We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastically central for the Fringe - but still quiet at night” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
Ranked #84 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
South Coast
Level Contributor
124 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Fantastically central for the Fringe - but still quiet at night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

Rooms not overly large, but clean modern and functional. Breakfast buffet is in the price and is adequate.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NickLz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalMile, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review, 26 August 2010
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review. Delighted you enjoyed your stay.

Hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    480
    570
    161
    42
    18
See reviews for
399
447
64
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2010

We couldnot fault this hotel it was exeptionally good value for money.On arrival we were greeted by staff who were actually pleased to see us and continued their pleasant manner all the time we were their.Nothing was to much trouble and they all were so polite and nice to us.The bedroom was all we wanted,the beds were really comfortable.We could not hear anything from other rooms or in the corridor,didnt even hear water running or doors closing,must have exeptional good walls as i am a light sleeper,best nights sleep ive had in months.Noisy from the streets but we kept our window closed and had the air conditioning on all night.The breakfast was excellent with as much as you wanted to eat.We left our case as we didnt get our train until later,again no problem and no extra charge.We will definatley be going back and recommending it to friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DAWNROPER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalMile, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review, 23 August 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review.

I am delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay at the hotel. I have a great team at the hotel that genuinely enjoy making every guests experience of the hotel a positive one.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Port, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2010

Location is great. Rooms clean, fresh, modern. Breakfast yummy - something for everyone. Staff helpful, courteous, can't do enough for you. What else can I say. This was a very positive experience for us and highly recommend this hotel. Hope they continue to keep up their very high standard.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotsborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalMile, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review, 23 August 2010
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the great review.

As I have said many times previously when responding to reviews the team I have at the hotel are second to none. The front desk guys offer great customer service and have great knowledge of Edinburgh. The housekeeping and maintenance teams at the hotel keep the place looking like new. The hotel is only just over 2 years old but it still looks as good as the day we opened.

Once again thanks for the review and I hope you find time to visit Edinburgh in the future.

Kind Regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at the holiday inn express royal mile for three nights during the edinburgh festival. The hotel is in a great central location, about 5 mins from waverley station, 2 mins from the royal mile and about 8 mins from princes street. We paid over the odds because of the festival and i can imagine it being better value out of this period. The shower wasn't as powerful as we'd hoped and the bed was smaller than our double at home, but other than that, the room was clean, housekeeping was prompt, tea/coffee and a hairdryer is provided. But for those into bathroom products, they supplied just a handwash and a gel which acted as both shampoo and shower gel. Also no bath in our room. Overall, a good stay in a good location.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wilkesv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalMile, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review, 23 August 2010
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review about your recent stay at the hotel.

I glad you enjoyed your stay but I am sorry that you did not think the beds were not large enough. The beds in our double rooms are all standard double bed size. I have asked my maintenance manager to have a look at the water pumps with regards to the water pressure. The water pressure is normally excellent at the hotel so we will check it out in case there is a problem. Although Holiday Inn Express hotels don’t offer a large selection of bathroom products we supply all the essentials a guest may need during the stay. At this hotel we supply Scottish Sea Kelp products in the bathrooms.

Once again thanks for the good review and I hope you will return to Edinburgh and this hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2010

We stayed for 2 nights with 2 young children. The roll-away bed for the kids was too low and frankly, not comfortable. The hotel has a very good location, and staff is helpful. There's free wi-fi and the breakfast was ample. If you're spending a couple of nights in Edinburgh, the hotel provides easy access to the Royal Mile and all the attractions around it. I would recommend it for a short stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maverick_Murtaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalMile, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review, 23 August 2010
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for leaving a review.

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at the hotel.

I am sorry that you did not find the sofa bed comfortable. Due to our central location and our kids 18 and under stay for free policy we are a very popular hotel for families and we get lots of positive comments about the sofa beds. I am sorry that you did share this view.

The free wifi and complimentary breakfast are 2 great benefits of this hotel and I am very pleased you enjoyed both of those benefits.

Once again thanks for the review and I would hope that if you visited Edinburgh again in the future you would stay with us again.

Many Thanks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2010

Just returned from four nights at this hotel. Great location just a very short walk to the Royal Mile and all the action of the Festival! One of the major venues, Pleasance Courtyard is just a five minute walk the other way.

Very clean with happy helpful staff on reception. Brekfast was fine not too busy but that may be due to the fact we were there at 0815'ish every morning. Very central. A bus from the Royal Mile (£1.20) took us to the Royal Yacht in under 30 minutes. Waverley Stn a short walk for the Airlink bus (£6 return fare

Very quiet at night and I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mickd23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalMile, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review, 23 August 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. I have a great team at the hotel that genuinely enjoy making every guests experience of the hotel a positive one. As you have said in your review we are very central so all the attractions are only a short distance away.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2010

Used this hotel for a 1 night stop over on my way from London to Oban. Room was comfortable & clean. Location was pretty good. About a block off a main touristy High Street area. Staff was friendly and the self catering breakfast was great! Lots of food and the staff really kept the place clean and food coming out from the kitchen.

No real complaints and no real super praise for the hotel. All in all it was a fine hotel for a quick stay in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank morganinaboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalMile, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review, 23 August 2010
Dear Guest,

Thanks for leaving a review about the hotel on Trip Advisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your overnight stay.

Our complimentary breakfast is very popular with guests and now we have added on hot items such as egg and sausage the breakfast is proving more popular than ever.

Once again thanks for the review and I hope the next time you stay it is for more than one night.

Thanks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#43 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#48 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile

Property: Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
Address: 300 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1NA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edinburgh city centre budget hotels don't come any better than the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh-Royal Mile hotel, Edinburgh's only Express hotel with air conditioned guestrooms. There's FREE Wi-Fi internet access in the public areas and cabled access in the guestrooms plus an extensive complimentary hot breakfast buffet too - this Edinburgh budget hotel is sure to be a popular choice! As the name suggests Edinburgh's newest superior budget hotel is located in Edinburgh's quaint Old Town, just moments from the historic Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and internationally renowned attractions such as Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace, Scottish Parliament Building, Princes Street and more. For sports fans the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh-Royal Mile hotel is within easy reach of Murrayfield Stadium, home of Scottish Rugby, as well as Hearts Football Club & Hibernian Football Club. For meetings in Edinburgh our fully equipped, air conditioned meeting room can accommodate up to 40 delegates. Thanks to our FREE Wi-Fi internet access delegates meeting in Edinburgh can keep in touch while on the go! Our location is perfect for delegates attending the Edinburgh International Conference Centre. NCP Car park 3 mins walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Express Edinburgh Royal Mile
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Edinburgh Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing