We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At last - a city centre hotel that's clean, comfortable and with great staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
Ranked #84 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“At last - a city centre hotel that's clean, comfortable and with great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2010

Good location, even if the immediate location isn't too smart. Everything about the hotel was superb: courteous staff; good rooms (not huge, but adequate); good shower/loo; excellent breakfast - all round wonderful.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nbl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressrm, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review, 25 January 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for your fantastic comments. It is really great to you know that you enjoyed staying with us and I hope that you will have the opportunity to come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    480
    570
    161
    42
    18
See reviews for
399
447
64
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2010

I've never stayed in a Holiday Inn before so I took the plunge having read the reviews on tripadvisor. Let me tell you they were all correct. The hotel was spotless from top to bottom, the staff were great and the breakfast was good. Well apart from the condition of the apples which looked like they had been there since opening day. The hotel was ideally placed parallel to the Royal Mile just a few minutes stroll from the Cathedral and less then 10 minutes from the Train Station. During our stay we did a Ghosthunter tour and visited Mary Kings Close as well as plenty of the city's old drinking establishments. Not just around the Royal Mile but as far afield as Greyfriars and the Botanical Gardens. A thoroughly enjoyable stay at an excellent hotel and it only cost us £98 for 2 nights!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cruzy_cruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressrm, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review, 22 January 2010
Dear Guest
Thank you. What a delight to receive your really lovely comments about our hotel’s location, staff, cleanliness and value for money. I know that many customers reading reviews are a little wary to believe the customer information, so it is great to know that you were not disappointed. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I hope you will have an opportunity to return again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laval
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2010

Great Hotel
Friendly staff
Beautiful rooms, freshly renovated
Great Included Breakfast
ZEN
WAW WAW WAW, great location, on the ROYAL MILE. We took a flight at 7am in the morning and the front desk had called a taxi to pick us up at 4:30 am....great hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank visitandrate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressrm, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review, 22 January 2010
Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed our facilities, our friendly service and our complimentary breakfast. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north east
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2010

We have just returned from a brilliant weekend in Edinburgh despite the arctic conditions.
This hotel is superb,only a short walk (about 10mins) from the train station, on a quiet road near to the Royal Mile, bars, restaraunts and shops.
Our room was very spacious for the two of us, it was modern, well equipped,had ample storage,and was warm and comfortable, everthing was spotlessly clean in fact faultless.
Despite being busy there were no problems with noise and we were able to enjoy a good nights sleep.
Breakfast was great and set us up for the rest of the day, continental buffet style, there were ample choices for everyone, although arriving at the busy dining room at 9.15 am we found a table straight away.
Extra services not experienced at other hotels were the plates and cutlery along with various menus left in bar area for take away meals.. brill idea! also worth mentioning is that reception staff will safely store your luggage free of charge until you leave Edinburgh, thus saving you £7 a time if you are travelling by train and had planned to use the left luggage facilities at the train station.
Taking into account the complementary breakfast and the luggage savings this makes this hotel great value for money compared with similar hotels in the area.
The reception area has loads of visitor attraction leaflets on view and we would certainly recommend visiting Dynamic Earth, this is only a short distance away and a great experience for both young and old, well worth the entrance fee.
Lastly we musn't forget all of the staff at the hotel, they all made us feel valued guests.Thank you to you all.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dehrjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressrm, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review, 22 January 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for writing such an excellent review and taking the time to share your enjoyable experiences. I am delighted that you found the hotel to be spotlessly clean, quiet, warm and comfortable and in an ideal location. I am really pleased that you appreciated the free luggage storage we provide and also the facility to order in take away food. It is also vitally important to know that my staff made you feel valued which made your weekend a memorable time away. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2010

Central location, short walk to Grassmarket pubs and Royal Mile restaurants. Room was quiet, warm and secure. Muffins at breakfast were lovely. The Museum of Scotland,Mary Kings Close, live music on Grassmarket and walk up Carlton Hill were the highlights of our trip and all near to the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaisyCUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressrm, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review, 22 January 2010
Dear Guest

It is great to receive your lovely comments regarding our excellent location, which allowed you to experience all that Edinburgh has to offer, as well as view of Arthurs Seat from your room. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights during the freezing start to 2010 and would have loved to stay for much, much longer! The staff were welcoming, polite and very helpful, the rooms were spotlessly clean, the complimentary breakfast was delicious and overall ambience was warm, relaxed and inviting! The Reception area has a bar and an area, complete with crockery, cutlery & menus, for guests who wish to stay indoors and order the food of their choice to be delivered. A lovely touch in those cold winter evenings! Thank you, Holiday Inn Express, you made a freezing January stay in wonderful Edinburgh so comfortable and so much more enjoyable!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dann1k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressrm, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review, 10 January 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a great review. I am very pleased that you found the hotel to be warm and relaxing, to be in spotless condition and the staff to be friendly and helpful. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I hope that you will have a chance to return to Edinburgh and spend a bit more time exploring the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2010

This hotel while close to, is a lonely walk from the city centre on a dark night. The rooms are simple but very adequate, clean and comfortable. Unfortunately the room allocated to me (in the coldest weather that has been experienced in recent years) had a note saying that the heating in the room did not work and an oil filled heater had been provided. I would not have expected this room to have been offerred. On complaint another room was offerred and this was warm and comfortable but a hotel of this standard should not have allocated the defective room in the first place.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gandptrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowDBI, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review, 7 January 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on the site.

Firstly let me apologise for the problems we had with the heating in some of our rooms. When the hotel identified we had a problem with a few of the heaters in the rooms we hired in top of the range heaters to avoid any disruption to our guests. These heaters were more than adequate to heat the rooms and we received no complaints from the guests that stayed in these rooms. Under no circumstances would the hotel have let a room which did not have adequate heating.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and I am sorry if you were caused any inconvenience.

Kind Regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#43 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#48 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile

Property: Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
Address: 300 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1NA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edinburgh city centre budget hotels don't come any better than the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh-Royal Mile hotel, Edinburgh's only Express hotel with air conditioned guestrooms. There's FREE Wi-Fi internet access in the public areas and cabled access in the guestrooms plus an extensive complimentary hot breakfast buffet too - this Edinburgh budget hotel is sure to be a popular choice! As the name suggests Edinburgh's newest superior budget hotel is located in Edinburgh's quaint Old Town, just moments from the historic Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and internationally renowned attractions such as Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace, Scottish Parliament Building, Princes Street and more. For sports fans the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh-Royal Mile hotel is within easy reach of Murrayfield Stadium, home of Scottish Rugby, as well as Hearts Football Club & Hibernian Football Club. For meetings in Edinburgh our fully equipped, air conditioned meeting room can accommodate up to 40 delegates. Thanks to our FREE Wi-Fi internet access delegates meeting in Edinburgh can keep in touch while on the go! Our location is perfect for delegates attending the Edinburgh International Conference Centre. NCP Car park 3 mins walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de, IHG, Agoda, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Express Edinburgh Royal Mile
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Edinburgh Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing