We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, cozy, convenient - casual but classy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
Ranked #74 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Perhaps it's just me - a 3-star hotel with none of those like a swimming pool, laundry service or even a lounge would make it still so likable and recommendable. Because it focuses on all the basics and done it so right - reliable Wifi everywhere including in my own room, a standard breakfast buffet with all the usual items plus good coffee, clean and comfortable interior and a friendly and helpful staff. Of course its central location takes it all to another level - a 3-minute walk to High Street, along which you can navigate to all the must-sees in Edinburgh. That's all I ever want from a hotel.

Room Tip: Bring your own toiletry and slippers; there are lots of dining options in the area and laundry and g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DrYeung911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and we are glad you had a great time.

The location is great for getting around the whole city with many of Edinburgh’s favourite attractions in close walking distance of the hotel.

The free breakfast has a lot of choice to start your day off.

We pride ourselves on the level of service we provide and I am glad you found the staff helpful.

We hope to see you again on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

512 - 518 of 1,390 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

Stayed for 4 days in September, 2013; just a short walk to the Royal Mile, very well located in Cowgate. Walked to many sites, able to catch buses close by. Free breakfast was great, as were the friendly, helpful staff. Will gladly stay again if lucky enough to get back to my Edinburgh!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank highlander1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us.

Our free breakfast has a great selection to start your day off and with our central location we are right in the old town and within close walking distance of many of Edinburgh’s favourite attractions.

We hope you can come back soon and stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Edinburgh was our second stop in the tour of UK. I chose this hotel since it is located off the Royal Mile and since I am a Intercontinental loyalty member. It is 3 star property located on a stretch of road called Cowgate. If you are getting from the Edinburgh airport by the Airlink Express coach (7 pounds return ticket), its final stop is Waverly bridge. From the stop, this hotel is just a small 3 minute walk on Cockburn Street and Blackfriar's street.

Reception area is small and check-in was quick. We were on the third floor - rooms were alright with the bed and a sofa-cum-bed so there was not much space to move around. Window is small and the view was of other buildings - so nothing much. This being a budget hotel, all amenities are either paid or are on request. Wi-Fi is free though.

The restaurant is located at -1 level and has the English breakfast spread to start your day. Since most of the attractions or tour start points are just a walk away, you begin to realize the value of this location. For laundry, walk right to Cowgatehead (about 800 meters), you will see Kleen Care (run by a helpful Patsy) which is self service laundromat or laundrette as it is called in UK. Opposite the hotel is a store run by an Indian family stocked with food and beverages -we got an electrical adapter from them. All restaurants are a hop away.

Edinburgh is small, but lovely, and this hotel is good enough because of the location and the Holiday Inn brand. Moreover, you will mostly be touring outside so some of the small things may not matter. Go ahead.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripwiz_in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I am pleased you enjoyed your visit with us - we are very lucky to be located within such close walking distance of many of Edinburgh’s favourite attractions and we pride ourselves on the high level of service provided by our guest service team who are available 24 hours a day to assist guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I will never stay anywhere else in Edinburgh. Great service, rooms, breakfast and best of all location! The front desk provided great recommendations for bars and restaurants around town. They led us to some great places that made for a wonderful trip!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotelstaff1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and we are glad you had a great time. The location is great for getting around the whole city with many of Edinburgh’s favourite attractions in close walking distance of the hotel. The free breakfast has a lot of choice to start your day off.
We pride ourselves on the level of service we provide and I am glad you found the staff helpful.
We hope to see you again on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This hotel spoiled our 3 days in Edinburgh. We had booked a double room but they gave us a twin room (paid more for the double room)

• The staff is rude and unprofessional
• The room carpet have stains
• You have to clean after your breakfast (like McDonald)
• All the room are “linked” so you do not have any privacy you can hear everything from the other room and vice versa
• The door of the linked room was not locked
• The room is really small
• The breakfast room was extremely small and could not cope with the number of guests

If you can avoid this hotel is overpriced

Room Tip: There are no good room they are all linked to each other. Check if it is locked our was not. No priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Framat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I was disappointed to read your comments which contradict the majority of reviews previous hotel guests have left.

We pride ourselves on the high level of customer service we provide to all guests and I apologise if on this occasion you felt we never achieved this.

As all our rooms are standard size they are all charged at the same rate. At no point would we charge more for a room with a double bed. I would be happy to investigate this further for you as it sounds like you may have booked through a third party travel agent.

Had you booked a double bedded room this of course would have been provided. Had you booked a standard room we always do our best to accommodate any specific request however this cannot be guaranteed.

The hotel has a small selection of interconnecting rooms – these are lockable on both sides and when a guest is checked into one of these rooms housekeeping have checked that the door is locked on their side.

The hotel runs at a high occupancy and with our free breakfast being so popular at peak times our breakfast room can become busy. We do our best to control this; we inform guests of busy breakfast times with posters throughout the hotel and on check in were possible, we also use our meeting room and ground floor lounge as an overspill area at busy times.

Did you raise any of your concerns with our Duty Manager during your stay? Our Duty Managers are available 24 hours a day and are able to help resolve any issues a guest may experience.

I would be pleased to discuss your stay with you in more detail – on occasions where a guest feels let down it is important we have as much information as possible to ensure we put things right. If you wish to discuss it further please contact the Senior Guest Service Manager at the hotel directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Lots of pluses. They have free wifi (but you have to get a new password each day) , free breakfast (pretty standard breakfast but does include the same sausages and scrambled eggs each day), friendly staff (I asked for extra pillows and they were brought right up with a smile) clean rooms, comfy beds, and a snack/bar counter.

The room is really basic, but seems standard in the UK. There is no dresser, a tiny TV (that I couldn't get to work but didn't try very hard) and no face clothes (again seems standard in UK. The front counter will give you a free disposable one). It is an okay size, however. There is no laundry service.

Your room key is needed each and every time to operate the elevator and you must plug it in to get the lights on your room. It is a bit of a pain.

The location is convenient, one block off the Royal Mile and about midway between Edinburgh Castle and Holyroodhouse Palace.

Room 517 had a nice view if St. Patrick's Church next door. It was at the end of the hall and very quiet.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank tshep42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I am glad you enjoyed your visit and the entire team appreciate your kind words with regard to the high level of friendly service you received.

We are very lucky to be located within such close walking distance of many of Edinburgh’s favourite attractions and our free breakfast and free Wi-Fi offer great value for all guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next trip to Edinburgh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

One is normally safe enough when staying in a Holiday Inn Express. However, I was amazed to discover when I was checking in that as I was putting some waste paper in the bin in the bathroom that I was greeted by a used sanitary towel. Really don't know quite how this happened!

I did raise the issue with reception and the matter was sorted out - did leave a lasting impression of feeling uncomfortable in this hotel though!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamnamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

We pride ourselves on the high level of customer service and cleanliness we provide to all guests choosing to stay with us, as detailed in the majority of online reviews we receive.

I am pleased the staff resolved the situation quickly when you notified them and please accept my sincere apologies for the housekeeping over sight.

I hope this isolated situation has not put you off staying with us again and I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#45 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,629 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile

Address: 300 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1NA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £49 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edinburgh city centre budget hotels don't come any better than the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh-Royal Mile hotel, Edinburgh's only Express hotel with air conditioned guestrooms. There's FREE Wi-Fi internet access in the public areas and cabled access in the guestrooms plus an extensive complimentary hot breakfast buffet too - this Edinburgh budget hotel is sure to be a popular choice! As the name suggests Edinburgh's newest superior budget hotel is located in Edinburgh's quaint Old Town, just moments from the historic Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and internationally renowned attractions such as Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace, Scottish Parliament Building, Princes Street and more. For sports fans the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh-Royal Mile hotel is within easy reach of Murrayfield Stadium, home of Scottish Rugby, as well as Hearts Football Club & Hibernian Football Club. For meetings in Edinburgh our fully equipped, air conditioned meeting room can accommodate up to 40 delegates. Thanks to our FREE Wi-Fi internet access delegates meeting in Edinburgh can keep in touch while on the go! Our location is perfect for delegates attending the Edinburgh International Conference Centre. NCP Car park 3 mins walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Express Edinburgh Royal Mile
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Edinburgh Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing