We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location - nice hotel! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
Ranked #71 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Clean, comfortable, modern and a great location - this hotel won't blow you away but you get what you pay for and you'll feel very satisfied! Very close to the train station, castle, university etc and the staff are more than friendly! The breakfast is fairly average but bearing in mind it costs you nothing extra, it is perfectly reasonable! Rooms and bathrooms are spacious and comfortable! Couldn't rate this place enough if you need somewhere to stay for just one night or want somewhere very central!

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Jade C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at The Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Royal Mile.

We are glad you found your stay with us pleasant and enjoyable and that our facilities, staff and location made your stay memorable.

Many thanks for your warm recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back to Edinburgh!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

496 - 502 of 1,381 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

The location is very convenient, one block South of the Royal Mile (admittedly a steep downhill block from the Royal Mile), and also due East of Grassmarket. While like most of Old Town the surroundings are a bit gungy, the hotel itself was quiet and modern. The breakfast was very satisfactory (buffet style, with scrambled eggs, baked beans, yoghurt, fresh fruit)/

The front desk was helpful and always available.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank niemand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Thank you for your review, we are a modern hotel and very central to the old town and many o Edinburgh's favourite attractions.

The breakfast is free and we are glad you enjoyed the spread - it has a great choice to help start your day.

We hope you will come and stay again the next time you visit Edinburgh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We booked for this hotel at Christmas for September this year. In February we phoned to change the booking to June this year and were advised that the booking had been changed. We contacted the hotel 12 days before we were due to book in as we had a couple of questions, one was to check our booking. We were advised that the change of booking had never been made and was still booked for September but we could still book for the dates we wanted for an extra £200 and would have to pay in full at the time of booking. We were obviously extremely unhappy with this and have booked elsewhere. We have stayed at Holiday Inn Express in other areas a few times before but will never use them again

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

I was disappointed to read your review.

I am aware of the situation with your booking and was also aware that you contacted the IHG Central Reservations Guest Relations Team and that the matter was resolved.

I would hope to welcome you to our hotel on any future trips to Edinburgh and I am confident that when you leave you will agree with the majority of those who review their actual stay with the hotel who say they enjoyed their stay, hotel location is great, free Wi-Fi and breakfast offer great value and that our guest service team provide a friendly and efficient service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We were not impressed with the breakfast arrangements. Sausages ad scrambled eggs were the only hot foods or the two days were went down for breakfast. The range of other things was very poor .
They should give more specific instructions as to where the parking is in relation
to the hotel, we got lost the first time. had no idea from the front desk person's directions. They know where they are talking about but we didn't.

Room Tip: The room was very nice. The Wifi was a wee bit expensive I thought. We had to renew after 24 hours e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I am sorry to hear you didn’t appreciate the selection at breakfast – Our free breakfast consist of our hot favourites of sausages, scrambled eggs and beans along with a continental selection including bread, rolls, croissants, jams and spreads, 6 different cereals, fresh fruits, yoghurts and much more.

The hotel offers a discount on a nearby car park – I apologise if you never understood the directions from our front desk team member.

I hope to welcome you back to our hotel on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We had two nights at the hotel. We booked the early arrival and late checkout option that included two tickets for a 24 hour city bus hop on hop off service. The location of the hotel is close to High St., in the middle between Edinburgh Castle and Holyrood Palace. Breakfast was included and included the works; eggs sausage beans, toast, juices, coffee, etc. We got great help from the staff re how to get around. Two restaurant recommendations were great.
The Mussel and Steak Cafe in Haymarket - I had lamb chops, my husband had fish. More reasonable than our second night's dinner.
The seond night we ate at Shard Polly, close to the hotel on St. Mary St. The waiter was great.
Guijeromo from Spain. Good wine and beer selctions too. I had salmon, my husband had lamb rump, both delicious. 2 items, starter and meal 25 lbs. Or meal and dessert so we got one of each.
For lunch we ate at Garfunkels with a coupon handed to us outside on High St. Got a free salad bar with our meal. Waitress, Jacqueline is from Austrailia, a new arrival- great gal.
Warning!! The bus tickets are only good for the RED hop on hop off buses. We took public bus to visit the Britannia at the wharf for 3 lbs. each way for two. Exact change is needed on the bus. Great calendars available for sale at St. Giles church for 2.5 lbs. each for 2015.

Room Tip: WE had room 1 on ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am pleased you enjoyed your visit with us - we are very lucky to be located within such close walking distance of many of Edinburgh’s favourite attractions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My wife and I were delighted with the quality of this property. It had a great location, a full English Breakfast with as much as one wanted to eat. The staff was very helpful and we would return again to this property.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louiepreacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I am pleased you enjoyed your visit and that you would recommend the hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Nice location, clean, friendly staff and reasonable prices. Located just a walk away from Thre Royal Mile, but in a quiet area. Recommended! Breakfast was good, it was ATM in hotel and very good beds. Would choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lasse S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us.

As we are located right in the centre of the old town you can walk to most of Edinburgh’s favourite attractions.

The breakfast is free and has a lot of choice to start your day off. We hope to welcome you again the next time you visit Edinburgh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#46 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,601 reviews
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#89 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Old Town
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
#70 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile

Address: 300 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1NA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £69 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edinburgh city centre budget hotels don't come any better than the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh-Royal Mile hotel, Edinburgh's only Express hotel with air conditioned guestrooms. There's FREE Wi-Fi internet access in the public areas and cabled access in the guestrooms plus an extensive complimentary hot breakfast buffet too - this Edinburgh budget hotel is sure to be a popular choice! As the name suggests Edinburgh's newest superior budget hotel is located in Edinburgh's quaint Old Town, just moments from the historic Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and internationally renowned attractions such as Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace, Scottish Parliament Building, Princes Street and more. For sports fans the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh-Royal Mile hotel is within easy reach of Murrayfield Stadium, home of Scottish Rugby, as well as Hearts Football Club & Hibernian Football Club. For meetings in Edinburgh our fully equipped, air conditioned meeting room can accommodate up to 40 delegates. Thanks to our FREE Wi-Fi internet access delegates meeting in Edinburgh can keep in touch while on the go! Our location is perfect for delegates attending the Edinburgh International Conference Centre. NCP Car park 3 mins walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Express Edinburgh Royal Mile
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Edinburgh Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing