We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
Nearby Hotels
US$321
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$613
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$332
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$273
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$249
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$125
HotelIndigo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Murrayfield Hotel and House(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$277
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,442)
Filter reviews
1,442 results
Traveller rating
550
645
185
43
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
550
645
185
43
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal milegreat locationhi expressthe sofa bedfree breakfastscottish parliamentcentral locationyogurtminute walkhigh streetreception staffbudget hotelbreakfast roomtrain stationarthur's seatshort staywi fi
Filter
Updating list...
1,111 - 1,116 of 1,442 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2010

Stayed for 2 nights, great value (got it for £55 per night including breakfast through unamed deal on superbreak.com). Rooms were very clean, walls were a little thin but that was no big deal really. Breakfast was ok, just had the croissants and toast. Location was really great! It was close to all the places we wanted to go to.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressrm, Managerq at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2010

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and for your compliments on our location and the cleanliness of the hotel. I am very pleased that you felt the Superbreaks Mystery Savers was good value for money. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2010

Stayed in the Holiday Inn for one night with wife / children. Staff were very friendly and helpful (storing bags etc), breakfast was good (though avoid the orange juice (squash?)

Both myself and wife agreed that the bed was very uncomfy. At the side of the mattress you could feel the springs! We both had stiff backs the next day.

Hotel was in good location, but would try a different hotel if going to Edinburgh again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adam_nwuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressrm, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2010

Dear Adam

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff service and our complimentary breakfast. However, it is always disappointing to hear when we have failed to provide a comfortable nights sleep to our guests. My sincere apologies. I will have this checked by our housekeeping team as we only opened 2 years ago and would certainly not expect to be able to feel the springs in our mattresses. Thank you for the opportunity to improve our bedrooms and hope that you would consider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2010

We have found that the Holiday Inn Express brand offers comfortable hotel accommodation at competitive prices, and the Royal Mile was no exception.

We arrived at about 13:00 on a very cold February day, having spent the morning on the train from London. We were keen to get started on the sightseeing, but when we enquired whether our room was ready we were told by Reception that not until 14:30. Indeed we were told that they even had no alternative rooms available before that time.

So we were forced to resort to unpacking our cold weather clothes and shoes from the suitcase in the communal lounge area and ask the receptionist to use the keypad to allow us access to the toilets where we could change.

It was obvious that that the hotel wasn’t anywhere near fully booked and although we understand that the rules state that occupancy would not be available before 14:30 it was just a little bit irritating that, first impressions were clouded by Reception not having the opportunity to use their discretion.

After this situation was behind us, we enjoyed staying at the hotel and would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enjoyvalencia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressrm, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2010

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is disappointing to hear that we did not go the extra mile on this occasion to provide an early check in for you. As a city centre hotel, i am sure you can appreciate that we have many guests who arrive before 2.30pm and on some occasions it is not possible to have rooms ready before the check in time, especially when we have be fully booked the prior evening. I am sorry that after such a long journey that we were unwilling to offer an alternative room for you to start your city sightseeing. I am pleased that this did not spoil your trip to Edinburgh and really appreciate your furture recommendations to your friends and family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2010

Its not exactly the Royal Mile but this location on Cowgate it isn't far off.

New and a fairly standard HIX butonly a shhort walk from the Scottish Parliament and Royal Mile. Probably about 15 mins walk to the main shopping area.

Typiical HIX rooms. More than good enough for an overnight business trip. I stikll don't understand though why there is such limited TV available now that theres Freeview! Maybe things will change when they go digital.

Desk staff were friendly and efficient at check in and out. The hotel provided details of nearby takeaways and the offer to eat in the hotel lobby which seemed very generous.

Breakfast was standard in a brightly lit but underground breakfast room and staff worked hard to make sure everything was available.

At just £60 this is great value and, the next time I take teh family to Edinburgh, I'll be heading back.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adrianhobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressrm, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2010

Dear Adrian Hobson

Thank you for staying with us and for posting a good review concerning our location, value for money and our service. I appreciate your comments regarding the limited number of TV channels available, and we have been exploring ways to expand the channels we offer, however this is proving to be challenging until digital arrives. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Edinburgh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2010

I usually stay in Edinburgh at a well known hotel on Princes St, but this time due to a special rate that couldnt be beaten, I chose the Holiday Inn Express - Royal Mile. I had a long day driving from Las Vegas to LA, getting a flight LA to LHR and then a small flight LHR to Edinburgh and then arrived to a hearty and warm welcome at the HI Express. What more could I say, the hotel was modern, impecably clean, had every facility I needed, great free breakfast and free wireless internet in the lobby/lounge area. Another important feature for me was the room was cleaned promptly and early in the morning, considering the hotel was near full. I am a Platinum Elite member of this hotel group, so see a lot of Holiday Inn's/Crowne Plaza's etc and this one in Edinburgh rates right up there at the top. Coming from an intense New Zealand Summer, the heavy snow at this time made Edinburgh even more special. When planning my next trip to Edinburgh, I will be staying at the Holiday Inn Express Royal Mile without question !!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Musclebearnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews