We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
Nearby Hotels
US$759
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$611
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$320
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Murrayfield Hotel and House(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$273
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$248
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$325
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$209
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,443)
Filter reviews
1,443 results
Traveller rating
550
646
185
43
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
550
646
185
43
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal milegreat locationhi expressthe sofa bedfree breakfastscottish parliamentcentral locationyogurtminute walkhigh streetreception staffbudget hotelbreakfast roomtrain stationarthur's seatshort staywi fi
Filter
Updating list...
1,115 - 1,120 of 1,443 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2010

Its not exactly the Royal Mile but this location on Cowgate it isn't far off.

New and a fairly standard HIX butonly a shhort walk from the Scottish Parliament and Royal Mile. Probably about 15 mins walk to the main shopping area.

Typiical HIX rooms. More than good enough for an overnight business trip. I stikll don't understand though why there is such limited TV available now that theres Freeview! Maybe things will change when they go digital.

Desk staff were friendly and efficient at check in and out. The hotel provided details of nearby takeaways and the offer to eat in the hotel lobby which seemed very generous.

Breakfast was standard in a brightly lit but underground breakfast room and staff worked hard to make sure everything was available.

At just £60 this is great value and, the next time I take teh family to Edinburgh, I'll be heading back.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adrianhobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressrm, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2010

Dear Adrian Hobson

Thank you for staying with us and for posting a good review concerning our location, value for money and our service. I appreciate your comments regarding the limited number of TV channels available, and we have been exploring ways to expand the channels we offer, however this is proving to be challenging until digital arrives. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Edinburgh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2010

I usually stay in Edinburgh at a well known hotel on Princes St, but this time due to a special rate that couldnt be beaten, I chose the Holiday Inn Express - Royal Mile. I had a long day driving from Las Vegas to LA, getting a flight LA to LHR and then a small flight LHR to Edinburgh and then arrived to a hearty and warm welcome at the HI Express. What more could I say, the hotel was modern, impecably clean, had every facility I needed, great free breakfast and free wireless internet in the lobby/lounge area. Another important feature for me was the room was cleaned promptly and early in the morning, considering the hotel was near full. I am a Platinum Elite member of this hotel group, so see a lot of Holiday Inn's/Crowne Plaza's etc and this one in Edinburgh rates right up there at the top. Coming from an intense New Zealand Summer, the heavy snow at this time made Edinburgh even more special. When planning my next trip to Edinburgh, I will be staying at the Holiday Inn Express Royal Mile without question !!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Musclebearnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2010

My hubby and i stayed 2 nights here, it was 150£ inc a continental brekkie which we didnt bother with as hubby wanted sausages eggs etc!! it was spotless clean, bed was really comfy, lovely hot shower they provided shower gel/shampoo and disposable face cloths too. plenty towels, remote control heating which we didnt manage properly at 1st so we were cold as it had cut off but its easy when u get the hang of it..

just a 2 min walk off the royal mile, turn left at the worlds end pub opp the tass pub and pass the travelodge and then turn right at the bottom of that street and its just a few yards away..

staff very nice and helpful recommending places to eat etc..

would def recommend it to anybody whos out all day and needs a good sleep..

Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
1  Thank waterville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressrm, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2010

Dear Guest

Thank you for your excellent review. It is always great to know when our guests enjoy everything we have to offer. Our hotel has an excellent location and we thank for your future recommendations to friends and family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2010

This hotel has all you need for a stay in Central Edinburgh. Good, helpful staff and very clean rooms with all you need for a stay. The breakfast is simple but fresh. For position the hotel is just off the Royal Mile and in easy walking distance from most main sightseeing attractions. It is actually on the Cowgate which although not the most attractive street in Edinburgh does run into the Grassmarket going West and the new Parliament/Holyrood going East.

Would most certainly stay again without any question.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nsander219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressrm, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2010

Dear Guest

Thank you for your great comments about our helpful staff, cleanliness, breakfast and our location. It is always a pleasure to know that you would stay again with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2010

Good location, even if the immediate location isn't too smart. Everything about the hotel was superb: courteous staff; good rooms (not huge, but adequate); good shower/loo; excellent breakfast - all round wonderful.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nbl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressrm, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2010

Dear Guest

Thank you for your fantastic comments. It is really great to you know that you enjoyed staying with us and I hope that you will have the opportunity to come back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews