet too - this Edinburgh budget hotel is sure to be a popular choice! As the name suggests Edinburgh's newest superior budget hotel is located in Edinburgh's quaint Old Town, just moments from the historic Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and internationally renowned attractions such as Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace, Scottish Parliament Building, Princes Street and more. For sports fans the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh-Royal Mile hotel is within easy reach of Murrayfield Stadium, home of Scottish Rugby, as well as Hearts Football Club & Hibernian Football Club. For meetings in Edinburgh our fully equipped, air conditioned meeting room can accommodate up to 40 delegates. Thanks to our FREE Wi-Fi internet access delegates meeting in Edinburgh can keep in touch while on the go! Our location is perfect for delegates attending the Edinburgh International Conference Centre. NCP Car park 3 mins walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Express Edinburgh Royal Mile
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Edinburgh Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing