We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappionting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
Ranked #70 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a quiet-ish side street off the Royal Mile. We stayed 5 nights over New Year and were a bit disappointed. Having not stayed at a HI Express before we were expecting a different standard. The room was clean and relatively well-equipped but quite small and with no real cupboard space at all. That might be ok for one person for a night or two but for us it seemed like we were constantly opening and closing our suitcases and standing in each other's way in the process. The bed was soft and quite small, when one person rolled over, the whole bed shook.
Again, breakfast was a wee bit disappointing. Instead of a full English or indeed Scottish breakfast there were sausages, scrambled egg and baked beans - in itself ok but as I say, not quite what we thought we were getting. A much more dire problem, from our point of view, was the lack of drinkable tea or coffee. The tea was a do it yourself affair with what seemed to be not quite boiling (and very scaley) water from the coffee machine and if you were unlucky you got a drip or two of the previous coffee in the cup
The atmosphere in the rather cramped breakfast room was a cross between a station cafe and primark in the sales, although we were there quite early every morning.
The hotel seemed to pride itself on its environmental consciousness, but at breakfast there were lots of individual packaging.
As far as service was concerned the staff were all friendly and willing if not always able to help.
On the whole, a budget hotel in a good location.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bizzy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Dear Bizzy6,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. It is good to know that our location was convenient for your needs and you found our staff to be friendly. However, please accept my apologies if the breakfast served did not meet your standards. We take all feedback seriously and use your comments to enhance what we can offer.

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,357)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

537 - 543 of 1,357 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2013

Just back from a overnight stay at the hotel. Within minutes Billy at reception had established that we were there to see the Lion King and organised us a taxi. The parking is a short walk but secure and discounted by the hotel when you present the token. The room is clean, simple but clever. Breakfast had a good selection but was told that bacon was not available on Sundays?? It is a great location and we will definitely use this place again as it ticks all the boxes for our needs.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

My family stayed here for 4 days and our stay was just perfect! The hotel has the best location, near all the historical sites and shopping area in Princess st... but what really Made this hotel the best for us was the front desk staff named Daniel, he is so bubbly and kind, always ready to help even without you
asking for it, and you feel the genuineness of his actions, You would not feel taken advantaged of eventhough you're a tourist, and best of all he doesn't get tired of our questions.. He is the gem of holiday inn cowgate...oh by the way , we are a Filipino family treated and served like royalty and a friend by a European receptionist named Daniel. This I say is not that easy to find here.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Restlesspinay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Booked this for our anniversary and also for the christmas markets in edinburgh. Its only 15mins walk princes street or get the no 10 bus. A warm and quick welcome then we had a lovely view of the church and a very quiet room. Every thing you need is here good tv channels, tea and coffee, a choice of pillows and a comfy bed. Free breakfast is brilliant continental or fry up? Have both lol we will defo go back here as it was cheap cheerful and central :-)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rollies_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Our trip to Edinburgh was much improved by staying at this hotel. We stayed 9 nights. The location cannot be beat, as just about everything you would want to see is within walking distance. The employees were extremely helpful and very pleasant, with the front desk being very patient with all my questions about their wonderful city, The breakfast was satisfying and plentiful, The room was small but well layed out, so we never felt crowded, The bathroom worked well for us and we appreciated the excellent water pressure, along with the great job housekeeping did keeping our room clean and in order. For the price, I don't think we could have done better. We arrived on a Saturday night and there was some noise in the hallway due to a young group of males celebrating a sports outcome. The front desk immediately took care of this and we enjoyed freedom from noise for the rest of our stay. The only glich to mention was the beds were a bit uncomfortable after about 5 days, thus the very good rating rather than excellent, but that would not stop me staying here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 7, on the same floor as the lobby. It had no street noise and looked out upon the...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Although not actually on the Royal Mile, this hotel is close enough not to quibble.
Reception & check-in was quick & friendly and the room on the 4th floor was comfortable & compact, fine for overnight, but a little too small for an extended stay.
Directions provided by the hotel were not particularly clear and we found the recommended car park more by good luck than intention. The hotel discounts the parking fee, but it is still very expensive.
Breakfast was very good, the tea & coffee had taste & the orange juice & bread rolls were above standard for the usual buffet presentation.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank MLW28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We went for a couple of nights to visit the Christmas market and see the sights. This hotel was well placed to walk to the Castle, the Parliament, Princes street and all points in between. Hotel was warm and comfortable, bed was very comfortable, staff were friendly and helpfull and breakfasts were very nice.
Only negative was the traffic noise was very noticeable at night but then at home our bedroom is at the back of the house so we're used to silence.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MethilDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 150 in Edinburgh
345 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#45 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#61 of 150 in Edinburgh
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile

Address: 300 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1NA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £90 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edinburgh city centre budget hotels don't come any better than the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh-Royal Mile hotel, Edinburgh's only Express hotel with air conditioned guestrooms. There's FREE Wi-Fi internet access in the public areas and cabled access in the guestrooms plus an extensive complimentary hot breakfast buffet too - this Edinburgh budget hotel is sure to be a popular choice! As the name suggests Edinburgh's newest superior budget hotel is located in Edinburgh's quaint Old Town, just moments from the historic Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and internationally renowned attractions such as Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace, Scottish Parliament Building, Princes Street and more. For sports fans the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh-Royal Mile hotel is within easy reach of Murrayfield Stadium, home of Scottish Rugby, as well as Hearts Football Club & Hibernian Football Club. For meetings in Edinburgh our fully equipped, air conditioned meeting room can accommodate up to 40 delegates. Thanks to our FREE Wi-Fi internet access delegates meeting in Edinburgh can keep in touch while on the go! Our location is perfect for delegates attending the Edinburgh International Conference Centre. NCP Car park 3 mins walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Express Edinburgh Royal Mile
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Edinburgh Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing