We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel but not in the winter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
Ranked #73 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 4 April 2010

Stayed here for 1 night in December between Christmas and New Year, during a particularly cold spell. The hotel is about a 20 minute walk from Waverley Station, and down a long brae from the Royal Mile and a wee bit of a walk after that, so I didn't think much of the location. Leaving the Edinburgh Playhouse in the evening, it was a good 35 minute walk - at least we got plenty exercise. The hotel itself was spotless clean, with a friendly reception, and the usual HIEX rooms which were comfortable, with tea making facilities. The breakfast in the morning which is complimentary is the normal continental fare of cereal, juice, croissants etc and this was fine. However it was very cold in our room, also in the lounge, every time the automatic doors opened we were greeted with an icy blast, also in the dining room in the morning. But as I said it was a very cold spell and it wouldn't normally be like this. The rooms were quiet although the hotel was extremely busy, but I had trouble sleeping because of the cold.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank galaxygirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressrm, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2010

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback from your stay during the 2009 festive period. I am pleased that you enjoyed what our Holiday Express has to offer and that our location was quiet for you. However, I am disappointed to hear that the cold weather affected your stay and I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for that. It was very unfortunate that the past winter was the coldest on record for at least 30 years and we felt that we were as well prepared for it as we could have been, sometimes the minus temperature and wind chill are difficult to overcome. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and hope that you will return when the weather is more favourable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,070 - 1,076 of 1,390 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2010

This holiday inn makes great use of space, has a wonderful breakfast, and the staff were incredibly nice and helpful! I've stayed at a lot of holiday inns here in the U.S, and this one blows them away!

Stayed: January 2010
Thank ClaraC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressrm, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2010

Dear Guest

Thank you for posting a really great review of our hotel. It is fantastic for my staff to know that we really stand out as a place to stay. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2010

Stayed here on Friday 19th March for the wifes birthday couldnt fault it!
Where able to leave bags with no problems as arrived early at 10.30am came back in the afternoon to find a spotless clean room with every thing we needed. Staff were all very helpfull and polite. Great location for the royal mile , castle and Princess street shops couldnt recommend it enough!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressrm, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2010

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time after your stay to let us know how great it was. We really pride ourselves regarding our high levels of cleanliness and we were delighted to store your luggage free of charge so that you could start to explore the city and take advantage of our perfect location. Thank you for your recommendations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2010

Stayed for a few days sightseeing for which the hotel is very conveniently located just off the Royal Mile. Nice quiet location and we found the hotel itself very quiet although the air conditioning was a little noisy. (Just turned it off and we were fine).
Pleasant welcome, nice Continental breakfast with a reasonable choice. Having a sofa (presumably an extra bed?) in the room as well as a seating area downstairs is an advantage so that you are not limited to sitting on the bed. Thank you for the complimentary newspaper - much appreciated.
Not worried by the lack of exercise facilities - Edinburgh provides quite enough steps, thank you!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellerF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressrm, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2010

Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our location as well as the facilities we have to offer. Edinburgh’s steps and closes certainly provide plenty of exercise, and being on foot is the best way to see the city. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and hope that you will remember us should you ever return to Edinburgh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2010

You are in the best place in the city for location here. I have a great stay, the staff were warm and welcoming really enjoyed it

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigeldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressrm, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2010

Dear Nigeldi

It is always great to be hear that we have the best hotel location in the city. Thank you for your lovely comments about my staff, they are really appreciated . Hope you get the chance to visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2010

This hotel was very clean, modern, rooms more than adequate, great location, adequate breakfast and friendly staff. Had a lovely stay and I definitely recommend it to anyone who is deciding where to stay in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scillero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressrm, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2010

Dear Scillero

Thank you for your recommendation to future guests regarding our ideal location in Edinburgh's old town. It is very pleasing to hear that you found the hotel to be clean and with friendly staff. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2010

A real nice small hotel right in the middle of the Royal Mile. Rooms were very clean. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. Nice breakfast and even a place to eat "take away" food for lunch or supper. Only negative is the lack of an exercise facility although they will make arrangements for access to an offsite site for a fee.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nosliwjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowDBI, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your recent stay at the hotel. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay.

Unfortunately we do not have a fitness facility at the hotel but you are correct in saying that we do have an arrangement with a hotel around the corner whereby our guests can use their leisure club which also has swimming pool for a reduced fee.

Once again thank you for the review and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#46 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,628 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile

Address: 300 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1NA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £50 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edinburgh city centre budget hotels don't come any better than the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh-Royal Mile hotel, Edinburgh's only Express hotel with air conditioned guestrooms. There's FREE Wi-Fi internet access in the public areas and cabled access in the guestrooms plus an extensive complimentary hot breakfast buffet too - this Edinburgh budget hotel is sure to be a popular choice! As the name suggests Edinburgh's newest superior budget hotel is located in Edinburgh's quaint Old Town, just moments from the historic Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and internationally renowned attractions such as Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace, Scottish Parliament Building, Princes Street and more. For sports fans the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh-Royal Mile hotel is within easy reach of Murrayfield Stadium, home of Scottish Rugby, as well as Hearts Football Club & Hibernian Football Club. For meetings in Edinburgh our fully equipped, air conditioned meeting room can accommodate up to 40 delegates. Thanks to our FREE Wi-Fi internet access delegates meeting in Edinburgh can keep in touch while on the go! Our location is perfect for delegates attending the Edinburgh International Conference Centre. NCP Car park 3 mins walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Express Edinburgh Royal Mile
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Edinburgh Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing