We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
Ranked #78 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Location”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Just a 1 min walk up the close next to the hotel and your on the Royal Mile! Very quite, no road noise. Our room was very neat and clean and was a good size. I was surprised the bathroom and even the shower were of good size. The staff are wonderful and cheery! There's a small bar in the lobby and pizza available 24 hours. Coffee maker, hair drier and tv in the room. I'm so happy I stayed here!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ChenaRiverRat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I am pleased you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Scotland’s capital city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    497
    593
    165
    42
    18
See reviews for
418
459
67
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I have stayed in Holiday Inn in Mar 14 for 3 nights.

Price V/s Room : quite expensive considering i paid close to 94 pounds per night. It is an budget hotel small rooms without much amenities. Toiletries were basic.. TV channels availability was poor. Internet in room was average speed.

Good breakfast :Good variety of hot and cold breakfast was the only plus point.

I forgot an item which i reported immediately but surprisingly the folks could not locate in room in spite of telling them where it was kept...not of much value but still. :-(

overall a average place.

Room Tip: Good breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandeep s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at The Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Royal Mile.

I am glad to hear that you had enjoyed your free breakfast.

I am however sorry to hear that you didn’t find your stay good value. We offer a best price guarantee for all bookings and ensure we are always competitively priced in a busy Edinburgh market place.

Our duty manager is available 24 hours a day and is able to resolve any issues guests may have at the time.

All lost property found in the hotel is logged by housekeeping and our duty managers have access to these items – is it possible the item was lost elsewhere?

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel on your next visit to Edinburgh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We chose this hotel because of the great central location. When we arrived, we were greeted right away, and check-in was fast and easy. We did feel our room was small compared to what we are used to but it was very clean, nicely designed, and the beds were really comfortable. The entire staff was friendly and helpful, however one staff member made our stay more enjoyable. Aaron Sayers was very professional and informatative and went above and beyond to assist us with our needs. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone planning a trip to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laelliff13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I am pleased you enjoyed your visit to Edinburgh.

We are located within a short walk of many of Edinburgh’s favourite attractions, bars and restaurants and our free breakfast and Wi-Fi offering offers guests great value.

We pride ourselves on the high level of service we provide and I have shared your thoughts with Aaron and the rest of the team. We all appreciate when a guest takes the time to let other travelers know they were happy with the service provided.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit to Edinburgh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I travel a lot with work, away 4 nights a week in hotels on average, so I get a fair idea of differing hotels and what they have to offer.
It's actually very rare that I feel compelled to write a review, but today I do... purely and simply because of the wi-fi access.
Now to some of you, that has no importance at all... if that is you then please disregard my review. To business travellers like myself, that need a decent standard of access I would seriously consider whether or not staying here is a good idea.
On the plus side, the wi-fi is free, which is great... but at 0.31mbps (I ran a speed test) it barely loads any e-mails, let alone allows you to download any documents you may need.
Normally, HI Express hotels have the slow stuff for free, but then for a charge you can get 'premium' wi-fi. Unfortunately this hotel does not, and that' where my beef is.
I have no issue at all with the free wi-fi being slow (it's free right?)... but only if they provide an option for faster speed if you pay.
For me, it will prevent me from re-booking here as I need to spend my evenings working away in my hotel room.
Apart from that the hotel is the usual exact specification of a HI Express, with no surprises.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdamEssexStoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear AdamEssexStoke,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Please allow us to apologize for the issues you had with our WiFi services and any inconvenience you may have encountered that fell below your expectations. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Beds were amazing and clean
Rooms were big and light
Maids were quick and clean
Breakfast was well stocked
Overall the place looked modern and fresh
Would recommend for everybody to stay here

Right next to the royal mile what was less than 3 mins walk

Well stocked vending machines

Also I forgot my razor and they offered me a free complementary one with foam!

Must stay!

1 downside and that was the fact we had to leave!

It was just so welcoming and nice!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your visit and i have passed your kind comments onto the entire team within the hotel.

As we offer free breakfast, free WiFi and our forgotten something promise we offer great value all year round.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit to Edinburgh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ames, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This hotel was awesome! It's in a good location close to the Royal Mile, Princes Street/Waverley Station, Grassmarket, and Calton Hill. I went with a group of students from my university and the hotel was right down the street from bars and a hostel that were easy to get to at night. The staff is so nice- a big shout out to Aaron for putting up with all of us and opening up the breakfast area early for my friend and I when we ventured out to see the sunrise! If I ever venture back to Edinburgh for more than a day trip I will definitely have to stay here again! Thanks for such a great week! :)

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Anne,

Thank you for your great feedback. We are delighted to hear you have enjoyed your stay so much and it will be a great pleasure to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Booked here for 2 night stay in the city. Got a taxi from Waverley station and then realised how close it is! Ideal location to all city sights- within 15 minutes you are in Princes Street. Rooms functional as any holiday inn express is, though nice toiletries. Breakfast as expected but they have made good use of a basement room with good use of mirrors.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

We are located just off the famous Royal Mile, within close walking distance to many of Edinburgh’s favourite attractions, bars and restaurants.

Our Free breakfast is a great way to start the day in Edinburgh.

Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit to Edinburgh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 148 in Edinburgh
308 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#85 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile

Property: Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
Address: 300 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1NA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edinburgh city centre budget hotels don't come any better than the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh-Royal Mile hotel, Edinburgh's only Express hotel with air conditioned guestrooms. There's FREE Wi-Fi internet access in the public areas and cabled access in the guestrooms plus an extensive complimentary hot breakfast buffet too - this Edinburgh budget hotel is sure to be a popular choice! As the name suggests Edinburgh's newest superior budget hotel is located in Edinburgh's quaint Old Town, just moments from the historic Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and internationally renowned attractions such as Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace, Scottish Parliament Building, Princes Street and more. For sports fans the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh-Royal Mile hotel is within easy reach of Murrayfield Stadium, home of Scottish Rugby, as well as Hearts Football Club & Hibernian Football Club. For meetings in Edinburgh our fully equipped, air conditioned meeting room can accommodate up to 40 delegates. Thanks to our FREE Wi-Fi internet access delegates meeting in Edinburgh can keep in touch while on the go! Our location is perfect for delegates attending the Edinburgh International Conference Centre. NCP Car park 3 mins walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Express Edinburgh Royal Mile
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Edinburgh Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing