We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”
Review of York House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
York House Hotel
Ranked #336 of 389 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We booked this place because of the location, as its a 5 minute walk into town and about 15 mins to the castle. We found the staff very helpful and friendly, even when the shower broke they moved us to another room with know fuss. Breakfasts where nicely presented and tasty.
I will book this place again.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    47
    70
    31
    48
See reviews for
46
78
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Hotel is located in an exellent area - really central and means you can walk wherever you need in the city. They are currently building a tram line (I think!) outside the hotel, so be warned if you are trying to drive there. We parked in the NCP shopping centre behind the hotel - we could literally see the car from our room's window. This is expensive however, so do factor this cost in if you are driving.

Stayed in Room 16 on the top floor. Room was light, a good size and clean. Only 2 pillows on a double bed, but was given 1 more on request. (I like lot of pillows so did think this was a bit stingy!) One other snag was that because the room was opposite the car park it meant you could see the car park lights all night.

Bathroom was small but again felt clean. Shower was very hit or miss - which was a shame as after a day walking everywhere (especially with Edinburgh's hills!) a long hot shower would have been heaven!

I'd stay here again, as it was clean and a great location - BUT - don't expect a luxury break. Use it for what it is - a clean and comfortable bed to crash in after a busy day sightseeing.

There is a bar about a 3-4 minute walk away called the newsroom which was fab! - I'd recommend an evening drink there on the way back to your room!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazi87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

bed bugs... dirty, badly maintained! no wi-fi in room that we stayed! payed £120 for a double room in 2012...all in all shameful! The person at the reception was dismissive, didn't want to change the room saying that for this rate through Booking.com this was the room available! the room was big in size but well below acceptable standards...

Room Tip: do not accept a room in the basement... humid and smells bad... also it is next to washing facility...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Y D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Walking distain from the Waverley Station and there is a small shopping mall nearby. The room is spacous and clean. The manager, Ilaria, was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast serves from 8.30-9.30 but she was so kind that serve us earlier so that we can catch up the 9am train to York. Just one thing that we were unable to access the wifi even we were in the lobby, maybe some problem re the server.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lydiatam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

It's a nice hotel, counting that you don't want to spend a lot of money and the location is very good. It's walking distance from the airbus stop, very close to a lot of bars and shops and close enough from the old town. The staff was truly nice. The only downer was that the Wi-Fi could only be accessed in the lobby.

Room Tip: It's a house and it has no elevator so if you frown upon stairs you should try to book a room in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nakipa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Coast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2013

On first arriving at the hotel my girl friend and I were greeted at the door by the manager. She was very friendly and accommodating. The bedroom we stayed in was clean, a decent size, with a big television. The staff were very happy to help with any request we may have had. We were very pleased with everything. We would recommend to others and will be back again ourselves, a quiet comfortable hotel for hostel price very pleased !

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LianneBoggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013 via mobile

Lets face it. It is not the Ritz - as most people think a budget hotel should be. The room was clean and warm. The breakfast was excellent. The staff warm and friendly. Location is its charm - as in Edinburgh, unless you are sad, you only use your room to sleep in. Perfect. I have no reservation in recommending The York House - and will be back soon

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnmhouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
The Place
The Place
#111 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Broughton & Calton
28 York Place Hotel
28 York Place Hotel
#64 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
New Town
Elder York Guest House
Elder York Guest House
#80 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Edinburgh Townhouse
The Edinburgh Townhouse
#39 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
New Town
53 Frederick Street
53 Frederick Street
#20 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
New Town
Edinburgh Central Guest House
Edinburgh Central Guest House
#67 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York House Hotel

Property: York House Hotel
Address: 27 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3HP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #336 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — York House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your York House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
York House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing