We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and clean - perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
Ranked #69 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel is very nice and clean and with perfect location. However the breakfast is not very good at all. No bacon and the scrabled eggs seems like they are coming from some kind of powder. Would however stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Biermann11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We are pleased to hear you liked our location and appreciated the cleanliness of the hotel.

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy the breakfast and even though bacon is not available we assure you that eggs are made fresh and not powdered.

We hope it has not put you off from re visiting should come and visit Edinburgh again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

463 - 469 of 1,369 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

First time staying in a holiday Inn express hotel. Rooms were Clean and beds comfortable
Small rooms, minimal toiletries, basic
Overall, suitable for a short stay.
No fridge, wardrobe, drawers.
Breakfast ok, dining room small and crowded at times.
Staff friendly and helpful.
Overall suitable for a short stay. Wouldn't stay again

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franatthegap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I was sorry to read you only scored us 3 stars.

As a Holiday Inn Express we aim to give guests everything they need, and we ensure that we offer a high level of customer service.

Our breakfast room can get extremely busy at peak times and we do our best to inform guests of this at check in and with signage around the hotel, we also use our meeting room as an overspill breakfast room.

Throughout the year Edinburgh is in great demands with travellers, and with over 400 accommodation providers in the city we ensure we are competitively priced at all times.

I would hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Not stayed with Hi Express before - the formula is similar to Premier Inn with a few embellishments of the Holiday Inn brand. Adequate rooms, small reception area, lounge and bar. A good quality buffet breakfast is served in the basement breakfast room. Reception well stocked with tourist information. Luggage can be stored on departure say. Staff very helpful at all encounters. I would not rare this as excellent only as the room rate is rather higher than might be expected at this type of hotel, however you may accommodate three adults tons room if you don't mind a bit of a squeeze.

Room Tip: Room numbers higher than #10 on each floor will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bobcat202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for your review.

Breakfast is included for all guests and there is lots of choice to start your day off, with croissants, rolls, fresh fruit, yogurts, and 3 hot items including scrambled eggs, sausages and beans.

During the summer months events like the Edinburgh Festival ensure Edinburgh is very busy and we always ensure we are competitively priced in a busy Edinburgh market.

We hope to welcome you back t our hotel on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Good stay, room clean and pleasant. Didn't realise there would not be a bath in the room, though maybe I just didn't read this. Breakfast well organised and tasty. Staff helpful and friendly. Not sure what else I can say or why trip advisor are making my review be a minimum of 200 characters?

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank secretskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and you thought the room was clean as our housekeeping team work hard to ensure high standards.

Breakfast is included in your room rate and has a lot of choice to help start your day off.

None of our rooms have a bath but they all have spacious showers.

Thank you again for your review and if you are travelling to Edinburgh again we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We came up to Edinburgh to visit family for the first time and stayed here for 5 nights and it won't be our last stay. When we arrived we were greeted by happy smiling reception staff - always a good start and despite being unable to give us the requested 'double' room - any other requests 'nothing was too much trouble'.
We got a taxi from the airport (£25) for ease when we arrived but suggest using the Express Bus(more cost effective at £4 single/£7return) - reception staff told us about this one, there is also the tram, costs a little more takes a little longer but more scenic.
Hotel is only a 10min walk from Waverley Station - gave us easy access to Glasgow for the Games (Family Day Return for 4 adults £30). The Hotels location puts it spot-on for attractions being but a short walk to the Mile with access to plenty of tourist venues, shops, eateries and pubs its also only a15-20min walk up to the Castle. If shopping is what you seek - again 10min walk across North Bridge and you are at the start of Princes Street.
We had room 205 - not huge - desk seemed to dominate but it was clean and tidy - although if a room is designed for two users - two chairs would be useful!! Beds were comfortable shame the pillows are a bit like bricks.The room is quite close to the lift but can't say there was much noise from it just the odd loud resident.
Can't fault the hotel staff - all very polite, keen and helpful especially those front of house even helping with airport booking in, giving advice and information (and a special mention to Aaron-who went that bit extra).
Breakfast was a welcome addition - plentiful and fresh although can be busy at times.The only down side being some of the other residents and their inability to read the polite notices with regards to it being a self clear system in operation- pehaps bigger notices are needed!
Overall we had a wonderful five nights, enjoyed our time there and will certainly be booking to come back again. If thats not a recommendation then I don't know what is.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PlumandBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for your time to write this review.

Your comments are greatly appreciated and we are happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay.
We look forward to welcoming you in the future should you visit beautiful Scotland again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights for the Commonwealth Games in Glasgow. We parked in the car park just around the corner which is fairly pricey at £15 per night, but the hotel does offer a 25% discount. The hotel is situated about 5-10 minutes walk from Waverley Station which means access to Glasgow is hassle free (12.50 adult return). We stayed in room 203, which was an adjoining room, but it was reasonably quiet. Breakfast was great, but a little busy at times, and we often found that tables were left cluttered (even though their was a notice to remove food trays once finished). We arrived late/ early morning (1-2am) and was able to use our room key to access the front door without any trouble. All Receptionists we encountered throughout our stay were extremely welcoming and friendly.

We would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lift, and not adjoining if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for your review.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed the stay & appreciated the service received.

It will be nice to welcome you again in the future should you decide to stay again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed here with my wife and grown up daughter as we needed a base for the Commonwealth Games and some sight seeing. This is a well located holiday within easy walking distance of Castle, Scottish Parliament, Palace of Holyroodhouse, and Princes Street. The hotel is very clean with very comfortable beds and a decent buffet breakfast. Does not have on site parking but a car park a few hundred yards away and hotel gives a discount on price. The staff very friendly and nothing too much trouble. Because of this hotel would consider Holiday Express in other locations.

Room Tip: Stayed on third floor but lift to all floors, I did not find any problems with room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PAUL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for your time and lovely comments.

We always strive for excellent service and are proud to hear we did it for you.

Perhaps there will be another occasion and you will come and visit capital of Scotland again. If you do we promise to deliver the same service and if there is another location in another city I am sure they will do the same for you. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#26 of 151 in Edinburgh
355 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,563 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile

Address: 300 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1NA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £78 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edinburgh city centre budget hotels don't come any better than the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh-Royal Mile hotel, Edinburgh's only Express hotel with air conditioned guestrooms. There's FREE Wi-Fi internet access in the public areas and cabled access in the guestrooms plus an extensive complimentary hot breakfast buffet too - this Edinburgh budget hotel is sure to be a popular choice! As the name suggests Edinburgh's newest superior budget hotel is located in Edinburgh's quaint Old Town, just moments from the historic Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and internationally renowned attractions such as Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace, Scottish Parliament Building, Princes Street and more. For sports fans the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh-Royal Mile hotel is within easy reach of Murrayfield Stadium, home of Scottish Rugby, as well as Hearts Football Club & Hibernian Football Club. For meetings in Edinburgh our fully equipped, air conditioned meeting room can accommodate up to 40 delegates. Thanks to our FREE Wi-Fi internet access delegates meeting in Edinburgh can keep in touch while on the go! Our location is perfect for delegates attending the Edinburgh International Conference Centre. NCP Car park 3 mins walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Express Edinburgh Royal Mile
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Edinburgh Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing